We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VALET WRECKED OUR CAR”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #44 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Walt Disney World, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“VALET WRECKED OUR CAR”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have stayed in this hotel for 4 nights.On our third night we got a phone call from the valet service at 0100 am that our car had an accident.Apparantely they have two parking garages and have to move your cars back and forth between the two parking garages(warning they dont disclose this one),while moving our car to the nearest garage an incoming car was beating the red light and hit our car.We went to the scene at 0100 am and have to deal with the mess they made.The accident was so bad that we have to ask if the driver was alright.ON THE SCENE one of their valet personnel commented that out of the 10 yrs he was working there they only have 3 car accidents out of the 82000 cars they park everyday ours is the third one.If you are a victim of this incident ,the comment he made was very inappropriate.The next day we were expecting the Managers on both the hotel and valet department should be checking on us.The next morning the staff has been acting as if this did not happen.Nobody was checking on us or ask how we are doing or if we need anything ,NOTHING!We felt like the accident was our responsibility.We have to complain at the front desk and demanded to see the managers but they are not available .They told us The valet and the hotel department are different company the valet department should be handling our situation.Our whole saturday was spent calling the police department,insurance agencies and the valet managers just to demand our needs in this situation.We have never seen any of the head managers personally ..phone calls doesn't do us any justice especially when this accident happened on their care.
We will never go back to this hotel again.We went home dealing with the mess they made,our car is still in new orleans being fixed.Our vacation turn out to be disastrous .How they handle our situation was very dissapointing.As an expectant Mom I don't need to deal with this kind of stress.If you have problems on your stay in this hotel just expect to be fully responsible for it.EXTREMELY DISSATISFIED.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank KRIS_C405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Kris,

We apologize for the incident that occurred with the valet parking service. We continue to stay in close contact with the valet parking company, and while we are disappointed that anything happened, hope that we can help achieve an acceptable resolution to the incident for you. If there is anything specific that you feel is lacking, or isnt being handled properly - definitely do not hesitate to reach out to us directly and we will do our best to continue to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,906
    1,197
    257
    96
    67
See reviews for
883
1,397
131
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed here for a couple nights over st patricks day
Pros- Location, service, Value
Cons - Breakfast was average, beds and room were average nothing special.
Did enjoy the stay here and would probably look to stay here again for the right price, NOLA and other hotels close by are quite expensive.
This hotel was purchased through agoda at a great rate

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cycobomber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel very conveniently located. Is is in brilliant conditions and in a building which has undergone a fantastic restoration. Breakfast is just ok but drinks during happy hour are great and priced right. The drinks place across the road and the restorant next to the hotel add up to this very nice location.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Satriale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Glad to hear you had a perfect 5 experience! Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback! We know how hard earned both our time and money are for vacation, and always appreciate hearing that guests feel like they are getting a great value when they stay with us. Hopefully your travels bring you back to New Orleans again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We recently stayed at Country Suites from March 18-25th and enjoyed the hotel. Staff was friendly and always helpful. The rooms were spotless and staff were visible everywhere maintaining the building. Our room was on the fourth floor and very quiet and spacious. The location fit our needs beings situated between the French Quarter and the artsy Warehouse district equally a couple blocks away. The street is on bus route #11 with stops in the Garden District and the zoo in Audubon Park, but check the schedule first. Whether we used the trolleys or buses, neither seem to follow a reliable schedule. I highly recommend the restaurant Coquette on Magazine and Washington Street in the Garden District. Lastly, we left a bag of masks we bought accidently on a doorknob when we checked out. After we called when we were back home in Vancouver, the masks were located and fedexed to us. We received them back in Canada within a week. Thank you Country Suites!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank km0m50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Great to hear you had a fantastic stay, and that we were able to get your forgotten items returned so quickly! We definitely try to make sure everything goes great, even when plans dont go quite as expected! Thanks for taking the time to share your 5 star experience - we hope you get to return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
2,371 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 981 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Staying in downtown New Orleans can be an expensive outing even for just a couple of days as we found hotel rooms be rather pricy and eating out even more so. We stayed at the Country Inn and Suites on magazine Street just a short distance from the French Quarters. That was an excellent decision on our part.

The hotel was just a couple of blocks from Canal Street. The reception desk had excellent staff, that were professional and courteous. You will have to leave you car for the valet, as there is no parking anywhere around the hotel. Takes about 15 minutes to retrieve you vehicle. The cost when we were there was $28 plus tax per day. Check in was quick. The lobby is nice and a very nice sitting area to the right as you enter the building.

The elevators are in the back of the building. There were three that we saw and two that we used. Service was always timely. Our room was 404 on the fourth floor. That was at the end of a long open area where one could actually look down to the first floor. The room was very nice with a separate sitting area. Two TV sets and a very nice clean bathroom. Everything worked perfectly in the room. Even though we were on the street side, we heard no street noise.

There is a small swimming pool located just off he first floor. Don’t get too excited as this pool is very small and if kids are present it will be full. There is a lobby bar just opposite the entrance to the pool and behind that breakfast is served. There is ample seating in both the dining area and in the lobby area and there is very good service. No matter what time we went to breakfast the staff always had a good hot breakfast waiting. In addition there was the usual Danish, toast, etc. plus fresh fruit and bagels. There is a free USA Today available in the lobby. Plus if you need guest services, that too is available during certain hours.

This is a very nice medium priced hotel that had a great location in downtown New Orleans.

Room Tip: Our room (404) was great. We heard no street noise even though we were on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texaswillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share such an extensive review, and so many photos! We really appreciate hearing that you had a great stay and everything was 5 star! Hopefully your travels bring you back to New Orleans again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I was recently in town for a conference. The conference hotel was $250 a night. With a bit of searching online I found this little hidden gem. I got the room at half the price of the conference hotel which is a big deal for a broke college kid.

Hotel was fantastic. 3 blocks from the French Quarter which was perfect. Their hot breakfast was just what I needed to kick start my mornings. Room was decent size and clean, bed was comfy as well. Lots of historic features would kept intact when they converted the place into a hotel.

My only complaint - There was some strange noises when trying to sleep. I couldn't pin point it to something in the room. Maybe it was part of some of the internal systems. Because of this I had some issues trying to fall asleep, but it wasn't something that would wake me up when asleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Glad to hear that we were able to be a great value for your stay during the conference. For future stays, definitely do not hesitate to let us know if there are ANY noise issues - we are glad to help out with correcting them, whatever that entails for the individual situation. Hopefully you get to return and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at the Country Inn and Suites by Carlson on Magazine Street, New Orleans. The hotel was wonderful. Very conveniently situated on the edge of the French Quarter and within easy walking distance to Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, Decatur etc. The room was very comfortable and, at first, because of the way the hotel is built, we thought that it would be very noisy, but was not noisy at all! The actual structure of the hotel architecturally is very interesting and unlike any other hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff were very friendly and helpful and check-in and check-out was fast and efficient. The concierge was especially helpful and she easily arranged some very interesting tours for us. On our last day, we checked out at 12 noon, but had a flight only that evening and the hotel happily stored our luggage for us until we were ready to go to the airport. The Taxi from the airport was $33 and took about 20 minutes. I give this hotel 5 stars and would definitely stay there again when next in New Orleans.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayerfal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Glad to hear that EVERYTHING went great with your stay. We always shoot to create perfect New Orleans experiences, and its exciting to know that between the staff, location, and amenities we are able to do so. We hope that your travels bring you back to New Orleans again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation and expansion; due to reopen in late 2017. With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing