We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Ranked #48 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Mid-South
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I love good customer service and it's top shelf at this property from every single employee you come in contact with. Kudos. Great value for cruise package...room, wonderful breakfast and parking during cruise. Only downside was the noise and housekeeping coming in while sleeping. Will be back for a conference in 2012.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank river280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    312
    97
    34
    22
See reviews for
133
154
41
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I typically love staying at Marriott's when traveling for business, because they are usually very good at providing a standard level of service.

Pros:
This hotel was right across from the convention center, had a Starbucks in the lobby, was within walking distance to the Riverwalk mall, and had pretty quick room service. Their concierge lounge had a nice variety of food at dinner. They only had water and sodas in the fridge (other lounges have juice as well), and did not serve alcoholic beverages.

Cons:
The service provided by the hotel was variable in terms of customer service. When calling for housekeeping services when I left the room for 3 hours, and then came back, it was still not completed. When asking questions (like how to have a room charged to your credit card for your boss), having a reservation representative repeat an answer that does not apply to your question can be frustrating. It is always helpful to ask for a manager at this point.

Overall, I would stay here again if traveling for business at the convention center.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ar_sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I was in New Orleans recently for a work related stay. This hotel did not disappoint! The staff is professional and very helpful, the rooms large, nice, well maintained and comfortable. Anything you need the staff will find it for you including taxis, shuttles, site-seeing recommendations, etc. It is also located just steps from many great area attractions. Of course the area is known for great food. I visited many restaurants while in New Orleans. Many were great but the hotel dining room was truly one of the best which was a pleasant surprise. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FormerHoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vestavia Hills, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I Priceline when I have to go to New Orleans for just an overnight and I Pricelined for about 70 dollars and got this hotel the last two times. My first visit I had a room with a King Bed that was spacious and very plush. Nice seating area, desk, and seemed luxurious. My second visit I had a room that was two double beds and seemed not as plush and very industrial. There were no robes and the towels seemed less plush. I'm not sure if there was a difference in the linens but it did appear that way. I felt like I had stayed in two different hotels. Staff were great, location is great especially if you are attending a convention The hotel is just a couple of blocks from the casino and riverfront. Beds were comfortable. I will definitely stay here again but will request a King when I have the option. If I have a convention, this will be my first choice for hotel. If you have allergies the air is a little musty and can flare you. Take your antihistamines with you!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Almond66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol PA
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Location is good. Help is attentive. DO NOT STAY IN ROOM 1517. There is an air handling unit of some sort in an adjoining room that caused loud noise and vibrations in the room.

I was moved to room 1527 and everything there was fine.

Room Tip: Do not accept room 1517
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scalwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Despite having reservations and a confirmation number I was told when I got to my hotel they did not have a room for me. I was not even afforded the courtesy of a phone call. They did book me in another property far from where I needed to be. Just when I thought it could not get worse the hotel was under construction. Wish I could share these pictures I am looking at a series of toilets ready to be installed. Shame on you Marriott your in the hospitality business

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cartman112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Across the board I give this Marriott an average rating compared to others I have stayed with. Very clean and comfortable beds. I was here for a convention. I did not get the room I paid for on the concierges level with a kind room. Instead it was a double, with the bed so close to the entry that you had to dodge to keep from banging knees. I stayed in the room though because the view was fantastic and nothing was left on the level I asked for. The showers were not as hot as I like them and the pressure was weak. The staff is laid back and super nice. If there were 10 stars for the staff I would give it to them. I did have entry to the concierges lounge which by far is the best one in any Marriott worldwide that I have been in. Very clean, nice staff and the fresh yogurt with granola was delicious. The bar drinks and food were ok but don't waste your time here. Head out to the French Quarter.
I liked the location safe, secure and found it a good spot to the French Quarter but rather expensive. For the 4 days at this hotel, my trip expense was more than my 3 week vacation in Europe. Seriously, this was outrageous.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marykelly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#40 of 163 in New Orleans
883 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Property: New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Address: 859 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a riverfront New Orleans Hotel in the energetic Arts District, minutes away from the area’s top attractions such as the French Quarter, Harrah’s Casino, Cruise Port and a multitude of dining & entertainment options. Housed in a renovated 19th century cotton mill, the Marriott hotel in New Orleans near the convention center boasts over 300 spacious rooms & suites, offering guests a refreshing night of rest. Experience an abundance of New Orleans convention hotel amenities including a fitness center, Starbucks Coffee Shop, business center and rooftop swimming pool. Indulge in regional Creole cuisine at Wolfe’s in the Warehouse, or unwind in the Wine Bar with your favorite cocktail. With over 25,000 square feet of flexible function space, this innovative New Orleans convention center hotel is ideal for both intimate gatherings & large corporate events. Plan your next stay at the Marriott, a premier hotel near the New Orleans convention center featuring impeccable service in a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing