We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #38 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Poughkeepsie, NY
113
Reviewed 18 May 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Lion's Inn during this years JazzFest. It just so happend to be my birthday during my stay here, and I was greeted with a special birthday breakfast muffin that had a birthday candle in it! That was just the beginning of the most amazing vacation of my life. The Lions Inn lets you experience New Orleans to the fullest. Not only is it within very safe walking distance of the French Quarter, it is located in a wonderful area called the Fauberg Marigny, which is a friendly, and active, creative community within New Orleans. It was a magical experience - the owners and visitors at the Lions Inn made this trip truly amazing. Please take a look at the photos I have posted of the wonderful dog Bubba, the beautiful foliage, and fish pond.
Thank you Lions Inn!

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 241 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
London UK
29
Reviewed 11 April 2005

Stuart & Floyd run this inn so that the warmth of their welcome stays with you for months afterwards. The 10 rooms are all clean and made individual with antique furniture. The semi-tropical garden with its swimming pool, hot tub and breakfast patio is the centre of the community that the owners create. This is all done effortlessly so that many guests leave convinced that happiness is running a bed and breakfast. The location in the Marigny means you are in a quieter district than the French Quarter but a short walk and you are in the excitement that the centre of New Orleans has to offer. The room rates will make this a good value holiday as well.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington, D.C.
19
Reviewed 16 March 2005

My boyfriend and I spent a week in the Lions Inn Bed and Breakfast, and it is now the only place we'll stay in New Orleans! The rooms were comfortable and well-kept, and the price was very reasonable. The service was absolutely phenomenal. The owners were quick to offer us help with anything we needed, such as breakfast in the morning and directions to places nearby. They were always extremely friendly and made our stay much more pleasant. There is a pool and a hot tub outside, both well-kept, that we were able to use at any time of the day. They also had a fridge filled with drinks for people of all ages to consume. I felt extremely safe there, and extremely welcome. I HIGHLY recommend this bed and breakfast for anyone traveling in New Orleans. It is about 5 blocks from the French Quarter.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Maple Valley, WA
18
Reviewed 16 March 2005

Behind the gate of Lion's Inn, guests will find a lush tropical garden surrounding a giant swimming pool and jacuzzi. Typically Bubba will check out who is coming through the gate to make sure you "belong" there. He's quite a friendly dog, taking after his masters, Stuart and Floyd, the owners of the establishment. Their friendly smiles and graciousness give real meaning to the term "southern hospitality". Always ready to have the morning coffee ready for the earliest of risers and the evening wine and cheese party is simply a delight; mixing with other guests, the hosts and some of their friends. Whether it be the "hubbub" of the French Quarter or a restful time around the swimming pool you are seeking, the proximity of Lion's Inn to the French Quarter, and the friendliness of the hosts should make this Inn a well sought-after "home away from home".

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
17
Reviewed 8 March 2005

More like visitng family or friends than renting a room. The friendliness was fabulous, but hard to describe; it was hard to differentiate between the hosts, their extended family of friends, and the paying guests! My wife & I really liked the homey feel. Three dogs, too, including an ancient dachshund resembling a walking liverwurst.
We were there in late Feb 2005, post-Mardi Gras. Every morning we'd breakfast on the patio, with whoever else was awake, then head to the French Quarter for the day. After dinner we'd return, chat with whomever was around, and eventually end up in the hot tub. Our last night we brough Po' Boys home, and ate them on the patio; a few others (a mix of guests & staff & friends) ordered out.
Our host, Stuart, was incredibly accomodating and friendly; so were his extended family & friends, who dropped over to help out, and stayed to chat, cook, clean up, open the wine, etc. There are a few bicycles you can borrow, if you want to tour the area.
Absolutely a wonderful time. We are planning a return trip, with friends.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2004

The most exquisite Bed and Breakfast you will ever find and just minutes from Bourbon street. It's an alternative, clothing optional accommodation, but clean, well maintained and managed by a staff who epitomize the art of being a real 'host" You will judge other accommodations by this 'homely" B&B. The paradise like gardens, a beautiful clean pool and a great jacuzzi add a nice touch. Their wine and cheese party each evening is a blast!

12  Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: deux chambres donnent sur la piscine et le très joli jardin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avage75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#42 of 141 in New Orleans
287 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Barracks Guest House
Royal Barracks Guest House
#37 of 141 in New Orleans
177 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
#19 of 141 in New Orleans
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
Tremé
Inn at the Old Jail
Inn at the Old Jail
#50 of 141 in New Orleans
10 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2517 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70117-8608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £100 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lions Inn is located in Historic Fauborg Marigny, which is adjacent to the French Quarter area, near Frenchman Street, where the Jazz Clubs, Bars and restaurants begin, and a short walk will take you to the center of the French Quarter. The property boasts beautiful gardens, pool and patio area, often referred to as an oasis. We invite you to truly understand what makes this property special and to come experience it for yourself. Enjoy meeting, and talking with our guests from all over the world. Local dining, and civic activities, tour and travel. The area historic, and has many beautiful old homes bordering the Esplanade Avenue area, which is close to the French Quarter. The area is safe, and quiet a refuge from the hustle and bustle of the downtown and French Quarter areas. Enjoy a nearby Dinner ((1 (ONE) minute walk)) at the beautiful Feelings Cafe, before a stroll through the lively streets everyday/night of the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lions Inn Bed And Breakfast
Lions Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing