We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, reasonable rates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #41 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Aston, PA, USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good location, reasonable rates”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Right across the street from the French Quarter. Rate includes an ample breakfast. Concierge was exceptionally helpful. Rooms are adequate, clean. You get the convenience of a good location without the noise and congestion of the Quarter.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Great to see you had a 5 star stay with us. We agree that the location is perfect for exploring New Orleans. Everything is close enough to walk to quickly, but you get a quiet spot to return to at night to rest up for the next day of French Quarter fun. The best of both worlds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,893
    1,189
    254
    94
    65
See reviews for
877
1,390
130
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Good location, great staff, great service. Not your typical chain hotel, had some very unique architectural design. Loved the courtyard soaking pool after a long day of walking around, took our books and our drinks and relaxed almost everyday before heading out for the nightlife.
2 block walk to the French Quarter, 2 blocks to the casino, 3 blocks to the River. Near bus line to Zoo and Garden District (Magazine St. shops and restaurants.) 2 blocks to Canal Street and Charles Ave. trolleys. Breakfast each morning had great variety and staff in dining room was amazing. Concierge was very helpful and even provided us coupons for day trips that she didn't book for us. Nice touch was the call for check out the evening before asking if we needed a wake up call or a taxi phoned to get us to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrskatjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share! We always love hearing that guests are having a great New Orleans experiences with us! Hopefully you get to come back and stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massillon, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

My wife and I stayed Three days and nights and had a great time. Country Inn and Suite is very Friendly and the Staff seem to go beyond their duty to help. They gave directions to places to eat, things to see and do and good Tours to take. Core and Ro helped us out a lot with directions and
advise on where to go local as my wife and I are in our mid sixties and did not want to walk 10 blocks but 6 blocks or so was fine. Other then that we took a cab and Core helped with that. Rooms were clean and comfortable quite at night. We will stay there again in the futute.

Room Tip: We had a room on 4th floor and it was quite
See more room tips
Green Features: They try to save water and ask if you are there for several days if you don't need your sheets changed everyday let them know so they can save water. They do make your bed everyday.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank King4621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! Its great hearing that the team is really going the extra mile to make sure you had a great time while visiting us! Hopefully you get to come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopton
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We arrived here after a 17 hour journey from Glasgow, to be met by a very friendly reception guy who checked us in quickly and explained all the necessaries to us. Our room was great, sitting area with huge tv, fridge, micro and coffee maker. We'd been advised at reception to see the concierge in the morning to organise trips etc, so we did, he was great, very knowledgable and helpful. We did the city sightseeing tour, Natchez stream boat and Swamp tour, all excellent.
The pool is very small, more a dipping pool really, but it's a gorgeous area to sit out.
This so far has been the only hotel in the US this trip that has had its own bar, and as I type this, we're staying in hotel number 6!!
Breakfast was also one of the best we've had, fruit, cereals, bacon, sausage, egg etc. and free coffee anytime.
This hotel is well within walking distance of the French Quarter and the new Riverwalk Mall (you have to check out the Lindt shop in there!)
Had a great start to a great road trip .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigJulesBishopton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your review! We are always excited to hear that we are among the highlights of a long trip. We hope that you get to return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel was average in that it was very much like the other hotels we have stayed in while in Nola. Carlson Group is trying and we think do a very nice job of getting this hotel up and running. The staff were great and did everything we asked. We had a reservation problem when we checked in but the young desk clerk very quickly and professionally fixed the snafu and sent us on our merry way to a great stay. There are street problems but all of Nola is having street problems. The breakfast is very hotel average buffet, but still the price is right. The location was super, you are right next to the Quarter and yet away from all the noise. We will use this hotel again when we travel. It's not perfect but they are working on getting this hotel up and running and doing a great job of it.

Room Tip: Go to high rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjertsjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Hopefully you get to return to New Orleans again and we can give you the 5 star service and hospitality that we always aim for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

my family stayed in a suite. The room had a sitting area with a t.v sofabed and a desk with a window looking out into the hallway. The bathroom was a nice size and very clean. The room off the sitting area had a king size bed , t.v and 2 nightstand and a chair. There was a small fridge, coffee pot, microwave, and hair dryer. There was also a closet with a safe, iron and ironing broad. The hotel was clean and very nice. They only have valet parking and its 20 dollars a day. they charge it to your credit card when you check out. When you need them to bring your car you have to call request about 10 minutes before you need to leave because the parking garage is a few blocks down the street. When you check in the concierge is there to help you with any questions you have. He will tell you where to eat and give you a map. He drawls on the map placing that you would be interested in seeing or visiting and also crosses out the areas on the map where you shouldn't go after dark. He showed us some brochures and we picked which ones we were interested in and he did the rest. We just went outside in front of the hotel and waited on the tour bus to pick us up. You will get a brochure with a sticky note on it with the time and the name of the tour bus. The breakfast was good too lots of choices. I would stay here again. Oh I forgot to mention my two teenagers slept on the sofabed and it was very comfortable and the pool was very tiny.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Always exciting to see 5 stars across the board! We definitely aim for creating 5 star New Orleans experiences, and are glad to hear we hit the mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great staff, awesome location, interestingly unusual room interiors (some with exposed beams and brick from the original, 100+ year old factory) and free breakfast make this hotel a great choice for us (family) and hopefully you too! Near everything this great city has to offer. The on site concierge also helped us make tour arrangements (we went to the swamp, rode on an air boat and saw a load of hungry gators!). The hotel is just about a 5 minute walk to Bourbon Street/French Quarter and maybe 10 min walk to Jackson Square and Cafe du Monde. The hotel also has a bar in the lobby where "John at the Bar" welcomes everybody. The front desk made fresh cookies all day long. We love the hotel and have stayed there often.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are a bit different but we like the rooms that look out over Magazine Street and le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
It is GREAT to hear that you have come back several times, and have always had a great time staying with us. We always want to contribute to great New Orleans memories, and it sounds like we have been able to be a part of numerous for you and your family! Hopefully we get to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#15 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#40 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing