We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting drive!”
Review of Lake Pontchartrain

Lake Pontchartrain
Book In Advance
More Info
US$44.00*
and up
New Orleans City Bus Tour
Ranked #75 of 352 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ponchatoula, Louisiana
Level Contributor
171 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Interesting drive!”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Even though it is no longer the longest bridge in the world, driving over the causeway is a great way to see Lake Ponchatrain. The beter think would be by sail boat!

Helpful?
Thank lisalisala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    81
    45
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenner, Louisiana
Level Contributor
454 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Winds pick up quickly when boating.”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Make sure you check the wind speeds prior to launching your boat. My family got out mid-lake, the winds picked up, then had a rough ride back into the marina.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank JBernard20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It's a HUGE lake..”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Honestly there is not much I can say about it.. its a HUGE lake that you cross to get into New Orleans. I have taken several great pictures from this lake (mostly sunsets, they seem to bring the best colors).

Helpful?
1 Thank Tapestrys30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice drive...worth seeing”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We enjoyed driving on the Lake Pontchartrain Causeway and were surprised at the length of the bridge and the vastness of the lake. It was a beautiful drive and well worth the trip. On returning to New Orleans, you get a brief view of the levees (which didn’t seem very high). Six years after Katrina we still found a few homes that had been abandoned and are still standing, and a lot of vacant lots where people left and didn’t rebuild. We probably should have taken the bridge from New Orleans to Mandeville and then driven around the lake on the way back to avoid any toll, but it was well worth the $3.00 toll.

We were told by a local to try the crawfish popcorn in Mandeville at the Popcorn Bistro (right next to the Hobby Lobby store), but we drove there on a Sunday and they were closed. We were disappointed! If you go, let us know how it was!! :-)

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank sewhiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What an awesome causeway”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

An engineering marvel! It is a low lying two lane bridge so you feel like you are right in the lake. To my surprise it was 24 miles long! There are several turn abouts every mile or so. I took the north to south route from Mandeville to New Orleans. Its was awesome to see the city sky line as you got closer and closer. Make sure you have enough gas to get you across. Well worht the $3

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank imaleogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lake Pontchartrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing