We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #43 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous location and service”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had the pleasure of staying here from May 5-12! The staff was friendly and very helpful. The valet service was efficient and courteous. We loved the convenience of being able to walk to the French Quarter, Harrah's and other points of interest as well as being able to catch a street car about a block away. The hotel,is in a very special building and they've dome a great job of preserving it.

Room Tip: We loved having a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edtech4az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share! We appreciate knowing that you had a 5 star stay with us! I will be sure to share the positive feedback with the whole team. Hopefully your travels bring you to New Orleans again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,903
    1,197
    256
    96
    66
See reviews for
883
1,395
131
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Always start off with the good - great location, friendly staff (willing to fix problems and compensate), recently re-decorated and comfortable lobby/bar area, and an OK breakfast (which is nice to have). The concern started when I found shampoo containers from the guests before us, indicating that the shower had not been cleaned. Let the staff know - very nice. Went back that evening the shampoo products still there. I bagged them and brought them down. Again very nice (25% off that evening, complimentary drinks at the bar). Came back later that evening ... they threw my stuff away ... pretty comical, actually didn't even mention to the front desk! The room itself was a great size and quiet because the door to the bedroom area could be shut. It was just a bit worn and tired looking - looked institutional. The rooms definitely need updating! Again mixed feelings, despite the shower mix-up, would consider staying again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your story. While it sounds like the staff was friendly and eager - which I always love to hear - it also sounds like there were some communication/service breakdowns on our end. I definitely understand your frustration and apologize for the inconvenience. We will certainly be reviewing what happened to try to prevent future mixups. Hopefully the next time you make it to New Orleans we can give you a perfect 5 star experience that we always shoot for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel in April with a large group of my family to attend a wedding right across the street at the New Orleans Board of Trade. The hotel entrance is small and inconspicuous and upon entering you come upon a very long and narrow reception room with a ceiling made of steel arches and glass allowing the sunshine in and making it bright and airy.It is filled with comfortable well used sofas and chairs in small groups leaving a wide walkway on the side so you can meet almost all your friends and family. The breakfast buffet is close by and this reception area can be used for eating the breakfast as well. I felt at home as it was cozy and could accommodate several groups close to each other.
The food was OK and they do not have a full restaurant but the hotel is within walking distance of all the main attractions and many excellent restaurants. There are many walks that one can take along the water and other areas. The staff was very friendly and the rooms though small were comfortable and very clean.
We all had a great time and I recommend this hotel for family gatherings and folks with small kids. They have Valet parking and of course it is expensive but there is no need for a car.

Room Tip: There were no issues with any noise at all. A/c is in all rooms and the suites are bigger than the u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shakirak2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks for sharing! I am glad to hear that your family had a fantastic stay. I know our sales staff does a great job with our group blocks and always goes the extra mile. The lobby is fantastic for get togethers, as you mention, with a lot of great spaces to meet up and spend time with your friends and family in. We appreciate the feedback and hope you get to visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were so impressed with the staff and the hotel. We had a great mini-suite overlooking Magazine Street, with a short walk to the French Quarter, the river and the World War II museum.
Great location, a little quieter than being in main section. The hotel is quaint restored old buildings put together for one unit, but with the original architecture. Breakfast each morning is so extensive, you can skip lunch. We were there for a week and got to know the staff, everyone goes out of their way to make sure your stay is great.

Room Tip: Try to get a room fronting Magazine Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertAHammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience here! Its always great to hear that guests are having 5 star stays - and especially during a special time like a 40th anniversary! Congratulations! We hope you return to New Orleans for the 50th (and a few times before then!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived on Sunday just before dark, missing the end of the Jazz Festival which were very sad about. We were greeted by Jared the most excellent valet service. On the inside the hotel was fabulous and the rooms were beautiful. The hot breakfast was welcome after a couple days of road food. The pool small, but very relaxing. Everyone we ran into and had the chance to speak with was very nice and hospitable, next time we go down to New Orleans we will definitely be staying here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
"The best decision ever!" definitely makes us feel proud of our part of your trip. We are always thrilled to know that guests are having 5 star New Orleans experiences, and do our best to contribute to creating them. Maybe for the next trip you can make it in for Jazz Fest (but if not, no worries - there is always something fun going on!). Thanks for taking the time to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mons, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I only stayed here one night, the location is perfect, walking distance to everything, and all the employees are extremely friendly and helpful to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The beds are also extremely comfortable and I would definitely stay here again.

However, the wine-opener I received as a gift for being club carlson gold was promptly confiscated at the airport security because one of the attachments was a knife.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gliere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks for letting us know what a great stay you had! We appreciate the feedback. As a Club Carlson Gold member, let us extend a special thank you for returning so often to all the Carlson Hotels! Hopefully you get to return to New Orleans again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very nice hotel, and a great location. We enjoyed our stay very much. This hotel is an old New Orleans hotel. It takes you back in time when you visit this hotel. I have stayed in other hotels in New Orleans and I really liked this one. It was my 1st time there. New Orleans is a great place to visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share! While New Orleans is a special city, we also like to think we have a special experience to offer even within this unique destination. As someone that has stayed at other hotels in the area, I am glad to hear you agree! Hopefully you stay with us on your future trips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation and expansion; due to reopen in late 2017. With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing