We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Option for New Orleans French Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Eliza Jane New Orleans - in the Unbound Collection by Hyatt
Ranked #39 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Well maintained Hotel (around 150 rooms), rather small Sleeping and Bathrooms with Windows to the Atrium. Comfortable Bed and Pillows, very silent AC, fast free Wifi, noisy Fridge. Very small Pool, not to swim only for a dip. Breakfast is for american standards ok (omlette, waffle, cereals). They have a washing machine and Dryer (each 1,75$) for public use at the 3rd floor. Location is 5 minutes walk from the French Quarter away. Negative: There is a bar at the groundfloor which especially in the late evening when people used the happy hour too much can become pretty noisy (which travels through the open Atrium right to your room. The same applies for Breakfast time. As of 7am the noise level rises.They offer only expansive Valet Parking (28$+tax). Alternative: Drive to the Hotel, there is enough Parking space to leave the car for the check-in, drop your bags in the room, then bring the car yourself to a garage. I found on neworleans.bestparking.com a public garage close to the Superdome (around 12 minutes walking) for 6$/24h. If you need closer you pay more. At the moment (end of April 2014) they do some repairs. So I had a terrible smell of colour in my room I could not escape since there is no window to open.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerlinerTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at The Eliza Jane New Orleans - in the Unbound Collection by Hyatt, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay. We are always excited to hear what went great, and appreciate finding out when there are opportunities to improve! We will share the suggestions and see if we can create even better experiences going forward! Hopefully you get to return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,745 - 1,751 of 3,525 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here 2 nights in April. It really is a beautiful place. Staff were super friendly. Breakfasts awesome. Location is great, you can walk to all the central attractions and prices very reasonable.
Loved it, will be back one day and will stay here

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilipRobinHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at The Eliza Jane New Orleans - in the Unbound Collection by Hyatt, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

We look forward to your return! Thanks for taking the time to share both the review and photos! We always appreciate hearing that guests had 5 star experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

First the good: Great location near French Quarter, clean hotel, friendly staff. But be forewarned: if you book a regular king room, you can expect a tiny room, a really tiny room. The room was just big enough for the bed. When I tried to put my suitcase in the closet to get it out of the way, I had to take ironing board out, to make room for suitcase. We tried to switch rooms and would have gladly paid the $30 upgrade fee for a King suite or even a room with double beds, but it was jazz fest weekend, and all rooms were sold out. So, while i still recommend this hotel overall, do not book a regular king room, unless you crave a tiny, tiny room.

Room Tip: as stated, regular king room is tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wimmyjeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at The Eliza Jane New Orleans - in the Unbound Collection by Hyatt, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

I am glad that you had a great weekend, but disappointed that the room didnt meet your needs with regards to space! We will always do our best to help accommodate any changes needed, and apologize that we couldn't find a workable solution for this one. Being a historic property, every room is a little different, and of course each guest unique and we always want to find a room to fit each persons needs. It does sound like everything else went great though, and we hope that you do get a chance to return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The staff were wonderful at this great hotel. Our room was very comfortable, especially the cosy beds. Shower wasn't the best and the curtain didn't stop water escaping onto the floor. The public areas of the lobby were very unusual and made the hotel very appealing. The hotel is located just a 5 minute walk from the French Quarter. Breakfast was okay but got very busy, there were times we had to wait for food items that had run out and tables weren't cleared very quickly. In fairness, the first morning breakfast was fine but service and supplies lacked on the next two mornings of our stay - it was Easter weekend though so I imagine staff had time off. Overall, an excellent stay, we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dromomaniacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at The Eliza Jane New Orleans - in the Unbound Collection by Hyatt, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share! We always appreciate seeing 5 star reviews, as creating 5 star experiences is always our goal. As you mention, the unique historic architecture definitely helps in creating those experiences! We apologize about the breakfast crowds - we always do our best to plan staffing accordingly, but occasionally the rush is a bit more than expected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Spent four nights here April 12 and 13th & April 19 and 20th, 2014, with a cruise in between.
Location was ideal. A quick walk across Canal and we were in the French Quarter. It is a quiet and clean hotel with plenty of space. All staff were very friendly. The breakfast had lots of choice. We really enjoyed our stay. We walked every day and night to the French Quarter and never felt unsafe. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will be staying here again on our next trip!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teee4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at The Eliza Jane New Orleans - in the Unbound Collection by Hyatt, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Glad that both of your stays went great! New Orleans really is a perfect port to leave for a cruise from. It gives you just a little something extra to explore before/after that cannot be beat! Hopefully, you get to return again soon and explore some more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, it has such a wonderful atmosphere and all of the staff were so helpful and kind. There is a concierge desk in the lobby and everyone of the people manning the desk were so helpful with lining up tours and suggestions of restaurants. The room was very comfortable. We so enjoyed the breakfast, just an added bonus , the food was very good and the breakfast room staff are great, they were constantly stocking the food and dishes and keeping everything clean. The location was great close enough to the action when you want it and far enough away for a peaceful night sleep.

We have recommended this hotel to our friends that will be visiting New Orleans this summer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob54054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at The Eliza Jane New Orleans - in the Unbound Collection by Hyatt, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share! Its always GREAT to know that the team we have assembled is giving fantastic service and creating memorable stays. We really appreciate you recommending us to your friends, and hope that you get to come back soon too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Everybody had a smile and went out of their way for us. Great customer service! Location is perfect. Breakfast was very good but packed and only open until 9:30 on weekdays. I can't say enough about the attitude of the staff this hotel. one can tell

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at The Eliza Jane New Orleans - in the Unbound Collection by Hyatt, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share your review! I really appreciate hearing that the customer service was so impressive - Its always our goal to help guests have a great New Orleans experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#84 of 167 in New Orleans
938 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Central Business District
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eliza Jane New Orleans - in the Unbound Collection by Hyatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eliza Jane New Orleans - in the Unbound Collection by Hyatt

Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2424 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £112 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Eliza Jane New Orleans - in the Unbound Collection by Hyatt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Eliza Jane New Orleans - in the Unbound Collection by Hyatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing