We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$377
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$432
US$400
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$282
US$208
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
New Orleans Marriott(New Orleans)
US$271
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
French Market Inn(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$242
US$237
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$331
US$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
176
48
6
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
48
6
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubb bfun neighborhoodfrench quarterfrenchman streetshared bathroommarigny districtswimming poolfew blockssafe neighborhoodhome away from homenice poola great place to staymardi grasan easy walkdefinitely stay here againnola
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Everything about this B&B is lovely. The rooms (our group was in 1, A, B, and D) were cozy and comfortable. Room A, in particular, was much bigger then it appeared in the pictures on the website.

The hosts were sweet and accommodating, the patio and pool area a welcome respite on the warm afternoons.

I have nothing negative to say about our stay, at all!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorothymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Lion's Inn Bed & Breakfast provided clean functional lodging for part of my stay in New Orleans while attending the Tennessee Williams Festival. It was also very affordable in a city that CAN be very expensive. Floyd McLamb puts out a generous and healthy cold breakfast (plus coffee and tea) and is a very welcoming, relaxed and informed host. There's a lovely garden and pool which must be a haven on very hot days. It's also just a beautiful house to spend some time in. Thanks to Floyd and Ed .... Steven Bush

Room Tip: Note that Room D - where I stayed - is VERY cosy: If you're very tall or wide or tend to claustrophobia, pick another room.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 734Marrion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

It was a great location. Wish we could've stayed longer and enjoyed the perks of a B&B. We have never been to one and we had a great time. We were able to make breakfastone morning and it was very nice. We were able to meet other guests and chat for a while. We unfortunatley never made the wine and cheese hour. Floyd was always there and very very nice. He had plenty of stories to share. We stayed in Room C. It has two quuen beds that are comfortable, a ceiling fan (a must for me) and great a/c. I will caution, the stairs are very very steep. The ONLY complaint, and it was lisited with someone else, was the bars of soap were extremely small. I understand wanting to save on it but they were small. One bar lasted one shower for two people. Close enough to the french quarter yet far anough away from the noise. Again, was very nice and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Room C is a nice room, two queen beds. Howver, very steep stairs to get there, but well worth it
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flipper13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed in Room #3 (two twin beds) with my septuagenarian father. The room and bathroom (private, but across the hall) were adequate, the AC and fan worked well, and we enjoyed our visit. Only complaints: the shower soaps were ridiculously small and unusable, so we had to buy our own. Also, the armoire door didn't stay completely closed and would easily just completely open up. Finally, our room faced Chartres, and cars and voices of passersby at night sometimes interrupted sleep, as did the extremely noisy garbage collectors early on Monday morning. However, the property's location was perfect - not too far from the French Quarter (about a mile to get well into it) and close to the great restaurants and bars/musical establishments on Frenchman. We both found shuttles from/to the airport. Mine actually dropped me off right at the B&B - NOLAairportshuttle (Reece/Reese was very friendly). Finally, Floyd was a good host, and we met a few other guests who were quite friendly. Overall, a great time in New Orleans with the Lions Inn as a good base for our stay.

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms #2 and #3, as they're right on Chartres, unless you stay out pretty late (past midnight/1am) and/or are a heavy sleeper.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thunderable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The Lion's Inn is in a great location. Walking distance to Frenchman, away from the nuttiness of the French Quarter. The property itself is lovely, especially the garden/pool area. Free use of bicycles is also a great perk. And Floyd is certainly one of a kind!!! My only complaint was that our room, which was very nice, was underneath another room, and when the guests came home after a night of partying two night in a row, it was VERY loud. It seemed like they were dropping things on the floor. Of course this is not something the management can prevent-just a heads up when booking a room hee.
Overall an awesome experience!

Room Tip: Try to get the room by the pool-it looked wonderful!!!!!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews