We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Bywater BnB”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
Ranked #18 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant Bywater BnB”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

It’s a bed and breakfast with character, one that Kelly and Mark inherited when they bought the property, and which they have nurtured and gilded, the well-kept pool and cabana area that we sit in now being just the start. The colourful frontage peeks out from behind a lush tropical garden, and it’s a great-looking house with splashes of reds and regal whites. The four suites inside were themed before Kelly and Mark took over, and they decided to keep them as they were.Everything in my bathroom felt like it was of impressive quality, and there are no signs of skimping on the amenities. This is a guest house without the breakfast facilities (for now) but since you’re in the right place for some great neighbourhood eating options, it’s not a problem. And you can make your own coffee to get you started. The Bywater gets hit with accusations of pretension all the time, so it’s reassuring to find this delightfully fun but really down to earth place. It feels local and it’s far from a cookie-cutter experience. It even feels (whisper it) local. In all the best ways. - See more at: http://www.shandypockets.com/the-lookout-inn.html#sthash.48s4Y9uM.dpuf

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shandypockets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly R, Owner at Lookout Inn of New Orleans, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hey Paul,
I can't thank you enough for your beautiful review of The Lookout. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay in the Mardi Gras Suite and enjoyed our pool and patio area. We're glad you experienced the Bywater neighborhood and appreciate your recommendations to our future guests. We can't wait to welcome you again!

Best,

Kelly & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
56
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We had an itch to get back to Nola, so we took a quick trip two weekends before Mardi Gras. The rate was right, rooms are clean and the area is safe. The Lookout is a perfect choice if you're looking for a real taste of New Orleans off the beaten path.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly R, Owner at Lookout Inn of New Orleans, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hi Ben,
Thanks for taking the time to post a review about your stay at The Lookout. We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your suite and our local area just before the Mardi Gras festivities began. We look forward to future visit.

Best,

Kelly & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesquite, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

What a great place to spend a NOLA vacation. We rented the entire house for our annual get together and I could not asked for anything more. Coffee in the hot tub to start the day. Cold beer in the fridge in the afternoon. Jack Dempsey's restaurant across the street to satisfy the soul. Our hosts Kelly and Mark were there, yet invisible and steered us in all the right directions. The rooms are all huge with an enormous bathroom and loved the decor. We will be back!!

Room Tip: I loved the Bali-wood suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McHosers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly R, Owner at Lookout Inn of New Orleans, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hey there!
Thank you for your review. We are so glad that our inn was the perfect location for your annual get together. We are also glad you took advantage of our pool and hot tub area as well as Jack Dempsey's, just down the street! We can't wait for your return!

All the best,

Kelly & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Some friends and I rented all four rooms of this great inn for four nights. The rooms are more like suites with a large living room in each. They are all themed very tastefully. Check out their website pictures for the whole story. The salt water pool, hot tub, cabana and pool house complete the package. It's like your own oasis. We've rented other homes and hotels around NOLA but this place and the neighborhood really made our trip. Elizabeth's for breakfast, Jack Dempsey's Restaurant, The Bacchanal courtyard wine bar for great food, wine & cheese, JB's live music (in the Barmuda Triangle) meant we didn't have to leave the neighborhood if we didn't want to. Kelly and Mark(?) are great hosts.

Room Tip: Bollywood and Mardi Gras suites are first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly R, Owner at Lookout Inn of New Orleans, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hey Justin,
Thank you for your very thorough review of The Lookout. We are so glad you enjoyed our inn, the spacious suites, patio area and our neighborhood. You guys definitely hit some great restaurants, between Elizabeth's and Jack Dempsey's; we're lucky to have them so close by! We look forward to hosting you again!

Best,

Kelly & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We love the Lookout Inn.This is our fourth time staying there and it always makes our New Orleans experience a great one.The rooms are spacious,clean,very comfortable and very unique in their decor.The location is great,just a very short drive to the French Quarter.We can walk to bars and restaurants if we wish to .My husband is very pleased that there is great wifi and I am very pleased that there is a coffee maker in the rooms! We always travel with our little scottie dog who is welcomed there as well.Thankyou Kelly and Mark for a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly R, Owner at Lookout Inn of New Orleans, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hi Cindy,
I can't thank you enough for your review and for your repeat business! We are so glad you continue coming back and enjoy the suites and amenities at The Lookout. I can't wait to welcome you, your husband and Kilts again on your next visit with us.

All the best,

Kelly & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Plainfield, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My wife and I booked all four suites at the Lookout Inn for family attending our daughter's wedding in November 2013. The suites are large & comfortable with all the amenities. Each suite was decorated according to a theme. The outdoor bar, spa, pool and seating areas added to the comfort of our family. Kelly and Mark were the most gracious and helpful hosts. There was ample parking directly in front. The Inn is located in the gentrified, up & coming Bywater District near great restaurants and bars. It is also close to the French Quarter. This is not a foo-foo, pretentious B&B, it is an Inn. Coffee and tea were always available at the bar. A great place to get a feel for and experience the real New Orleans. We are recommending the Lookout Inn to all our friends. We will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are decorated according to a theme. Mardi Gras & Bollywood on the first floor, Mission...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly R, Owner at Lookout Inn of New Orleans, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hey Walt!
Thank you so much for your review of The Lookout. We are thrilled that our inn was the perfect accommodation for your family and friends who traveled to New Orleans for your daughter's wedding. We're glad you took advantage of our pool, hot tub and patio as well as the other amenities we offer. Please give us a call when you come back to town. We'd love to see you guys!

All the best,

Kelly & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We rented all 4 suites for our extended family and the rooms were very spacious and comfortable. It is nice to be able to park right in front of our house and walk to interesting bars and restaurants. A bike is great to bring to get around on or drive part of the way to the French Quarter and walk the rest of the way. We have an air conditioner/heater in every room as well as mini fridge. We will definitely be back. The only negative which isn't a negative for us is the close proximity to the train tracks. Our son loves watching trains from the bathroom windows. I like hearing trains pass by but this could bother some. They don't blow the horns but you can hear them pass by.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pizzalover245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly R, Owner at Lookout Inn of New Orleans, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hi there!
Thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Lookout. I'm so glad you found our inn convenient in terms of parking and accessible to nearby bars and restaurants. Biking really is a great way to get around NOLA; I'm glad it worked for you guys. Your family were fantastic guests and we'd love to have you back!

All the best,

Kelly & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#35 of 138 in New Orleans
231 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 138 in New Orleans
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 138 in New Orleans
749 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 138 in New Orleans
170 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Maison de Macarty
Maison de Macarty
#26 of 138 in New Orleans
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lookout Inn of New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Inn of New Orleans

Property: Lookout Inn of New Orleans
Address: 833 Poland Ave, New Orleans, LA 70117-4783
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lookout Inn of New Orleans 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laid-back luxury in the Bywater neighborhood of New Orleans. Four meticulously-renovated suites include private entrances, baths & living rooms, queen beds & sleeper sofas. The backyard paradise with a saltwater cocktail pool & hot tub, cabana with wet bar & bathroom is perfect for small parties, casual meetings or romance. Employees disappear unless called upon so with only 4 suites, guests often feel they have the "place to themselves". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Lookout Inn of New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout Inn Of New Orleans Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing