We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel to Enjoy NOLA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #41 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel to Enjoy NOLA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We are a family of four who booked at this hotel to enjoy all the sights, sounds and flavours of New Orleans during Jazz Fest. This place is a great find ! Friendly, helpful staff. Well maintained building close to French Quarter, and the Business District. We booked a suite and had ample room, and the little court yard pool is a godsend on a hot day. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank klarerij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for the kind words! We are glad to hear we helped contribute to a great New Orleans experience! We appreciate you taking the time to recommend us to the tripadvisor community! Hopefully your travels bring you back again for Jazz Fest next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,893
    1,189
    254
    94
    65
See reviews for
877
1,390
130
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson Heights
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Over the past 25 years, we have stayed in various hotels in and around the Quarter. This hotel hit the mark on location, customer service, hospitality, amenities and all around professional service. Kudos to management and personnel!

Room Tip: Architecturally beautiful and the rooms are large
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauly023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share! Its always great to hear that EVERYTHING went perfect. That is the standard that we always shoot for, and appreciate hearing that we are hitting the mark! It sounds like your travels often bring you to New Orleans - we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardner, Colorado
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Previous reviewers have laid out all of the positives to this place. The breakfast staff do an impressive job keeping up with the demand, kudos to them. The location is ideal.

The rooms, however, are inconsistent and their policy for upgrading is murky. I made a reservation, my stay the week before Jazz Fest, about 6 weeks before visiting New Orleans. I used Club Carlson Points and selected upper floor room facing the street, which required you check a few boxes and offer to pay extra. However, you can't lock anything special in advance, which makes special room requests nearly irrelevant. This creates a bit of a letdown. For me, upon arrival I was put into a cave room on the 4th floor, which barely overlooks the alley via a tiny window. This is odd. The hotel should have renovated and installed larger windows, an expense I know, but I felt claustorphobic. Naturally I dialed the front desk and asked about my special request via their extra fee boxes I checked off when making the online reservation. I was told all those rooms, even rooms with real windows, were booked up. However, an online search twice while I was there proved such rooms were still available, at least to non-points paying guests it seemed. I was later told by management they have a glitch in their computer reservation system.

I think a bit more transparency by this hotel is in order. Be absolutely clear with guests what room they are reserving, with a layout and/or picture of it. Otherwise it feels like a 'who you know' or 'who you talk to' kind of situation.

Otherwise this hotel is ideal in many ways.

Room Tip: I wish there was a full proof way to reserve the room you want, at least with points, but I'm no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogbuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Im glad that it sounds like most things went well with your stay, but disappointed that there was trouble getting you into a room that better met your special requests. I want to assure you that being a guest using points was definitely not a problem with that, as we are truly grateful for your loyalty to Carlson! We will always do our best to honor special requests for all our guests, as we want to make sure everyone has perfect New Orleans stays. Unfortunately, sometimes based on occupancy we are not always able to get them all. Hopefully next time you return to New Orleans you will give us another chance to earn 5 stars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I think I could rate this hotel 5 out of 5. Seems like we loved everything about it - its convenient location close to everything, at the same time not on the main road or in the middle of the hustle and bustle, so you can have a quiet nights sleep. Everyone was really polite and friendly. Lovely cookies at the reception.
We found our room of a decent size with two very comfortable queens, good pillows, nice toiletries in the bathroom. Everything was working properly.

I liked everything at the breakfast, especially the fresh fruit salad and strong coffee (usually it's very weak in the US hotels). And - finally - metal cutlery, hooray! It would be great if the staff could top up the buffet a bit quicker and help clearing tables, too.

There was a swimming pool too, but we had no time and strength to use it after getting exhausted each day out in the city.

Had a lovely holiday in the great place New Orleans and this hotel helped us to make it so!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandarineBlossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thanks for sharing your great review and photos! We definitely appreciate you taking the time to do so. We know that all the fantastic reviews on Tripadvisor set the bar high, so we are glad that we met your expectations! Hopefully your journeys bring you back to America, and specifically New Orleans, again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
91 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Well maintained Hotel (around 150 rooms), rather small Sleeping and Bathrooms with Windows to the Atrium. Comfortable Bed and Pillows, very silent AC, fast free Wifi, noisy Fridge. Very small Pool, not to swim only for a dip. Breakfast is for american standards ok (omlette, waffle, cereals). They have a washing machine and Dryer (each 1,75$) for public use at the 3rd floor. Location is 5 minutes walk from the French Quarter away. Negative: There is a bar at the groundfloor which especially in the late evening when people used the happy hour too much can become pretty noisy (which travels through the open Atrium right to your room. The same applies for Breakfast time. As of 7am the noise level rises.They offer only expansive Valet Parking (28$+tax). Alternative: Drive to the Hotel, there is enough Parking space to leave the car for the check-in, drop your bags in the room, then bring the car yourself to a garage. I found on neworleans.bestparking.com a public garage close to the Superdome (around 12 minutes walking) for 6$/24h. If you need closer you pay more. At the moment (end of April 2014) they do some repairs. So I had a terrible smell of colour in my room I could not escape since there is no window to open.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerlinerTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay. We are always excited to hear what went great, and appreciate finding out when there are opportunities to improve! We will share the suggestions and see if we can create even better experiences going forward! Hopefully you get to return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here 2 nights in April. It really is a beautiful place. Staff were super friendly. Breakfasts awesome. Location is great, you can walk to all the central attractions and prices very reasonable.
Loved it, will be back one day and will stay here

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SundreamerNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
We look forward to your return! Thanks for taking the time to share both the review and photos! We always appreciate hearing that guests had 5 star experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

First the good: Great location near French Quarter, clean hotel, friendly staff. But be forewarned: if you book a regular king room, you can expect a tiny room, a really tiny room. The room was just big enough for the bed. When I tried to put my suitcase in the closet to get it out of the way, I had to take ironing board out, to make room for suitcase. We tried to switch rooms and would have gladly paid the $30 upgrade fee for a King suite or even a room with double beds, but it was jazz fest weekend, and all rooms were sold out. So, while i still recommend this hotel overall, do not book a regular king room, unless you crave a tiny, tiny room.

Room Tip: as stated, regular king room is tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wimmyjeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
I am glad that you had a great weekend, but disappointed that the room didnt meet your needs with regards to space! We will always do our best to help accommodate any changes needed, and apologize that we couldn't find a workable solution for this one. Being a historic property, every room is a little different, and of course each guest unique and we always want to find a room to fit each persons needs. It does sound like everything else went great though, and we hope that you do get a chance to return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#15 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#40 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing