We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even special Needs will be fulfilled”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #34 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Even special Needs will be fulfilled”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I agree with the other, very positive reviews! It is a safe, nice, comfortable, friendly, perfect place - and the garden with pool and Jacuzzi is a Little paradise in New Orleans! I recommend to everybody to go there. Since I needed glutenfree bread I asked for it - the next day I got three sorts (!!) for reasons of variety :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    46
    6
    6
    8
See reviews for
31
95
42
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We wanted to be outside the French Quarter, but near enough to walk. This was really great value. We had rooms B,C, & D, taking over the 2nd floor, which worked well for our group. The place is very low-key and laid-back. The neighborhood is quiet and comfortable. We would go out for the day, regroup at 5 for wine and cheese, a swim and interesting chats with fellow travelers, then go out for dinner, drinks and music on Frenchmen Street for the evening. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennisec3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

A very reasonably price B&B. Room had everything I needed (room B) and sharing the bathroom was not a problem, especially as there was a door to it inside my room, so once I locked the hall door it was almost en-suite! Ed is the perfect host, and the free cheese and wine hour was a great way to talk to fellow travelers. Walking distance to most places. Beware the taxi drivers.......as in most tourist places they are ready to rip you off! Streetcar is 2 blocks away at the end of the French Market and $3 will get you a pass to use all day, including the St. Charles streetcar.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAUITRAVELER2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We're not B&B people, so we really appreciated the owner's quieter style. There's a little chit chat with breakfast and the wine and cheese hour, but if you want to be on your own you can. The garden and pool area is awesome and provides a good break from the craziness outside. This is a great spot if you're good with walking - the French Quarter isn't far and if you're into the hipper Frenchman or St Claude those are right there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed in room C with 2 double beds because I wanted a private bath. It was on the 2nd floor of the residence. It was very roomy and a large bathroom area as well.
I really enjoyed the back yard due to all the foliage. It also had a pool, hot tub, and a pond with a bench to sit and relax. Breakfast was simple but a nice touch, bagels, toast, fruit, oatmeal, coffee and juice. There was also a wine/cheese hour from 5-6 pm. Which was a great time to mingle with the other guests. There were guests from Australia and Hawaii.
Only thing is that if you are a light sleeper I would suggest a different room because you are above the main residence so you hear the doorbells and phone ringing. This was not a problem for me but if this is for you I would suggest a room in the house next door.
Another good note... we were a couple blocks from the streetcar on the riverfront. Look at the map because it is kinda hidden.
All in all we had a great time and would stay again.

Room Tip: Look to get a room in the home next to main residence if you are a light sleeper. We had room C whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I came to Nawlins for a birthday get-a-way, and booked this BB the night before. What attracted me to this BB was that it had a budget-friendly room for the average passerby, which was me and that was for only $60. Surprisingly when I got checked in and was shown my room, I was upgraded to the room across the hall which was bigger and more space. That was an automatic plus. I had no problems with the proprietor as many have after reading several of the poor reviews. He helped me by allowing me to print off my tickets for the football game. The pool and hot tub were cool although I didn't use either because I was out on the town, I would've loved to, maybe next time. The location isn't PERFECT, due to parking and the 15-20 minute walk to the quarter, which I'm not complaining, but the location is ok. Overall I give this place a solid B. I wouldn't mind returning in the near future.

Room Tip: All upstairs rooms have to share a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uriah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My sisters and several other friends and family stayed for a long weekend at the Lions Inn B&B, and it was terrific. Rooms were lovely, the pool was great, and the wine and cheese (and soft drinks) in the evenings was a nice break in the day. As some have noted, the food was not fancy (no beignets, chicory coffee, omelets, quiches, etc.), but that worked well for the group.
Chatres Street is a great location, we walked into the French Quarter and back a couple of times a day, including after dark, with no concerns.
It was a great value for our group. Thanks!

Room Tip: Whichever room you're in, keep the AC on and the door closed if it's warm outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#41 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#6 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Maison de Macarty
Maison de Macarty
#26 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#40 of 138 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Blue60 Guest House
Blue60 Guest House
#15 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2517 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70117-8608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lions Inn Bed And Breakfast
Lions Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing