We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #45 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2009

I can't say enough about this hotel. The staff was friendly, the room was nice and it was within walking distance of everything we wanted to see in the French Quarter.
The staff helped us with directions and tours and there were complimentary cookies at the front desk. Yummy!
The room was clean and very nice AND there were ceramic coffee mugs next to the coffee pot in our room. This was especially nice. I hate those little styrofoam cups.
This hotel believes in going green and I really appreciate that.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,114 - 3,120 of 3,525 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2009

Just got back from N.O and it did not disappoint! I had the best little mini vacation I could have imagined. My sister and I went on Wed and came back today and I wanted to put my adventure in writing before I forget! Here it goes: The hotel was the Country Inn and Suites on Magazine. Perfect for an inexpensive hotel right there in the French Quarter. The lobby was really pretty and classy. The staff was really polite and helpful. Our room was a suite with a sofa, TV, desk, lamps, fridge and microwave in the front room and the bedroom was really big with two queen beds. Very clean and comfortable. I'll just give an overview of my trip. We ate at several places, among them being Johnny's Po Boys. Loved it. Had the oyster and shrimp po boy. Central Grocery for the muffaletta. I enjoyed it. My sister thought it was overrated. Coop's had great fried chicken, so good in fact that we ordered a second order of it which was a little overcooked. Still good though. Went to Casamentos and had the gumbo. Very thick and good but no seafood in it which was disappointing. Acme for the oysters. I had the grilled oysters which were fantastic. They put butter and grated romano cheese on them and serve them with italian bread. Yummy! Tried other food at the French Quarter Festival and it was good. Entertainment was everywhere. Street entertainers abounded. Bourbon Street was loud and crazy but had some of the best bands. We really enjoyed going from club to club. Had a ball at a karaoke bar (Cat's Meow or Fat Catz). Drank several Hurricanes during our vacation but there's a little store next to Central Grocery called Sidneys where you can get beer, wine, etc and they will open it for you and sell you a cup for .10 and you can drink walking up and down the street and not have to go to a bar or restaurant for a drink. Everyone recommended Pat O'Briens' Hurrican because theirs was the strongest. Others tasted more fruity but still good. We went to Canal and St. Charles Street and took the streetcar to Garden District which was lovely. We took the streetcar on Canal Street to the end of the line and took the free ferry to Algiers. The ferry is so fast. There in less than 10 minutes. This was kind of an overview. We had a great time.

3  Thank luvtotravelAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2009

We stayed at County Inn and Suites before a six a.m. flight. The staff was wonderful. They gave us suggestions for our last night in New Orleans. They checked to make sure we had everything we needed. The room was quiet and clean. Our shuttle driver was fun and prompt,, which is pretty amazing at 4:30 a.m. We will definitely stay here the next time we visit New Orleans. We expected a functional stay, but felt welcomed and at home.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhackaWhacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2009

Stayed with my daughter on a 7 day vacation. Excellent location. Continental breakfast was plentiful. Staff on the front desk could have been more friendly. Room was fine but could have been cleaned better. Found a pair of children's shoes under my bed on our last day, wonder how long they had been there, if they had cleaned under the bed regularly they would have found them. Poor TV reception on several channels. If your room overlooks an ally turn it down as the rubbish bins get emptied between 4 - 5 am each day and the noise wakes you up. Would stay at this hotel if in New Orleans again but would ask for an interior room which would be more quite.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

The Country Inn on Magazine Street in New Orleans is a great spot for the budget traveler. It's very nice, small room, but great service and in the best location. This hotel is within minutes of the French Quarter and all the action. They have a nice little gym and even a small bar with happy hour specials every day. We stayed there before going on a cruise and it really was the perfect location. They have a concierge on site that can assist you in getting to the cruise terminal and around New Orleans.

We ate at Acme which was great, not sure it was as great as all the hype says, but well-priced. We also ate at Deanie's which was excellent! The service was impeccable and gumbo was great. If you plan on riding the trolley's anywhere, be sure you have exact change or you can't get on. Definitely go to Cafe du Monde for a beignet!

There is A LOT to see so be sure to bring your walking shoes.

Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
3  Thank tempetraveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

I recently blocked and filled 15 rooms at the Country Inn and Suites for our March 7, 2009 wedding in New Orleans and all I can say is "wow" and "thank you thank you thank you" to Lisa and the entire staff there! I booked this hotel based on convenience, but what I got was much more than I anticipated, from my locals that stayed there as to not drive home after the wedding to out of towners, I received nothing but rave after rave! The rooms were spacious, had that wonderful "Old New Orleans" charm, high ceilings, comfortable beds, great staff, a charming pool area and very very reasonably priced, walking distance to all the great downtown and french quarter attractions, too! More guests, even locals, had never even considered this hotel previously but now plan to return and stay there again and again. Several local guests commented they would choose to go there just for a quick weekend getaway from home. I can't thank everyone there enough for impressing me and our wedding guests to this extent!! (my little niece especially loved the front library area and the cookies, too!!)

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nola030709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Rude front desk attendants. Unaccomodating. Will not be back again. I booked two queen beds through Travelocity, and they gave me a King bed. When I went down and spoke with the front desk attendant, she made no effort to accomodate us appropriately. The Manager was also standing at the front desk and didn't say a word. At least an apology would have been nice to hear, especially from Management. It is clear that this place is mismanaged and customers do not come first. I'm thoroughly dissappointed since I relied on the good reviews I had read about the place on TripAdvisor. While it is relatively close to the French Quarter, it is not that convenient. And, for the lousy service I've experienced thus far, I would have preferred to pay more for a more conveniently located and with better service. Sorry, but I would not recommend nor stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#46 of 167 in New Orleans
1,349 reviews
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#82 of 167 in New Orleans
1,335 reviews
Central Business District
International House Hotel
International House Hotel
#75 of 167 in New Orleans
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £90 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation and expansion; due to reopen in late 2017. With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing