We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location with convenient valet parking.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #44 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Awesome location with convenient valet parking.”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Hotel is walking distance to all the action yet quiet enough to get some rest.
Front desk staff gave us wonderful dining recommendation.
Concierge seemed knowledgeable of New Orleans but not as much about the rest or Louisiana.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Glad to hear you had a great time staying with us. As you mention, the location really is perfect for visiting the city. Just about everything is within walking distance, but you still get a nice quiet place to come home to at the end of the day! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,904
    1,197
    256
    96
    66
See reviews for
883
1,395
131
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

A birthday trip to New Orleans with my wife. An "adult" vacation, just the two of us. In the city for food, drink, music and getting away from a long winter in DC...it snowed the day before we left, on St. Patricks Day, and we got almost 8 inches. ( "Winter is Coming" says the Starks; "Winter is here" say we.)

The hotel is in an old building, and the company has done all right in having exposed brick and beams, tiled floors, making good use of limiting space. Has a few quirks (elevator No. 3 is past the pool/gym and kind of hidden away...and can be slow when you need to get up to your room fast due to having a couple of beers.) But we thought it attractive and tasteful, as well as interesting.

Great room, quiet, overlooking the pool. Comfortable bed, everything worked. The bathroom fixtures are a little dated, but it is obvious the hotel is busy and making improvements. Breakfast was the standard buffet style (what! no beignets?) and the coffee good. The staff setting up and setting out the breakfast were attentive and friendly.

Front desk was ready for us, and at my daughter's request had delivered a bottle of champagne to the room for our arrival. During our stay, we made good use of the concierge desk to arrange tours and ask questions...very helpful, very knowledgeable, made great suggestions.

The location is just right, a little over a block away from the French Quarter, so a nice walk to Canal Street and cross over to enter at Decatur. I am not a fan of sleeping in the FQ, as the noise, especially on weekends, can be overwhelming. Also, a short ride from the train station.

Price? Based on location, quality, service and comfort, it was just right.

Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators. Don't be afraid to ask the concierge for suggestions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travals1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Glad to hear everything went so well with your stay! The best part about birthday vacations is that you can plan one every year - hopefully in the near future one of those brings you back to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay if you want to be close to the action, but not right in the middle.
Upon arriving, you are greeted by the valet. He makes sure that you have everything OUT of the car that you could possibly need. Good thing, because we about forgot our phone chargers:)
Our next piece of Southern hospitality came from Dennis, the concierge, with Mardi Gras beads!! Loved that touch! ALL the staff were completely professional and super kind! The lobby and room were graciously appointed. The size was perfect for our family of three. The only issues I had with the room were the electrical outlets and the lack of an exhaust fan in the bathroom. The outlets would not hold a plug. The breakfast was great, especially for the amount of people that were in the hotel that weekend.
I can say that this is one of the cleanest hotels I have ever been in. After every guest, they strip the beds completely and take off the mattress and vac/clean the box springs! I have NEVER seen that done in ANY hotel!
The hotel was rather expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in, don't get a room over the breakfast area:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BexView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
We love the location for both business and fun - Its right in the heart of downtown New Orleans, while still a few steps away from the crowds and noise. You really get the best of both worlds, with all the action but a quiet place to come home to! Glad to hear you had a great stay! Thanks for taking the time to share!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

If you love history you will love how this hotel has maintained the old New Orleans look! It takes you back in time. The staff was wonderful and called to see if we needed anything after check in. After the first night we noticed several ants in the master bedroom and maintenance quickly took care of it. The breakfast was great everyday as well.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jwalk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Glad to hear you had a fantastic stay! We are sorry to hear that there was the hiccup on arrival but it sounds like it was handled quickly and effectively. Hopefully you get to come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

On first and even second glance, I'm totally smitten by this hotel. The name seems like it would be a dinky hotel (like a Comfort Inn) but it's really not. It's totally stylish and captures New Orleans very well. I would classify it as a boutique hotel and the loft appearance and styled pool area are really phenomenally done. The staff was super friendly and I would absolutely return. The breakfast, though pretty mediocre in quality, was very nice to have for free!

The "Not-so-Good," is that we booked through a third party called easytobook.com where we found the best rate. Upon check in we were given a special ADA room on the first floor. Our shower was a "roll in" with a hose to use by hand in order to wash yourself. Unfortunately, neither of us are in a wheel chair and we really needed a regular shower. The only want to wash our hair was to have our bodies pressed up against the shower wall in order for the stream to hit us. On top of that, water went all of the entire bathroom without a lip on the shower. Again, this is a great room for a handicapped person but if you're not handicapped, it really isn't meant for someone that's upright. We weren't able to take a good shower and management should seriously look into changing the hardware if you're going to give it to non handicapped individuals as well. Also, we were on the first floor and our window faced an alley way. The alley was INCREDIBLY noisy in the morning as cleaning and service crews vans came and went from there. We also weren't able to open our shades at all or people could completely see in our room. Again, it's not really great when you can't have any natural light at all. Our room was also by an elevator and the walls are very thin so everything is quite noisy. Again, the breakfast was great to have during a hangover with lots of options but the eggs are clearly powdered (awful). It was absolutely better than no breakfast but it would make a WORLD of difference to have real scrambled eggs in there.

All in all, it's a great hotel with a lot of potential. I'd go back and request a room on a higher floor that's NOT ADA and not near an elevator that is able to get natural light. The cookies at the front desk are also a nice touch but they only ever had oatmeal raisin and sugar. Where are the chocolate chip cookies!!!

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor that's NOT ADA and not near an elevator that is able to get natur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share! Glad to hear you would return, as that is always the best endorsement. Definitely pass along any requests that you have, and we will do our best to accommodate when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searcy, AR
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Awesome value and the hotel was perfect for us! We were traveling with our two children (12 and 8) at the time and felt safe and comfortable the whole time. Was just 2 blocks to the French Quarter and several restaurants even closer! Breakfast was very good but crowded. We were there during Thanksgiving, I recommend the concierge service as well, they were very helpful in booking a couple of events for us.

Room Tip: Eat the breakfast! It was well worth it. Get there early to avoid the hungover people though. Was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review, and we are glad to see a 5 star stay! Good tip to come early to avoid some of the crowd at breakfast - we definitely get a rush near the end, as everyone definitely wants to make sure to get in there morning meal before it closes (especially since its a great, free option to start the day off). Hopefully you get to return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We tend to choose our hotels based upon TripAdvisor reviews and it's always a bit scary until you actually check in and see if the reviews were correct. Well, we were thrilled with this hotel! It is in a great location - a short walk to everywhere you would want to go. And from the moment we checked in, we were made to feel at home. The concierge gave us some great restaurant recommendations and we were impressed with his knowledge and willingness to help. If we find ourselves in New Orleans again, we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daleandmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
We know that all the great reviews definitely set the bar high for us, but we always aim to provide 5 star service! We are always excited to check the reviews and see that we have achieved that goal. Hopefully your travels do bring you back to New Orleans again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation and expansion; due to reopen in late 2017. With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing