We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Clean Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #43 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2011

We stayed for 5 nights when we visited New Orleans recently. We had a one bedroom suite which was quite roomy and clean. The furniture & carpeting is a bit tired but otherwise, comfortable. My son used the pull out sofa in the livingroom and said it was comfy - which is sometimes a challenge with pullouts. My only complaint about the room is that the bedroom did not have a window. There was a window in the livingroom that opened up onto the hallway, and unless you wanted to see guests walking by your room, you had to keep the curtains closed, so very little natural light. The breakfast room was well stocked with the usuals (cereal, waffles, breads, coffee, juices, etc.). No other restaurant on the premise but there was a bar if you wanted a drink or wanted to bring something up to the room. It's located just outside of the French quarter - about a 5 - 10 min walk from all the sights - but this also meant you were away from all the noise and revellrey of Bourbon Street et. al. which for us, was perfect. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would consider this chain again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livetotravelToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ernest007, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2011

Thank you so much for the positive comments about the hotel . We do appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay and would reccommend the hotel to others and stay with Country Inns again.We will pass the comments to all the staff members so they can know what an excellent job they are doing. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,985 - 2,991 of 3,525 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2011

My husband and I went to NOLA for the Sugar Bowl, and the CI&S was in a decent location. We were only 2 blocks from Harrah's Casino, and a few more to Canal and Bourban Street. We did not have a rental car, and walked everywhere we went. We never felt like we were missing out on anything because it was in a great location.

The hotel was clean, but our room was so small. I really don't know how they got a king sized bed in our hotel room. It was a very cramped room, but it was at a good price. Plus, the breakfast was good and free!

I'd stay there again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLSG6807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ernest007, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2011

Thank you very much for the kind words . We appreciate your comments and will pass them to all the staff members so they can be happy you enjoyed your stay during the Sugar Bowl. We thank you for your business and hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We made reservations for a room with two beds through Priceline. When we arrived after an eight hour drive, the "very snooty" clerk advised me that they had no rooms with two beds and since we had made our reservations through a third party we had to take whatever they wanted to give us. I threatened to leave, and she came up with an "upgrade" to a room with a king bed and sofa bed. Thinking we had no choice except to find another hotel, I took it. When we got to the room, the sofa bed pull out was junk, not close to being something on which I would willingly sleep. I called Priceline, they called the hotel. By this time, a new clerk was working the desk. He offered to move us to a room with two beds, which we gladly accepted. The beds in the new rooms were more comfortable than the soft bed, but the room stank of urine and seemed like it had not been cleaned in weeks. We stayed because we had prepaid and because we were so tired and hungry by then that finding another room was just too much stress. When I told the desk about the smell, they gave me a can of air freshener.

We were on a 20 day trip and made many reservations through Priceline. This was the only one that gave us problems. We had also stayed in Country Inn and Suites in other cities with no problems. However, after this experience, we will never stay in one again. To make matter worse, when we got home we discovered they had double charged us for the room. Still trying to resolve that problem.

Note: Thanks to Frank, the clerk who tried to solve our problem, and for recommending a really good restaurant for our first meal in New Orleans.

I have been looking forward to this trip to New Orleans for years, and only his action saved it from being a total bummer. Too bad all the employees at this hotel don't have his customer service skills.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JudithBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ernest007, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2011

We apologize for the unfortunate incident that occured during your travels. I assure you that these comments will be taken into consideration asap. The hotel staff will be informed and the issues will be addressed and corrective actions will be implemented . Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule and informing the hotel of your stay with us .
Again please accept our sincere apologies and in hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

At first, looks like nothing to be in love with: the ceilings are not perfect, far not: very high, and not to be impressed with. Small hall. However, the room was just what we needed. Kids were separated, had TV; bathroom (good size bath tub, all plumbing - perfect, many towels, all neat, fresh) - between us and them. We had no window, but it was kind of unique... and just right. we had no alarm, we slept like KINGS. Huge bed, nice bedding, and something fantastic about the matrass... Air was good, easy to change temperature. Kids went to the hot tub outside, but it was not really hot. A guy at the dest was helpful, sent us to Mother's. It is kind of a restaurant, but more like an eatery. However, tasty! Gumbo - nice, and Jambalaya. We enjoyed. Unexpensive, and still something to remember. CHeck their website for recepies. Mothers in New Orleans. It was not neat at all, not clean (the restaurant), but we wanted something fast and easy, but not McD... and we got the real food.
The same guy lied to us once, but for to make business... so I forgive him and make the service rating to be 4 from 5. What the lie was about? About the taxi. They have fixed rates around the city (as airport to hotel and back, and from hotel to cruise). Some idiots think that only rich people can cruise. Wrong. We are on the budget, but we cruise (4 people for $2K, tax included, 7 nights cruise, NCL! check for offers). It is cheaper than to stay in a hotel and buy food. So, about taxi. They charge 11 dollars/ person... for the trip that less than 1 mile. Good that we check maps. We walked there with suitcases just 15 minutes... Saved close to 50 bucks. Keep in mind that hotels make money on taxi (regular price from there to the cruises is $7/person). Hope, it helps. Ah, we also had microwave, ref. It helps. And their breakfast was OUTSTANDING. Sausages, scramble eggs, pancakes (make yourself)! Amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siuska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ernest007, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2011

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a good review about the Country Inn & Suites Hotel New Orleans French Quarter. We appreciate the great comments about the complimentary breakfast and the comfortable mattresses. We will share your remarks with our staff . I am sure they will be delighted to her you enjoyed your stay in New Orleans.We hope you can visit us again in the future.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

This is your average corporate hotel. Nothing bad to say. Good, clean room that had a fridge and microwave. Nice place to stay in that it is only 2 blocks from the Quarter. Room was a tad small and the building it is located in is very old. Not much of a view from the window but, really in New Orleans how much time are you spending in your room anyway? It served its purpose and the concierge in front was very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10withamop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ernest007, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2011

Thank you for taking time to write a good review about the Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter Hotel located in Downtown Historical Buildings .Thanks for mentioning the new fridge and microwaves in every room we just received them. We will share the positive comments with the staff and I know they will be happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope you can return and visit with us again.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We were three guys looking for a suite with two beds and a sofabed. I looked everywhere and based on regularly being in the top 15 reviewed hotels in New Orleans on Tripadvisor (and after reading reviews on several other websites), plus it's location, I picked the Country Inn & Suites.

The lobby is very pretty. Everyone at the front desk were professional and friendly. The breakfast buffet was slightly above average for a free hotel bkfst, but the staff tried to clear it before the closing time and seemed put off when anyone asked for something already put away.

PROBLEMS:
1) This is a historic warehouse building. I was expecting a room with character, but got what looked like a typical budget hotel room.
2) The living room had no exterior window and the bedroom had a tiny window that didn't open so the room was dark.
3) While the beds were great, the sleeper sofa was terrible.
4) OK, how to say this? When any of us pooped, the toilet got stuffed. No matter how little nor if we even gave a courtesy flush. We called the front desk and someone would come up with a plunger or snake. THIS HAPPENED EVERY TIME!!!!

THREE PEOPLE HAD TO LIVE IN A DARK ROOM THAT SMELLED LIKE FECES FOR DAYS!!!!

They were going to move us after 2 days but maintenance said there was no need because he was going to snake the toilet while we were out. It didn't help and we twice had a stuffed toilet the last 24 hours. THAT'S GROSS!!! Finally, we tried to use the lobby toilet but it was also clogged at the time.

We complained repeatedly and there was no offer of compensation and barely an apology. How can a hotel let there guests live this way? It's inexcusable!

SHAME ON THE COUNTRY INN & SUITES.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank denverroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 January 2011

We are very sorry about your experience and as you can see from most reviews on Tripadvisor about us, your experience was far from the normal. We pride ourselves as having one of the best customer service employee teams in New Orleans as well as one of the best properties in New Orleans. Please allow us to correct our errors. Give us a call at 504-342-2308 and ask for our Assistant GM, Ione Hughes. She will be happy to do whatever she can to rectify your encounter to the best of her ability.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

This hotel was amazing from the first second to the very last. The service was the picture of southern hospitality. The location was amazing! in the northwest corner of the French Quarter. This was super close to the main large street to get out of town easily or see the other parts of New Orleans very easily. But it was also within a five minute walk from the heart of the French Quarter such as Bourbon street, Canal street, and the Mississippi River. The service at this hotel was top notch! All of the employees were super friendly, all the way down to the housekeeper who stopped cleaning the stairway so she could assist my four year old daughter down the stairs since her hands were full and couldn't grab the railing and was apparently timid to go down the stairs; my hands were full as well so I could not help my daughter. The housekeeper stopped what she was doing and came up the stairs, placed an arm around my daughter and led her down the rest of the steps. The continental breakfast was splendid, though I was surprised to not see eggs of any kind at the breakfast, but everything that was there was just wonderful. The room was small but didn't feel that way. The view was nothing to speak of; just the ally and building behind the hotel but what else is to be expected from a room in the French Quarter. When we arrived the valet staff was very helpful and gave us a wealth of information to answer just one question of where to park. They do only have valet parking but it was very reasonable in price, $12 a day. They also informed us that they would be able to get the car for us in 15-20 minutes whenever we need it just as long as we call from our room to have them pull it around. The valet also offered to hold our bags for us while we enjoyed the French Quarter in case our room wasn't ready yet when we first arrived. The room was received at a spectacular rate especially considering we reserved it mere hours before arriving since we had only been in New Orleans because we were diverted from our original destination. The first night our airline put us up in the Double Tree hotel next to the airport which was a very expensive room and my friend and I both feel the room at Country Inn and Suites was equal is not better than the Double Tree room(even though they had sleep number beds). I am very eager t go back to New Orleans so that I can enjoy the Country Inn and Suites again. It was such a wonderful experience that I cannot wait to experience again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MayMama514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcamp4, Sales Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We take pride in making each guest stay a great one. I'll be certain to share your comments with the entire staff. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to your return visit to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2424
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £90 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation and expansion; due to reopen in late 2017. With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing