We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (919)
Filter reviews
919 results
Traveller rating
403
338
115
38
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
403
338
115
38
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe concierge loungefrench quarterdirectly across the streetattending an eventcruise portwarehouse districtoutlet mallbusiness travelbell staffwithin walking distancethe river walkhigh floorwould stay here againbourbon streetcab ridefew blockssugar bowl
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
514 - 519 of 919 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is really a great hotel. Very clean, private and close to shopping and dining. Close enough to the French Quarter without being too close. Right across from the Riverwalk which is great and down the street from Mardi Gras World. The Convention Center is practically at the front entrance. The only drawbacks are: there is no parking and valet is 100% with a hefty $39 a night price and the pool area is pretty small. Other than that....great hotel!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Check in as early as possible to get great rooms. But it appears all rooms are great!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EpitomeofXelence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear EpitomeofXelence,

Wow! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're pleased that you adored our great location by the luxury outlets at Riverwalk and the Convention Center. We agree about being perfectly convenient to the French Quarter- our guests can easily access Bourbon Street, but are not affected by the noise that can disturb guests staying in hotels directly on the street. Thank you also for your feedback about our parking rate, which is similar to other hotels in this high demand area. Please accept our apologies if you were not informed about the self-park options in the neighborhood, which have lower rates than valet though they are not as convenient. It would be our pleasure to host you on your next visit to the Big Easy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I've been to New Orleans many times and there is so much to see and do. This hotel is in a great location. Shops right across the street and many great restaurants within walking distance. The room was ok. Carpet seemed dirty and the room service menu had actually been filled out by a previous guest. No coffee maker in room but there is a Starbucks in the lobby. No parking so you have to use their valet which is $40 a night. When we valeted our car we were given a receipt with a number and told to call down before going down to check out so they could have the car ready. When i called i was told they couldn't do that, i would have to come down and wait. The lady at checkout was a little rude. Athough it wasn't the cleanest hotel I have stayed in, it was still a nice stay. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManagerMCC, Director of Hotel Operations at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Stacey,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed our amazing location in New Orleans' Warehouse District, which is right next to the French Quarter and recognized as one of New Orleans' trendiest areas. Our guests can easily shop, take a tour, see a live show at the famous Howlin' Wolf and dine in New Orleans' best restaurants while attending their conference or just relaxing during a leisure trip. We deeply appreciate your candid feedback as it helps us continuously perfect the guest experience. Please accept our apologies, as it appears that it was not properly communicated to you that there are nearby parking lots with lower rates than our valet, nor were you shown where our coffee makers are located in the room. We also apologize that your room was not meticulously prepared and if our front desk agent did not deliver the exceptional, friendly service typical of our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to make this up to you on your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Paul Reggio
Director of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have been to New Orleans many times and have stayed at hotels and bed and breakfast. The experiences are very different from hotel to B and B. If your doing a hotel this one is directly across from a great outlet mall and within easy walking to French quarter and canal street. Staff was so great . Really safe area.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with better views we stayed in one that viewed the street it wasn't bad but would ask for a better view. They did not have a double with a view when we booked this but it was last minute.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjfnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear jjfnm,

Thanks for your feedback! It's wonderful to hear that you received amazing service from our staff- they truly do host brilliantly and genuinely want to make sure our guests have the best possible experience in New Orleans. We're very pleased that you enjoyed our ideal location. We're extremely convenient to the Convention Center and French Quarter, as well as the vibrant Warehouse District where many of New Orleans' best restaurants are located. It's great that you mentioned the new Riverwalk luxury outlets- our guests can now enjoy amazing shopping stores like Neiman Marcus Last Call, Coach, and dozens more within a block of their hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were in town for a convention. The convention had linked up with the Hilton but we chose the Marriott. Good thing we did. The Marriott is directly across the street from the convention center and the Hilton is approximately 3/10 of a mile walk. The hotel is near Riverwalk Shopping and not a bad walk or short cab ride to the French Quarter.

The hotel has full amenities from a Starbucks in the lobby, full bar and restaurant, work out facilities and a small pool.

The best feature of the hotel was the concierge, Rhoda Martinez. Rhoda made our trip to New Orleans all that is could be. Recommendations on attractions and the best dining you could ask for in the city. See Rhoda so you can enjoy the best of New Orleans.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Joe_Blanchek, General Manager at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Jim,

We are delighted that you had an excellent stay with us during your convention! We couldn't agree with you more about our superb location- we're within steps of some of the best dining in this foodie city as well as the Convention Center, the French Quarter, and the luxury outlets at Riverwalk. We hope you had the chance to try Root or Peche, which are some of our favorite and nationally recognized Warehouse District restaurants. Rhoda is truly a gem and embodies the knowledgeable, friendly service that our hosts provide. It's also great to hear that you enjoyed our on-property amenities such as our Starbucks and fitness center. It would be our pleasure to host you on your next trip.

Sincerely,

Joe Blanchek
General Manager
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I decided to ask the Concierge for a suggestion for lunch and got much more than I expected. Rhoda, the Concierge Extraordinaire, was far more than an individual with advice but instead she was a passionate advisor who wanted to me to share her love and enthusiasm for what New Orleans had to offer. When Rhoda spoke, her genuine care shone through. She exuded the kind of customer service that I do not see anymore.

Furthermore, Rhoda hit a "home run" with all of her advice for where to go to get good food and hear good music.

Go to the Marriott and ask for Rhoda, she will, certainly, take care of you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliRod54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear AliRod,

Thanks for sharing about your recent stay! It's delightful to hear that Rhoda was such a help to you. She is a passionate concierge who genuinely loves to share our city with our guests and we are glad that she guided you to a wonderful New Orleans experience. Whether guests are looking for a great hole-in-the-wall coffee shop or a night dancing to live brass bands, Rhoda's advice is spot on. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews