We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #40 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2014

Stayed four nights at the end of August. Rooms are clean ,spacious and hotel is near to most attractions,the hotel is housed in a 19th-century building with old world architecture and charming details, All the staff are great and work hard to help you ,especially the concierge. There are two of them and they're both fantastic.

The WiFi is free and very reliable and fast . I think they have an access point in each room.
The free breakfast is adequate to keep you going . I recommend not getting a car while in N.O. ,the best way to see the city is by walking and most hotels charge $30 a night for parking. There is reliable street car and bus service if you need to go a little further.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manzanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike-Larose, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share! We appreciate the kind words. I will be sure to share with the concierge team that they helped you have a great New Orleans experience while staying with us. We hope you get to come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,535 - 1,541 of 3,525 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2014

At checked in I encountered a front desk staff named Sabrina. She was not greeting me yet she seems to be unhappy that she's there working that day. This was 1pm, when i asked if I could checkin early? She bluntly replied: check in is at 4pm! We will charge you additional $25 if you check in before 4!!! It's not about the money but the body language and attitude that I received that made me very uncomfortable and felt like I am stupid :( I normally stays frequently at marriott hotel chains (and a elite member) and I guess I'm spoiled with their excellent service that I was never been treated like she treated me unprofessionally.
I left for an hour and returned at the front desk when I encountered a very nice gentleman named Jonathan that saved my long day of driving. Jonathan was very professional and very pleasant to communicate with. He was understanding and apologitic on behalf of his co-worker since I told him that I was rudely treated by Sabrina. He got me into a room immediately without any drama... Most of all without bad attitude! Thank you, Jonathan for your excellent service! Your great professionalism and personable attitude makes up the other negative people that works there (which they shouldn't be there working at all!)
It's such a beautiful and clean property!

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DedeNhoustontexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We stayed here over the labor day weekend. The hotel is on Magazine street about two blocks from Canal St and french quarter. Everyone in the staff, right from the valet, concierge, front desk, and breakfast room folks are wonderful, and always eager to help. The hotel is apparently a renovated 1860's warehouse/mill and it has maintained that character. Its almost like you are stepping back into the history. I would have given 5* rating, but this being a perfect hotel in all the other aspects, breakfast was a standard country inn fare. Though hotel tries to overcome this limitation by offering discount coupons to someother breakfast places, having one or two local items in house would have gone a long way and would have completed the NOLA experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vinay2543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike-Larose, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thanks for the kind words - I appreciate you taking the time to share. We definitely want to create a unique New Orleans memories for our guests, and are glad we could be part of yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Beautifully remodeled property in the Warehouse district a few blocks from the french quarter. Their architect did an outstanding job. I love old buildings and it really adds to your experience when coming to New Orleans. The bathroom is top notch. The swimming pool area is lovely. Eddie the Concierge was very helpful with lots of suggestions for enjoying the nightlife. We received courtesy calls from the front desk to make sure we were comfortable during our stay, which was very nice.

I'd recommend to the hotel that they remove the huge towel basket on wheels and one of the exercise machines in the gym, and add some floor mats. It was difficult to do any warm ups with so little floor space in the room. Also recommend removing some furniture in the small bedrooms. The huge 6 drawer dresser is unneccesary as nobody unpacks. An electronic device charger would be a nice feature to add. Also add an envelope for tipping the housekeeping staff. They do an awesome job. Your people make all the difference at a hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room above the first floor and far from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieRivero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike-Larose, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Debbie - Thanks for the kind words, and the suggestions on how to make stays even more enjoyable. I will definitely be reviewing the ideas and seeing if there are some opportunities to tweak things a little bit. I will be sure to let the team here know that they were a part of your great New Orleans experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

A great weekend was planned. Unfortunately, after it rained, my wife slipped and fell. She broke her left wrist (cast past her elbow) and she broke her right elbow. On the day we left, we called the front desk and requested a 45 minute extension for the room. So my wife could wait in room for our shuttle to the airport instead of having to sit in the lobby. We were told that anything more than 30 minutes and there would be a fee added to our bill. REALLY? What is 15 minutes to the hotel anyway? We are talking about a woman in a cast on her left arm and her right arm in a sling! Customer care needs to be an issue in employee training.

Mike H.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike-Larose, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

I am sorry to hear that you did not receive the 5 star service that we pride ourselves on. I will definitely check in with the Front Desk team to make sure that they are staying proactive in finding solutions to guest needs. I hope that when you return to New Orleans you can give us another shot at giving you a great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This country inn and suites is in a great location close to everything close to the French Quarter and surrounding areas. Rooms a bit small, but service is good. Overall, the value is good for the timing of the trip and location. The hotel offers off site valet service which is a good thing in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhod c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike-Larose, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Glad you had a good stay with us! We hope you return again soon and we can make it a great one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Just got home from a wonderful trip to my favorite city, New Orleans. We have stayed at the County Inn and Suites the past 5 times we have come and have never been disappointed. Hotel is in walking distance to wherever you want to go - our suite looked out over Magazine street for people watching - bed was so comfy (what little time we spent in it!) Staff from housekeeping, valet, bar to front desk and concierge were terrific! Made us feel right at home. I love the old feel of this hotel and can't wait to go back. Thanks you for a great stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing Magazine street - & upgrade to a suite - they are so worth it plus loved t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patricia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike-Larose, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thanks for staying with us - again and again! We are thrilled to be a part of your New Orleans memories and hope to continue to be in the future. We look forward to seeing you for visit number six!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2424
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £86 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation and expansion; due to reopen in late 2017. With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing