We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Staff, Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #43 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here for the Rock 'N Roll New Orleans Marathon. The location is IDEAL for the marathon start and also very convenient to the French Quarter. We found the hotel to be very clean and comfortable. The staff was very courteous and helpful (particularly the young man who assisted us with airport transportation the morning of 2/4/14....he is an asset to your organization!). We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnMarie1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Glad you had a great stay! Hopefully we get to see you again for next years marathon! Thanks for taking the time to share.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,859 - 1,865 of 3,525 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

We chose this hotel to stay at after returning from a 7 day Caribbean cruise. What a great choice! Easy to get to from the port and located just a few blocks out of the heart of the French Quarter. When we were ready for dinner but weren't sure what we wanted the concierge was EXTREMELY helpful with ideas and recommendations, and once we decided drew us directions on a map with other nearby attractions and even called ahead to make sure there was no wait time.

Room Tip: Each room has it's own uniqueness about it, not sure you could go wrong in any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thanks for choosing us for your post-cruise stay! We are thrilled to hear that the concierge was able to help you out so much. We definitely know that the little details really help turn a good trip into a great one, and we always try to make sure we are able to pay attention to those details. Hopefully you get to take a trip back to New Orleans again soon, we would love to help you explore even more of the city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

I can only give the Hotel 3.5 stars. Mainly because the room we were given had 2 major flaws in my opinion. 1. There was no window in the room, it felt like staying inside a box, very strange in my opinion - not for the clostraphobic! 2. The location of the room was in a very noisy part of the hotel, it overlooked the lobby and reception area and was right next to the staircase door which was slamming every time someone walked through. Between the noise from the lobby and the slamming door we did not have one night with a good nights sleep. Now normally I wouldn't complain that much about this except that when I checked in I specifically asked if they could put us in a quiet room and was told "no problem sir this room is in a quiet location" so basically my request was ignored and I was lied too. I was very disappointed because I travel a lot for work and stay at Country Inns very often and this one was probably the most expensive Country Inn I have stayed at, + $220/nt.

Other than these 2 major flaws, I can say the same as other reviewers - clean, good breakfast, nice staff, close to French Quarter/Casino/Waterfront.

I would stay here again but ONLY if I am staying in another part of the hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank irtman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

While I am glad to hear that we succeeded with service, cleanliness, location, etc... but disappointed to hear the room was a bit noisy. I know exactly the area you were in, and it typically doesnt get a lot of traffic in the staircase, leaving it pretty quiet - though it sounds like it wasnt the case over these dates. I also apologize for the atrium facing window not being to your liking. I hope that you give us another chance to give a 5 star stay! Definitely request an exterior window and we should hopefully be able to get you some natural light. Thanks for taking the time to share - we always want to create great New Orleans experiences, and feedback always helps!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I did a lot of research on places to stay in New Orleans. This was the only place I could find that allowed up to five people in a room at no additional cost. We got a suite and it was the best decision. It was nice and roomy for the five of us. This place is convenient to walk and shop the French Quarter, but far enough away to be quiet at night. The place is small, but beautiful. The staff was extremely friendly and nice. The concierge was the best! The breakfast was better than most hotel's. Lots of good choices for both vacationers and those with special diets. They change up the buffet some every day. We were there a week and never got tired of the food. Great beds, linens, pillows, amenities and all around great experience. I'd stay here again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the main area above the lobby. Swimming pool is very small, but bring your suite anyw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TallyHoHoHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We really appreciate you sharing the feedback with us, and the tripadvisor community. We definitely try to think of everything in order to help make stays comfortable. We are glad that the attention to details made such a positive impact on your time in New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here as part of a family reunion, and all three parties had a fabulous time at this hotel. The location is perfect because it's a few blocks away from the French Quarter, and it's on a relatively quiet side street. The staff were all gracious and friendly, from the valet to the front desk, and even the hospitality staff at the bar and in the breakfast dining room were delightful.

The rooms are terrific and definitely free of a cookie-cutter feel. They're clean, in great shape, and each room is unique due to the historic renovations that were made. We stayed in a 3rd floor room facing the street, and while we could hear street noise, it was't invasive. Other family overlooked the side parking lot and other than the early morning garbage truck that we all heard, it was quiet.

The overall facility is fantastic. There's a cute interior patio with small heated pool, the lobby is full of character and is open to the top of the building, and they have a great breakfast. There's even a cozy type of living room/library off the main lobby.

We will be staying here again if at all possible!

Room Tip: I would avoid the rooms overlooking the lobby due to late night bar noise. There's a dumpster th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KC_AllenTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share! The building certainly has a lot of charm, with the original structure dating back to the 1860's. We think the designers did a wonderful job preserving the French Quarter atmosphere while providing a comfortable space with all the modern amenities. We definitely look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This property is within easy walking distance to the French Quarter and provided all of the amenities that we needed. The hotel is quiet, safe and has on site services that included excellent customer service, a free & substantial breakfast, local microbrews at the on site bar, and help with transportation needs.

We won't hesitate to book this hotel again.

Room Tip: As always, request a room that's away from elevators and busy corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate hearing that everything went great - we definitely try to pay attention to every detail and are glad that the breakfast and bar selections helped make your trip 5 star worthy. Hopefully your travels bring you back to New Orleans soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had a group of 9 that stayed here before our cruise in January for one night. My advice is book early!! I got a great rate with my AAA about 6 months before and the price only went up as our trip got closer. When checking in they applied the AAA discount too all the rooms I held for all couples..Staff was very nice and all rooms were ready except one when we checked in about 1pm.
We loved the location of this hotel for the price. We were able to walk to Bourbon street and the French Quarter in a just minutes. We also were not too far from the Hilton at the Riverfront. We love the Charbroiled Oysters at Dragos so we walked down there that evening.
The rooms varied in size..Our room was on the small side and then others in our party had larger rooms. All were very quaint and decorated so cute! The beds were very comfortable and King size..very nice! The lobby was really pretty! Loved the exposed beams. We checked out the cute little pool area and if it was warm that would have been a fun place to sit and hang with friends..Evening temps got pretty cool in January. Check in was a breeze and they did offer a hot breakfast in the morning. The guys ate there, but us girls walked to Cafe Du Monde and had coffee and beneigts.
When we were ready to go to the port the valet called us a couple taxis. Very easy and convenient. I would stay here again if we cruise out of New Orleans again. We all had a great time and enjoyed our stay very much!

Room Tip: Book early..Only need a credit card to hold reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babyjosie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Seems like you had a great time! New Orleans is a great city to cruise out of - its like adding a whole extra port of call to the journey. We definitely hope you join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2424
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £89 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation and expansion; due to reopen in late 2017. With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing