We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Comfortable Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Ranked #47 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Comfortable Hotel”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here for the weekend for Jazz Fest. Nice hotel with a great staff. We checked out Sunday morning, but were able to keep our bags with the bellman and our car with the valet until about 6pm when we returned from the festival.

Room service was very good and reasonably priced. Room and beds were comfortable. One small issue was that there were no outlets near the bed. i like to use my phone for an alarm and a clock and was unable to charge it on the nightstand.

There is a Starbucks in the lobby open from 6am to 6pm.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManagerMCC, Director of Hotel Operations at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Vonnie C,

I'm glad you stayed with us during Jazz Fest and I'm thrilled you took advantage of our valet parking and luggage storage post departure. Honestly, we encourage our guests to do just that. We have such a great city and its important to take full advantage of every minute.

You make a great point about the outlet near the bed. I also us my cell phone as an alarm clock when traveling. Most of our rooms have outlets in the wall behind the night stand but it could definitely be more conveniently located.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return in the future!

Sincerely,

Paul Reggio
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    311
    96
    34
    22
See reviews for
133
154
41
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Great hotel and the staff is helpful and friendly. Great location to convention center and a short walk to all the festivities that New Orleans has to offer. Bourbon street and the Mississippi River are must sees. The hotel and the city was very clean. I don't know how they do it but after the late night festivities on bourbon street I don't know how they clean up the mess so fast. Great place for friends and family.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Patrick,

Thanks for your feedback! Glad you were able to experience the best of the Big Easy while you were down here. We agree that the Mississippi River is definitely a must-see, especially with a ride on one of the local steamboats. We're very pleased to hear that you experienced excellent service and that you loved the location of our hotel in the heart of New Orleans. The hotel is located very close to the restaurant that just won the James Beard Award, Peche, as well as other wonderful dining establishments like Root and Annunciation. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel is great if you are attending a conference. Rooms are spacious with Marriott standards.
Starbucks onsite is a plus.
A friend of mine had something go missing from the room so still waiting for how management will handle this problem

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Amr A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Joe_Blanchek, General Manager at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Amr A,

Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback about your recent stay. It's great to hear you enjoyed our convenient location right across the street from the Ernest M. Morial Convention Center. Our location is about to get even better with the grand opening of the Outlet Collection at Riverwalk on May 22nd! We're also pleased that you liked our spacious rooms and our on-property Starbucks- we hope you had the chance to try their delicious La Boulange baked goods. Our management is working tirelessly on resolving your friend's situation to her utmost satisfaction. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again on your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Joe Blanchek
General Manager
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great location if you are attending a conference at the convention center, and easy to get around the city from here. The bellman, Michael, and concierge Rhoda were extremely friendly and helpful. We looked forward to a friendly daily chat with them to arrange where we should go, how we should get there, how the previous day was, etc. There was a cozy feel to the place because of them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALSL51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear ALSL51,

It's great to see that Michael and Rhoda provided excellent, friendly service and that they really made your stay a special one. Our hosts truly care about our guests and we're glad to help arrange the perfect trip for you, whether it's making dinner reservations or making sure that you experience the most adventurous swamp tour. On your future trips to New Orleans, we'd be thrilled to have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Can't beat this hotel for quality and convenience, right across from the convention center. The concierge, Rhoda Martinez, was so helpful and enthusiastic about finding me a dinner reservation for 8 people in the midst of a busy week. She was great to deal with and we were quite happy with her result (Herbsaint). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WWPMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dera WWPMS,

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit from Boston! It's great to hear that Rhoda was incredibly helpful and able to snag you a dinner reservation at Herbsaint, a fabulous Donald Link restaurant. We're also pleased that you found our hotel very high quality and unbeatably convenient to the Convention Center. Thanks again for your time and we hope to see you on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at the Marriott after a cruise. It's only a few blocks from the Port of New Orleans and you can see the ships from your window. We were on a higher floor facing the convention center. People said you could walk to the French Quarter and you can but it's a little bit of a hike. We spent the day wondering around the Warehouse District which I don't think we would have done if we hadn't stayed here. It is a great area. We ate lunch at Emeril's which is about 3 blocks from the hotel.

It was quiet and perfect for what we needed. The coffee maker, ice pail, etc are under the TV in the stand. The safe is at the very bottom which made it awkward to use. The room was huge and nicely appointed. We weren't here long since we had to leave at 4:30 am to catch a fight. The bed was fantastic. So comfortable and we had a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GN303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear GN303,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center. It's great to hear that you discovered the wonderful Warehouse District and enjoyed dining at Emeril's. It's also wonderful to know that you found the bed fantastic and that you were extremely comfortable during your stay. We would be delighted to have the pleasure of hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights while at a conference - excellent location to the Convention center. Only a short walk to the French Quarter. Very nice, but almost too fancy. There was no coffee maker in the room (probably because there was a Starbucks downstairs) nor was there an ice bucket. I probably would pick a different place next time I visit New Orleans.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Njoytravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManagerMCC, Director of Hotel Operations at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Njoytravl,

I'm glad you liked the location of our hotel and that it was convenient for your travels to New Orleans. I'm sorry to hear that your room didn't have a coffee maker and ice bucket. These amenities are standard in all of our guestrooms. They are located in the cabinet just under the TV.

Thank you for sharing your experience and I hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Paul Reggio
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#39 of 163 in New Orleans
880 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Property: New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Address: 859 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a riverfront New Orleans Hotel in the energetic Arts District, minutes away from the area’s top attractions such as the French Quarter, Harrah’s Casino, Cruise Port and a multitude of dining & entertainment options. Housed in a renovated 19th century cotton mill, the Marriott hotel in New Orleans near the convention center boasts over 300 spacious rooms & suites, offering guests a refreshing night of rest. Experience an abundance of New Orleans convention hotel amenities including a fitness center, Starbucks Coffee Shop, business center and rooftop swimming pool. Indulge in regional Creole cuisine at Wolfe’s in the Warehouse, or unwind in the Wine Bar with your favorite cocktail. With over 25,000 square feet of flexible function space, this innovative New Orleans convention center hotel is ideal for both intimate gatherings & large corporate events. Plan your next stay at the Marriott, a premier hotel near the New Orleans convention center featuring impeccable service in a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing