We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great intimate family hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #42 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great intimate family hotel!!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We just left this morning. Upon arrival we were greeted by Jammal, he helped us park and get our many bags out of the car. ( We are traveling to Florida with 3 kids from Dallas Texas ). My husband went inside with our girls and they were given fresh baked cookies and the gentlemen that helps book tours gave them beads! They loved it! Our room was clean and nice and big, which was great with 5 of us! The kids Loved the pool. It is very small but very pretty and a great place to sit a relax! The hotel itself feels very small a quaint. Jammal was great and so helpful. We would definitely recommend this place. Breakfast was great too...and free ...even better!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avalennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks for the kind words! I will be sure to share them with the whole team and give the guys that were especially helpful an extra pat on the back. We look forward to you coming back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,903
    1,194
    256
    96
    66
See reviews for
881
1,395
131
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Well located, front desk staff incredibly hospitable and welcoming, concierge (Eddy) very knowledgeable. Rooms do need a facelift but all is clean and a great place to stay. Complimentary breakfast a nice feature.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Glad to hear that you had a great time staying with us. I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Hopefully you get to return again and we can help you experience even more of New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leesville, la
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The location of the hotel is great--Only 2 blocks from Canal and you can walk to just about anywhere from here. The hotel is very quaint when you walk in--the ladies working at the desk were very enthralled in a conversation when we tried to check in-- Their conversation was never paused during my check in--definitely not the customer first approach-- we had a double queen suite-- the rooms are very dated, the carpet and furniture look very worn, and the bathroom was not very clean. As you walk in to the room there is a small room with a sofa ( that makes in to a sofa bed) tv, fridge, and microwave. There is no window- so it was very dark and dingy! We had to unplug the fridge because it was making such a loud noise we thought it was going to explode at any moment. There was a desk and a chair. The bathroom was very small and the only window in the room was where the two queen beds were-- the window was approx. 2X2-- Other rooms may have had more windows. THe walls are paper thin-- I had to call the front desk twice because of the drunk women next door cackling like hyena's at 1am-- The front desk did finally send security to the room to quiet them down. We had trouble with several of the outlets in the room- Our plugs would fall right out! Not good when you are traveling with three teenagers! Breakfast was about average but the breakfast area is very tiny! People walking on top of each other. The pool area is very beautiful - but let me clarify the phrase "pool area" -- The pool can not fit more than one family of three at a time! THe room was priced ok --We make trips to New Orleans often and have found much better hotels for the same price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cajuntravelers2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
I am sorry to hear that you did not feel like you had a 5 star experience with us. It is always our goal to help create special New Orleans memories. I hope that you give us another chance on one of your return visits to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way home from Disney. We were hoping to get some French Quarter shopping in, but it was storming! When we finally got out, the World Cup soccer crowds were a bit rough for a Sunday afternoon, so we couldn't keep the kids out for too long this time. I really like this location because it seems far away enough from the French Quarter crowds to be quiet, but easy enough to walk to everywhere you want to go.

We stayed in one of the suites on the 5th floor. It had two queen beds in the bedroom and a sofa bed in the living room. We've stayed in a suite before, but I think this one was even bigger (#501)! It was spacious and clean with comfortable beds. The room could use an update on the carpet...it looked old and had some stains in it, but that was minor overall.

The staff was very friendly. They even called us once we got to our room to make sure the room was to our liking.

The room was super quiet - we never heard anyone the entire time we were there. We were far from the elevator, so we never heard that, either.

If you drive here, be sure to budget for valet parking. It was $28 per night plus tips.

The breakfast was good - and it was open/ready on time. We've arrived right at the opening of some of these breakfasts where they weren't ready yet and we had to wait. That was nice since we had a long drive home ahead of us.

When we return for a longer New Orleans vacation, we'll be sure to stay here again!

Room Tip: #501 - great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WPMagicJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you had another great stay! We look forward to making the third stay even better! Hopefully you get to come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

What was not to love about this Hotel, the staff and the location? It was amazing. We were on a family trip to enjoy the whole French Quarter Experience. Valet parking is not included but affordable and your car is there when you need, I mean they are fast! Second check in, piece of cake and friendly service. When you walk in this hotel you immediately get the WOW factor! The front desk has cookies we couldn't keep our hands off. The concierge is AMAZING and absolutely knowledgeable of the area. He can tell you where to go and where to stay away from, great places to eat, the attractions... He was wonderful. Our room was FIVE STAR! The beds, the bedding, towels, everything was awesome. It was a 2 block walk to Canal Street and another 3 block up to Bourbon. We stayed for 4 days and walked everywhere because everything was so close, and I do mean everywhere. It was a great experience and we had a great time exploring. I will stay here again! Oh almost forgot the pool is heated... after our walks, it was awesome. Continental breakfast was wayyyy more then continental. Love, Love, Love this place!

Room Tip: we were on the 3rd floor and it was peaceful and quiet. No street noise, just quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRod5004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks for writing a review! We appreciate hearing that everything went great with your stay! Hopefully you get to come back and explore New Orleans some more again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Booked a trip for our small family in early May. Have a toddler and the room was large enough to easily accommodate our crib, suitcases etc. In-room fridge was a nice touch as we needed a large supply of milk on hand. First thing that stands out in my mind were the staff, everyone from the front counter to the concierge to the breakfast buffet and bar staff were excellent. Always smiling and friendly and willing to go the extra mile. Got us a shuttle to the airport that was not advertised and far cheaper than the taxi. Great location as well, not only close to the French Quarter but also to bus service to the Zoo etc. Close to the aquarium and Casino as well. If and when I go back to NOLA this will definitely be the place I want to stay again.

Room Tip: It's New Orleans. You're never going to get perfect quiet, but the few noises we did hear we...
See more room tips
Green Features: Practices were indicated on cards in the room and bathroom
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calzab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Glad to hear you had such a great time! I will be sure to share the feedback with the entire team, as I know they will be excited to know that they helped make your stay special! Hopefully you get to return to New Orleans and we can help make the next stay great too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
426 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed this hotel and the fresh cookies at check in. The folks who have out beads and knew everything about New Orleans were a nice thing too, especially because as a young single woman you need to know where you can and can't go.
The bed and room were great, I enjoyed the fact that there was a fridge and my room looked at the pool. The location was fairly decent and I'd definitely come back! There is a lot more on the street, a ways away, but there was a lot nearby too.
I hope to come back one day!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share! We also hope you get to return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#43 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing