We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Frenchmen Orleans at 519
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
263 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Just Right”
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed May 26 - 31 in Unit 105, a 2 bedroom condo on the ground floor. The unit has been renovated and included wall mounted flat screen TVs in each room, a stereo system, Jacuzzi tub, full kitchen and a Queen bed in each bedroom. There is a door onto the patio for access to pool and hot tub.

They do not offer daily maid service but the exchange towels and empty the trash daily. We noted a couple of minor problems like a slow draining tub but they were handled promptly. The beds are comfortable but the closets are very tiny, not that it matters much.

We had some noise from a group of college kids next door a couple of nights and we did hear a bit of music from the club next door but overall the noise was manageable for us. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and the front desk is manned 24 hours.

The location is excellent, just outside the French Quarter and surrounded by live music venues. It is still very close to all the action.

They offered us offstreet parking in front of the complex for $10 per day which I thought was very reasonable. Overall it was a very pleasant stay for three adults looking to have some fun.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank QOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    47
    21
    18
    6
See reviews for
42
39
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
tallahassee, fl
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

We should have known we were in trouble when the check-in person said that noone comes to New Orleans to sleep. Our bedroom faced Frenchmen's street and a nightclub was directly across the street. Thursday night was quite loud but the next two nights were worse. Saturday night had two bands playing in the club, one upstairs and one downstairs and they played until about 5AM. We asked when we first checked in to change to a back apartment but were told the place was full and we were stuck. I think it is unconscionable to rent these street-front apartments without telling the customer what the situation is....if you are an all-night partyer, the place would be
fine. My husband had a meeting on Friday morning so he was tired after sleeping fitfully on Thursday night. And after spending much of Saturday night awake (we had to sleep in the living room but it was loud in there also) we then faced a 6-hour drive home. Since you cannot request a specific apartment ahead of time and you get what you get upon arrival, I would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone because you risk spending your nights awake. We happen to have had several daytime activities -- so we needed to be able to sleep at night and that just wasn't an option here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dallet5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pineville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Great condo for the price...clean and spacious (reminded me of a cute and cozy onebedroom apartment). There are Jazz Clubs across the street so music will be heard until 2/3 am, but to me this is just the NOLA experience so it didn't bother us. Tub did not drain well but I never reported this to the staff, so this issue probably could have been resovled if it really mattered to us. Bed linens were very clean although we found hair on spare blankets (dont know the technical term for the fabric but it was the "fuzzy" material, so even if they were washed the hair probably would have still suck because I have several of these blankets at home and have the same problem) we usually bring our own so this was not a issue either.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank britneylynn1241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

This is a wonderful place to stay. Everyone is so nice and hospitable!!! It is like a small apartment. It is about 2 blocks from the French Market and 2 blocks to Decatur St. Easy walking to everything in the quarter. We have stayed all in the quarter and this by far tops the list. It can get a little noisy at night (jazz bars around vicinity) it is one block from Esplanade and in the Marigny area, so we bought a sound machine and it was fine. We will stay here again!!! If you want to be close to everything this is it. All the great restaurants are in walking distance. The management is so great!!! Were always checking on us to make sure our visit was good.....parking is really cheap for the area $10 a day....

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DenaGayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

If you're looking for something away from the madness but close enough to partake in it, this is the place. I stayed in a one bedroom condo and couldn't have been happier. The room was spacious and clean, there's a nice little patio on the second floor, and there's a pool and hot tub out back. As for management, they were easy to deal with and recommended several amazing places to eat. Another plus is the hotel is located across the street from several bars where the locals go to hear live music so you don't have to deal with Bourbon St if that's a bit too crazy for you. But if Bourbon is your thing, it's a 5 min walk and you are in the thick of it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bdog98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

My husband and I had never been to New Orleans before so when we saw the location on the map we were somewhat skeptical as it seemed from the little we knew to be off the beaten path and away from where our friends were staying. Lesson learned--don't rely on a tourist map. We couldn't have been more wrong and the location could not have been more ideal.

I was in town for the Mardi Gras Half Marathon so while I wanted to be able to explore the sights and take in the nightlife, I also needed to be able to relax as well. This place was incredible. There is a kitchen with all the amenities, a beautiful bathroom complete with state-of-the-art shower and soaking tub, and a gorgeous living room. There were flat screens in both the bedroom and the living room and an amazing stereo system. We may not have spent a ton of time in our room, but it was great to have a place to unwind and recharge at the end of the day....or end of a late night.

Also, the staff could not have been more wonderful. Our room was consistently cared for and anything that we needed it was instantly taken care of. A true VIP experience.

As for the location, it ended up being an absolute godsend. It's a GREAT thing not to be on Bourbon Street, but at the same time, the Frenchmen Orleans is located in the heart of real New Orleans. While all the attractions (Cafe du Monde, Jackson Square, Harrah's, Bourbon Street, etc.) are a short stroll away, bars and live music clubs where locals go (not where tourists puke and strippers dance) are right outside your door. It has a real neighborhood feel and by the end of your trip, you'll be reluctant to say goodbye. Also, with an elegant courtyard and fountain running the only sound you'll hear when you go to bed at night (or early morning) isn't the blare of music, but the soothing sound of the fountain. Again, it was great to be able to visit the tourist spots, spend time with the locals and hear some local music, and return to a place we could truly consider a home base. We are already planning a return trip. If we could stay anywhere in New Orleans, this is it.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maguirebriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Staying here is like staying in some one's condominium. We had a two bedroom suite which was very spacious. Included were a very nice living room, a full kitchen, two bedrooms and a nice bathroom. If you're tired of being crowded in a hotel room (especially if you have more than two people) this is the place to stay. The front desk was always staffed and very nice. I did get to see a one bedroom and though larger than a hotel room it would not work for more than two people as the couch in the living room was not convertible into a bed. There is parking behind the hotel for $12 per day and if you have a car it is well worth taking this option as parking in New Orleans is always an ordeal. My only complaint is that we did not get our room serviced on Sunday. It wasn't a big deal to me so I didn't ask why. I am sure that if I did they would have taken care of it. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plainsman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#47 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#27 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,376 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchmen Orleans at 519? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchmen Orleans at 519

Property: Frenchmen Orleans at 519
Address: 519 Frenchmen Street, New Orleans, LA 70116-2044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Speciality Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Frenchmen Orleans at 519 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Festiva Hospitality Group is proud to introduce its very own Frenchmen Orleans. Within walking distance of all the world-famous French Quarter attractions and the newly acclaimed cultural and arts district of Frenchmen Street, the Frenchmen Orleans is as close to the action of New Orleans as you can be! Whether you’re there for shopping, history, architecture, music, art, sightseeing or Mardi Gras, the Frenchmen Orleans is the perfect home base for a stay in the Big Easy for any interest and age group.After a busy day enjoying the sights and sounds of the city you may wish to take advantage of the Frenchmen Orleans’ private courtyard, pool and spa; or perhaps you want to enjoy a quiet evening inside preparing a meal in your fully equipped kitchen. Regardless, our staff is committed to your comfort and convenience during your stay.Connect with Festiva Hospitality Group on the major social networking sites. Festiva is very active on following and updating new and information so you will never lose track of events and specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Frenchmen Orleans at 519 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmen Orleans At 519, a Festiva Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing