We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day Great guide”
Review of Salty Dog Charters

Salty Dog Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Salty Dog is a fishing charter offering guided fishing trips within 30 miles of The New Orleans French Quarter. Harbored in Shell Beach, Louisiana, we are able to target tasty coastal fish in a variety of prime locations. We fish around oil rigs, islands, or the marshlands. Book one of our charters today, and we will guide you to some of the best coastal fishing in Louisiana!
Green Bay WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great day Great guide”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We fished with Salty dog on May 30th the weather wasn't great but the guide made it happen caught a lot of trout and red fish plus other fish. Fun day on the water.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GreenBayWIWaterguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fan-freaking-tastic!”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Went down to NOLA with 9 dudes for my Brother in law's bachelor party and couldn't have asked for a better guide or Cap'n. Marcum is knowledgable, hardworking, and personable: because of his efforts we CRUSHED those NOLA fish alllll day. I highly recommend anyone who wants the most bang for their buck to go with Salty Dog Charters: helped make our already awesome trip into a legendary trip. Thanks again!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Austin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bachelor Party trip A+”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

I was in Nola with a group of 9 dudes for a bachelor party; our trip with Markham and his two other captains was one we'll not soon forget.

From the first time I emailed him he was super professional and responsive. Even though he was out of the country he worked with me to get the details worked out for our trip.

The day of our charter Markham and another captain (Jacques aka Jackamo) picked us up and took us to the marina to get going. Even though the weather was challenging, he and our other captains got us on the fish. We're all somewhat experienced anglers and we all had a blast catching so many giant fish. The Bachelor is still talking about it 5 days later.

I would highly recommend The Salty Dog for your next trip. No way you'll be disappointed. Thanks Markham for a wild afternoon. We'll be back for sure!

Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I met with some great friends for a Bachelor party and we went out with Markham. The trip was amazing, we all landed multiple huge reds, some of which were landed by the bachelor himself on an 8 wt fly rod! I think its safe to say the guys on our boat had sore forearms for a few days just from volume and size of the catch. If you're in New Orleans and dont go with these guys, well you might just be missing out.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tyler V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Best Guide I Have Ever Fished With”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Markham is first a really good fishing guide but then again there are many that can put you on fish. He does that well and makes it seem almost effortless. Catching fish is the primary objective and important but it is from that point on that Markham far exceeds others.

He understands that the trip is about the experience of being there. It's about enjoying the beauty of the water and wildlife. He is not on a schedule other than yours. If you are done then he is done. If you want to fish longer he is certainly in for that.

It is obvious that he is passionate about fishing and helping people catch fish but his understanding of the bigger picture is what creates the atmosphere of the great fishing experience.

When the boat arrives at the slip, the photos are taken and the fish are cleaned the experience is not over. If you like he calls a friend's restaurant, makes a reservation for you and they cook your catch artfully.

If what you want is to go catch your limit as fast and possible and be done Markham will make that happen conditions permitting. If you prefer a great fishing experience then you are playing to his strong suit and he relishes it like only someone who loves their job and is passionate about it can.

Good fishing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salty Dog Charters also viewed

 

Been to Salty Dog Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing