We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, pleasant, exceptional staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #40 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was our base and home for a 5 day stay in NOLA, and there's very little negarive we can say about it. The property is charming and comfortable, the inclusive breakfast is plentiful and a little better than your average offering; the real bonus of this hotel is the staff. From the front desk, to the consierge, to the cleaning staff, everyone across the board surpasses expectation, a real model of customer service. Of special note is John at the Spirits bar, who is full of invaluable local info and recommendations, and he pours a great cocktail too! The rooms are little tight, but no more so than most hotels of this standing, and they've really done a great job with the property as a whole. And who's gonna argue with a free cookie station at the front desk :) Other amenities include a 24 hour coffee and tea station, a light snack kitchen at the bar until 11pm, and a coffee machine in the room (which is surprisingly absent in most places these days).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DFCson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Great to hear you had a 5 star stay! We definitely try to think of EVERYTHING we can to make things great, and it sounds like you were able to enjoy a lot of those little perks and amenities. Hopefully you get to come back and visit with us again! Thanks for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,672 - 1,678 of 3,525 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

A group of about 12 of us stayed here to visit the National World War II Museum. The hotel is about 6 blocks from the museum. You can walk, but we had 2 WWII vets with us and we called a cab for them. The hotel is very interesting in that it is formed from several buildings that have been joined/connected. Therefore, the layout can seem a little odd with different elevators and some stairs. Staff was great to work with. Lisa is outstanding and the woman (Pamela) working in the mornings at the breakfast buffet was great. The breakfast was comparable to other hotels in that price range. Only thing we thought that could use a big improvement was the coffee. Some in our party complained of small rooms, but we had a suite and thought it was great. We've stayed in other French Quarter hotels and have had small rooms before. That's part of the package in an old historic building. We would most likely stay again if the purpose of the trip is to visit the museum. And it is worth a trip to see the wonderful job they have done to tell the story of the men and women of the greatest generation.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank sanderson55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Glad to hear you had a great stay. I know our sales team was excited about having your guys in house - we love working with the military reunion groups. Thanks for taking the time to share and hopefully we see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were here to celebrate my 30th birthday and attend a concert. I'm not sure how I missed the fact that the rooms were so tiny, so I was a little shocked by that, but not terribly turned off. The price wasn't so bad because we booked well in advance for $139/night, which included parking, but I saw that in the month or so before our visit, the price had gone up to $264, I guess because Bruno Mars was in town. I would have thrown up if I'd paid that for this hotel. The lobby was very chic, but the rooms were soooooo outdated. There was also an olive on the floor beside my bed, so I'm guessing the maid staff doesn't clean overly thoroughly. The bed was hard, and the sunlight shown very brightly through the curtains, as tightly as we tried to close them. The positive aspects were that the front desk folks were so nice, as were any other staff that you might pass in the hallway. Also, the air worked really well, which is a big problem with this new hotel thermostat trend of only being able to set a room temperature, and not turn the air off (so that it fluctuates from heating to cooling to keep the room at a certain temp...HATE that). However, I don't plan on staying here again, unless it's a bit cheaper.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalucas84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share. We definitely pride ourselves on our service, and part of that is making sure every room is immaculate. I am glad to hear that everyone was kind, but certainly disappointed that they missed something when cleaning the rooms. Hopefully next time you return to New Orleans you can give us another shot at providing 5 star accommodations for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

For a chain hotel, this one didn't feel cookie cutter at all. With it's unique architecture, great location close to French Quarter and public transportation we had a great time. Room was comfortable and just right for two adult guests. Always a plus that breakfast is included.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmfbaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Being in a series of historic buildings that date back 150 years, definitely gives us a unique atmosphere that we are very proud to share. I am glad to know you had a 5 star experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to share!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. The valet met us immediately when we arrived and introduced himself (Jermal). The Hotel had a wonderful atmosphere when you entered. the check in /check out was very fast, the desk clerks were more than happy to help. Our concierge was very knowledgeable about the area and more than happy to schedule any tour for you that you wanted to take. Bus was there the next morning to pick us up and they always called to confirm the arrival time. The continental breakfast was above and beyond what I expected. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were quiet and clean. The hotel location was very convenient and within walking distance of most everything we wanted to do. I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJF268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share! I will be sure to pass along the kind words to the staff. Hopefully you get to return to New Orleans again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Really enjoyed staying here. Convenient and nice without the big price like the hotels around it. Staff was very focused on customer satisfaction, which is very refreshing for New Orleans...

I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thanks for sharing! We definitely put creating a great experience for our guests at the top of the priority list, and are glad to hear that it helped make your stay special. We hope that your travels bring you back to stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Country Inn French Quarter is a gem of a hotel, on a quiet street within walking distance to everything we wanted to see in the French Quarter. The exposed beams and warehouse feel to the hotel is enchanting, but the walls in the rooms are thin and we could hear noises from the hall on occasion, though nothing too disruptive. The hairdryer in our room broke during our stay and was fixed within 20 minutes; the staff is friendly and efficient. Would definitely come here again for a repeat girls' trip!

Thank Taylor S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Glad to hear you had a great time on your girls trip! I am sorry there were a few hiccups, but happy that things seemed to be fixed quick and easy. Thanks for taking the time to share. Hopefully you can all meet up in New Orleans again soon - we would love to have you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2424
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £86 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation and expansion; due to reopen in late 2017. With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing