We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Ranked #43 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Convenient place to stay if going to a function at the convention center (which we did) - it's right across the street. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful (we stayed during Mardi Gras, so even though there was constant chaos, the staff were cheerful and hospitable regardless). Room was nice and clean; beds were very comfortable, although my friend found his double bed a little less sturdy for a heavier guy (it moved around a lot when he sat on it, maybe queen/king would have been better).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asc1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    301
    95
    32
    20
See reviews for
127
148
40
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed here for a convention the week before Mardi Gras. It was a great location since all the parades went down Canal St. right outside our hotel. It is also next to the French Quarter and a few blocks from Bourbon street and all the French Quarter sights. They had extra security and I felt very safe during all the festivities. They did a great job providing delicious meals and interesting snacks to our convention. We did not like that they wanted to charge $14 per day if you wanted internet in the rooms. That was a rip off, it should be free. Just like the airlines, some hotels do try to nickel and dime you and the rooms are not cheap. My boss's room did not have hot water for 2 days but they finally fixed it and gave her a credit. I also had a crying baby in the room next to mine for the first 2 night but that is not the hotels fault.

Room Tip: You can pay extra for a room overlooking the water, but I did not feel it was worth it. If you go d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginnietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a meeting I was attending at the convention center so the location of to beat. My room was very clean and everything about it was comfortable. The staff was very helpful and seemed to go the extra mile to help out. The price was a little high, but it was what I excepted for the location and time of year I was traveling. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others, especially if you will be spending a lot of time at the convention center.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLgirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

WE won this room on price line for an excellent bargain. Stayed for 1 night before our cruise and we enjoyed it. The room was clean and very comfortable. It was a large room and had a King bed. Great value. Within walking distance to Bourbon Street. Coffee maker in room. Did not use it, instead went downstairs to starbucks. There is also coffee available at the corner grocery. The staff was all friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judgefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Checked into a great room and staff was very nice and helpful. Beds are very comfortable and hotel location was perfect for Mardi Gras. Thanks to the great check in staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rll314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

I won this hotel after bidding on Priceline (at an incredible price), so I wasn't exactly sure what I was getting or where it would be. As soon as I walked in, I was impressed. The hotel staff was very welcoming. The decorations in the hotel were modern and elegant. The room was nice and the beds were comfortable. Everything was very clean. We ordered room service twice, and the food was excellent. My friends said the coffee wasn't good, but I didn't try it. There is a Starbucks in the lobby for those who need their daily coffee fix. The valet guys were super helpful when I needed things from the car. We even had a slight issue with our neighbors in the hotel with a husband and wife fighting, and the staff quickly responded and resolved the issue. This is a first-class establishment. The location is great. It's right by the Convention Center and a couple block walk to Harrah's casino. Although my phone said the heart of the French Quarter was slightly over a mile, it was a quick and easy walk.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbohmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

The hotel meets, and in some areas exceeds, the standards I have come to expect as a frequent traveler of Marriott properties. The location is ideal for conferences at the convention center across the street, and is a short walk from the River Walk area and other more centrally located, larger hotels. Early check-in request was honored at 11 AM and staff were polite, efficient, and well trained. The concierge lounge ranks as one of the better ones I have encountered in the system. It is a little small and tucked away in a corner on the 3rd floor with no view, but had a better than usual spread of food and staffed with always friendly and knowledgeable associates who double as concierges, not just attendants. Room was standard, clean, quiet and comfortable. Views not as desirable as received from the high rise hotels of downtown. Internet connection was wired or wireless, dependable, and of decent speed, a must for any business traveler. Gym was also very nice with new equipment and personal TV's in the machines.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATL23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Property: New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Address: 859 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a riverfront New Orleans Hotel in the energetic Arts District, minutes away from the area’s top attractions such as the French Quarter, Harrah’s Casino, Cruise Port and a multitude of dining & entertainment options. Housed in a renovated 19th century cotton mill, the Marriott hotel in New Orleans near the convention center boasts over 300 spacious rooms & suites, offering guests a refreshing night of rest. Experience an abundance of New Orleans convention hotel amenities including a fitness center, Starbucks Coffee Shop, business center and rooftop swimming pool. Indulge in regional Creole cuisine at Wolfe’s in the Warehouse, or unwind in the Wine Bar with your favorite cocktail. With over 25,000 square feet of flexible function space, this innovative New Orleans convention center hotel is ideal for both intimate gatherings & large corporate events. Plan your next stay at the Marriott, a premier hotel near the New Orleans convention center featuring impeccable service in a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing