We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #42 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Ft Walton Beach, Fl
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Value!”
Reviewed 22 May 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. It is a combination of several buildings, but that just added to it's uniqueness. Close to the French Quarter, clean, convenient, within walking distance of everything. Parking is extra (23 for normal cars; 32 for oversize vehicles), but you encounter that at any hotel in the Quarter. We parked our car when we arrived and didn't use it untilo we left. You do have in and out privileges if needed. We had a king size bed, the room was very clean, and the hotel was very quiet. The staff was excellent. A bonus was the continental breakfast each morning as well as the cookies in the lobby. They have a tour guide on site that can recommend various tours. We highly recommend this hotel and plan on staying there in all future visits to New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barkley200712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,903
    1,194
    256
    96
    66
See reviews for
881
1,395
131
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

This is a beautifull place to stay - this is a hotel with something other than just you standard square boring unfriendly rooms. The room had character, was well sized and clean.

The hotel lobby is also really nice. The staff are extremely friendly and helpfull. The whole hotel is very clean, the breakfast was OK, however there is nothing hot.

The location is very good, I would say a five min walk max to Bourbon street and the French Quarter. Definatly recommend this hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank langlish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2009

We stayed two nights at the Country Inn & Suites in early April as a weekend getaway. It's located just 2.5 blocks off Canal street, which will get you anywhere in the French Quarter you want to go. We literally handed our keys to the valet when we arrived on Friday afternoon and walked everywhere until we checked out on Sunday morning.

Check-in was easy and the lobby area is nice and bright. You pass the bar and little breakfast eating area on the way to the elevators, making it convenient. (Free breakfast in the mornings, which would be great if you were pinching pennies or with a family. We chose to eat out both mornings, so I can't speak to the quality of the food.) There's also a small courtyard just off this area with tables and chairs and a small plunge pool. From what they told us, the hotel is made up of several old warehouse buildings renovated to make one big CI&S -- which made it a tad confusing to find our room, but the cleaning lady pointed us in the right direction.

The rooms, although not overly large, were perfect for our needs (and clean!) -- just a place to leave our suitcases, shower and sleep. We were on the back side of the hotel so our room looked out over the valet lot and some apartment buildings, but when you're in the middle of the city, you can't expect much more than that. The bathroom was just fine as well.

We booked our room for $120 a night, which was a good deal for the quality of the overall hotel and the rooms, especially being so close to the Quarter. Everything in the Quarter that I saw was much more expensive. This hotel is a great choice if you're not dead-set on being in the Quarter and you need something affordable. We'd definitely stay here again on a trip back.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TxAggieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2009

We chose this place to stay in / near the French Quarter after reading some great reviews on it and we can't help but agree with them! We ended up staying there for less than $99 per night for 3 days before we left on a cruise. At the end of our trip, we -without a doubt- thought our 3 days in New Orleans was the best part!! This hotel is not technically in the French Quarter, but is only a block or so away. We walked EVERYWHERE, and being a self-proclaimed complainer, I'm telling you it wasn't bad at all =) Unfortunately we did not have the opportunity to utilize much of the hotel's amenities, but the services we did use were great (very cleanly, complimentary breakfast was ok, front desk was very accommodating in our room requests, they serve cookies upon your check-in). Overall, this hotel is very charming and highly recommended (especially for the price!) in my opinion.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sarahnolan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

I thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. It was right off the main street and still quiet enough to enjoy a good nights rest. The staff was extremely helpful with reservations for local tours. The place was clean and the breakfast was more than what was expected. Fresh and hot. I would go back again and again!

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmidmi54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

My wife and I stayed here with 2 other couples for 3 nights during first weekend of Jazzfest 2009 and we had a nice stay. This was our 2nd time staying here so we knew what to expect. Check in was easy and they honored my request for room and location in the front of the hotel. The suites here have very high ceilings with corresponding windows...nice view. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly and the location on Magazine is perfect for us since it is close the FQ but far enough away to avoid the crazy crowd. The breakfast area was overwhelmed at peak times since the hotel was filled but they did their best. The only negative is that our party of six had a bad experience with John the bartender...he was very rude and sarcastic to a friend of ours....really out of place and hard to believe but I saw it myself. If it had been me, I would have made a big deal about it with management since it was so rude but my friend simply ignored it and we did not use the small hotel bar from that point forward. Overall I like this hotel and it's location and I would return again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Wife was in New Orleans last May for a conference and wanted me to go see it. Friends were going in July 2009 so we made arrangements to meet them for half of the week they were there. Booked this hotel for a good price and seemed near Bourbon Street. It was quite simply perfect for us ... a couple blocks to Canal Street and a couple more to Bourbon all in a livele and safe walking area. We also walked to the river and casion comfortably. Great breakfast bar/buffet included in the hotel price and good to soak up the prior nights alcohol. Service was wonderful and the littel hotel bar was nice. It was very relaxing to come back to after a loud night on Bourbon Street. The price for the quality can not be beat. You can pay a lot more to stay on Bourbon Street but why?

We had options of where to stay on Canal (Marriot or Sheraton) for my wife's conference in June this year and thankfully knew that this littel gem of a hotel was right around the corner from those two conference hotels .... paid a bunch less and know exactly what a great deal we will be getting.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TopekaTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#43 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing