We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable, good location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New Orleans East
Ranked #128 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, good location and value”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Newly refurbished, great staff and very good value especially given the stay was over thanksgiving. We had 2 rooms next to each other as we had requested. Rooms as presented online and convenient to access downtown New Orleans by car. A little too far to walk but next to a bus stop if you didn't want to use your car. Not a vibrant area and close to major road. However noise from the road. Definitely a place to stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stroopwafel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    59
    28
    10
    15
See reviews for
43
47
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We were extremely pleased with our stay. The staff was pleasant, engaging, and friendly during our entire stay. Karayann and Tamecia were superstars over the phone - very patient and helpful. Tamecia was pleasant and professional upon our arrival. She made our check-in a breeze. Kia answered all of our questions regarding dining and nightlife. Comfortable mattress and pillows. Thick towels and washcloths. Breakfast was hot and filling, there was a nice selection of everything, even later in the serving times. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

My only complaint: holiday rate hike - I paid $681.00 for July 4 - 7.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayceeSuede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson MS
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

You get a somewhat smaller than average bedroom and a somewhat larger than average bathroom. In the bedroom you have a good quality, comfortable mattress, 4 lamps, and a sitting chair that my husband found comfortable enough. I say "BYOP" for "bring your own pillow" just because I can't use the thick pillows that are popular almost every where we go.

In the bathroom you have good lighting, a toilet with a lid you can close, and a shower with 2 shelves for your shampoo and soap. If you like the "gentle rain" kind of shower you'll love the shower. There is a grab bar outside the shower but would be nice if there was a grab bar inside too. The shower curtain bar is mounted too high to stop water from getting out on the floor so watch your step getting out.

If you don't mind driving across Ponchartain every time you want to get to the French Quarter this is a great choice. It's really not a bad drive and this location felt much safer than the other ones I looked at that were a little closer in. They have eggs, bacon, cereal, bagels, biscuits, and some awesome cinnamon rolls for breakfast. The staff is friendly and professional.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmc223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonewall, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this Holiday Inn Express. The location (although in a run-down area) was fairly new and everything was as it should be at a H.I. - Good rate for New Orleans, and the breakfast was top notch. This location is convenient and took us only a few minutes to get to any place in the N.O. area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallyg416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I moved to this hotel after an overpriced stay in the French Quarter Marriott. This hotel was a great value in an expensive town for hotels. It is away from the sites, so you need to have a car to visit the French Quarter, Garden District, etc. But the hotel was spotless, and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinaventurera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karayan W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New Orleans East, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Dear Tinaventurera,

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete this review. We are overjoyed to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.The fact that you were pleased with the hotels cleanliness and service is very rewarding, as our goal is to create great hotels guest love. If you are ever in the New Orleans area again, please come back to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
429 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This hotel is located out of the Central Business District and French Quarter but is a wonderful option for those passing through or who don’t mind the short drive to the sites. The location is wonderful, right next to a very nice neighborhood. No big city feel here but more suburban. The parking was great and the staff very helpful. I was surprised that my room (408) was quite small. No real room for the suitcase rack without making it difficult to walk around. For one person, this works. For two with more luggage, it will be tough. I did appreciate that this property has upgraded to the Bath and Body products. A nice addition to the HIE standards. The price is more than some but not bad at all for being in New Orleans. The breakfast was standard but there was ample fresh fruit and a nice selection of everything even later in the serving times.

Room Tip: If you are a solo traveler, you will be fine. If you have two or more people, check to make sure yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnjoyTravelAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karayan W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New Orleans East, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Dear EnjoyTravelAlways,

First, I'd like to thank you for providing us with such positive feedback. I am very pleased to hear that you found our staff accommodating, enjoyed breakfast , parking, and the location was convenient for you during your travels. I am sorry that you experienced a bit of discomfort with the size of your room. Although 95% of your stay seems to have gone smoothly, the other 5% is equally as important to us. Your next visit to New Orleans , please let me know and I will make sure we get you a room that is comfortable for your party.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My bf and I stayed in this hotel last month. Neither of us had ever been to NOLA so we were clueless about everything. Walked in to a very clean lobby and friendly staff We checked in with ease and got to our room. My only complaint was that we were given a smoking room and I prefer a non-smoking. But my bf smokes so it worked out. The front desk clerk, Kia went above and beyond her call of duty. She did everything except hold our hand to inform us of what things to do and how to get there. Even making sure we had her number in case we had trouble. We were extremely pleased with our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kreed77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karayan W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New Orleans East, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Dear Kreed77,

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to complete this review. We love getting feedback from our guest! I am ecstatic to hear that your stay with us was "wonderful". Our front desk staff is here to provide assistance with whatever you may need. I am thrilled to hear that Kia exceeded your expectations, I will pass this along to the staff. Please accept my apology for not providing you with your preferred room type. If you are in the New Orleans area again, please come back to visit and we will do our absolute best to ensure everything is perfect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#109 of 161 in New Orleans
138 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#95 of 161 in New Orleans
188 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#72 of 161 in New Orleans
1,217 reviews
Central Business District
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New Orleans East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New Orleans East

Property: Holiday Inn Express New Orleans East
Address: 7049 Bullard Ave, New Orleans, LA 70128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express New Orleans East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new Holiday Inn Express Hotel located minutes from downtown New Orleans. This New Orleans hotel offer features and comfort of home while away on business or for pleasure. We can host your small corporate meeting in our meeting facility while offering a business center with free high speed Internet access. After enjoying beignets at Cafe Du Monde in the French Quarter work off some calories in our fitness center. Relax and unwind at our outdoor swimming pool. Come visit our hotel for one of the many events held in this wonderful city such as Jazz Festival, Mardi Gras, Essence Festival, Sugar Bowl or Bayou Classic. Our business travelers love the complimentary deluxe continental breakfast before heading to one of the local companies such as Delgado Fire School or NASA Michoud to name a couple. Our leisure travelers enjoy the short distance to Bourbon Street, Aquarium of the Americas or Six Flags theme park.Each guestroom and suite offer free local telephone calls, free wired high-speed Internet access and micro-fridge. Our hotel lobby has free wireless Internet access for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New Orleans East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New Orleans East Hotel New Orleans
Holiday Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing