We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Ranked #48 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Encinitas, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exceptional Customer Service”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My sis in law was here on business, brought me along for the ride! Hotel staff was extremely helpful. Above and beyond in their duties. Omar, the bellman in front, the check in staff, Elizabeth and Jordan in the 3rd floor concierge really took care of us. Hotel room was standard size, beds were incredibly comfortable. They provided us with a fridge within moments after we asked. Housekeeping was ok. They had not shown up one day after I arrived back after a day of touring after 4ish, so called front desk, they said they would be up right away. By 5:30 still no housekeeping, so I told front desk never mind, if they didn't mind just making sure we received towels. Towels showed up right away. All in all a very nice stay. Sis in law is a platinum member so sure that helped. Hotel is close to everything or a short trolley car away from where ever you are going. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Pick a river front if possible we had city view, which was really just looking out at convention ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Joe_Blanchek, General Manager at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Joanie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. We are beyond pleased to hear that Omar, Elizabeth and Jordan took wonderful care of you and delivered the high level of service that our hotel is known for. We couldn't agree more about our hotel's convenient location and are glad you recommended our city's historic streetcars, which is indeed a great way to get to beautiful St. Charles Avenue or even to City Park. Please accept our deepest apologies that housekeeping did not exceed your expectations. We eagerly await your return.

Sincerely,

Joe Blancheck
General Manager
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    311
    97
    34
    22
See reviews for
133
154
41
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My family came to New Orleans for my wife's mother's family reunion. We came with our in-laws who paid for us to stay so we could enjoy the family reunion. My father-in-law was charged $40 extra for a suite which seems like a good deal except the suite that he got looked exactly the same as the standard room. I am not sure if that is by design but there was no difference. The only difference between the standard room and the suite was that maybe the walk in hallway was a little bit longer. Everything else was exactly the same. My father-in-law talked to the desk about this issue and was not greeted very warmly by the reception. We then discussed the issue with the rep who was over the family reunion itself at the hotel and she seemed as though she didn't want to attempt to help out with the situation of standard and suite room being the same but charged more. The servers at the breakfast banquet we had for the reunion at the hotel did not seem very professional. My father-in-law asked for cereal and was told that it was only for children. Really? I asked for 2 high chairs and before the server even looked told me there were none. 10 minutes later he came out and brought some. All of this done with a tone of we really don't need your business.

The hotel itself looked great. The rooms looked nice and were clean. The location was awesome. We were 2-3 blocks from Harrahs, riverfront, and maybe 5 blocks from the French Quarter. Yes things are a little expensive but you pay for being near all the lively events and things in downtown New Orleans.

I enjoyed the hotel but the customer service was lacking. Maybe it was just one of those days where people were not on top of their game but when working hospitality I would expect much more especially from a hotel in this location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TranFoodCritics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManagerMCC, Director of Hotel Operations at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear TranFoodCritics,

We had a great time with your family during the reunion last weekend. I’m glad you enjoyed our location and that you found our rooms nice and clean. We regret that you felt as though the customer service was lacking, that is definitely not the impression we strive for. Based on your comments, it seems we could have responded differently to your father-in-laws request for cereal. I’m very familiar with the banquet breakfast offered during your event; we had discussed the continental offerings with the reunions organizer in great detail.

The upgraded room your father-in-law reserved was an executive king with concierge access. Our executive king rooms offer about 40 additional square feet and also provide access to our executive lounge that includes complementary food and beverage offerings and personalized concierge service. Should you ever be back in New Orleans again, whether it be on business or pleasure, we hope that you would consider allowing us the privilege to redeem ourselves from your current perception relating to our service. It was truly an honor to host you and your family during such a special time and hope that you took home some lasting memories while in our great city.

Sincerely,

Paul Reggio
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dothan, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This was my first trip to New Orleans. The hotel has a good location in walking distance to the French Quarter. The friendly Valet, Justin offered a warm welcome and took care of my car. The room was clean and I found the towels and washcloths to be sufficient.

Pros:
Location
Friendly Staff
Marriott Service
Starbucks in lobby
Awesome bedding

Cons:
Stains on the armchair in my room

Best part of my stay was the legendary, warm, excellent customer service

Room Tip: Ask for a River Front rather than city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bulkibagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear bulkibagel,

What a pleasure it was to hear you describe our wonderful customer service! We're very proud of our brilliant hosts and we are so happy that you were delighted by associates like Justin. We also totally agree about our comfortable Marriott beds and of course our guests love having a Starbucks on property. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again and deliver a perfectly flawless stay to you during your time in the Big Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We only had the pleasure of staying here one night, but they went above and beyond for us! We checked in this hotel very late for one night because we weren't pleased with our original paid hotel and refused to sleep in our rooms. Not only did the Marriott find a room for us on a busy festival weekend but considering it was 5am in the morning and we were checking in they gave us a late checkout because they felt charging us full price for a 6 hour stay would be wrong. We only stayed one night or a few hours I should say, but the staff was very friendly and sympathetic to our previous hotel problems! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrmint27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear jrmint27,

We take hosting brilliantly very seriously and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed considerate, thoughtful and accommodating service. While New Orleans has a lot of busy, exciting festivals all year round, we always make sure to take care of our guests and do our very best to make sure they have an excellent New Orleans experience. Should you return to New Orleans, we highly recommend spending a few days with us in the Arts & Warehouse District, where you can discover celebrated New Orleans' restaurants like Peche, Cochon and Emeril's, as well as unbelievable shopping in the nearby luxury outlets at Riverwalk. It would be our pleasure to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 6 nights in comfort with no problems. To be very picky housekeeping was it's weak point. No washcloths; no ice bucket liners; no clean glasses last 3 days. Would I stay again? Certainly, especially if I needed to be near the convention center. 3+ but not 4 stars.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear dunncountry,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location during your long stay. We are indeed perfectly situated across from the Convention Center, as close by New Orleans’ most famous restaurants, music venues, and shopping destinations. We hope you were able to experience the Howlin’ Wolf, Root, and other amazing New Orleans spots during your stay. Please accept our apologies that your stay was not flawless and we will certainly use your feedback to improve our guests’ experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brentwood tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night before cruise depart on Sunday.
It is not a long way to walk to the streetcars, Harrahs, not the French Quarter. 15 minutes tops at strolling pace- which we enjoyed after a great meal at Desire. Felt safe. Easy check in- room as requested. Very clean and pretty room. No complaints for 4 adults. All service was great. Valet parking is pricey but the expected rate when in New Orleans. Very convenient to cruise terminal less than 5 mile drive.

Would stay here next time. Highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank youaremysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear youaremysunshine,

We deeply appreciate your feedback! It's wonderful to hear that you found our hotel ideally located near the cruise terminal. We love hosting our cruise guests before they depart and hearing about their cruise adventures on their return! Additionally, our neighborhood, New Orleans' Arts & Warehouse District, is so walkable and we're glad that you were able to experience the fantastic dining that this neighborhood has to offer. We hope you had a chance to stroll down Julia Street's famous art galleries. Thank you again and we eagerly await your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boaz, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean but it wasn't really close to anything except the convention center. It was a long walk to French quarter and bourbon street. The parking is expensive and the valets are always waiting for their tip. I would prefer to stay somewhere near the street car or in town.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Croppinnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManagerMCC, Director of Hotel Operations at New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Croppinnut,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center. I’m sorry you found our location inconvenient. As you mentioned, we are just across the street from the Convention Center but we are not in the French Quarter. One option for a guest staying at our hotel that doesn’t want to make the walk to the French Quarter is the Riverfront Streetcar. Its conveniently located just across Convention Center Blvd and it has a few stops that are in the French Quarter. One stop puts you at Jackson Square in the heart of the French Quarter. I’m glad you found our hotel clean. We work very hard to maintain a clean and defect free product for our guests to enjoy.

I hope you will consider us for your next visit to New Orleans. Our Hotel is located in an area called the Warehouse District. It’s become a great destination for locals and tourist visiting the City. We have some of New Orleans best dining, shopping and attractions just a few steps away.

Sincerely,

Paul Reggio
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#41 of 163 in New Orleans
883 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Property: New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Address: 859 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a riverfront New Orleans Hotel in the energetic Arts District, minutes away from the area’s top attractions such as the French Quarter, Harrah’s Casino, Cruise Port and a multitude of dining & entertainment options. Housed in a renovated 19th century cotton mill, the Marriott hotel in New Orleans near the convention center boasts over 300 spacious rooms & suites, offering guests a refreshing night of rest. Experience an abundance of New Orleans convention hotel amenities including a fitness center, Starbucks Coffee Shop, business center and rooftop swimming pool. Indulge in regional Creole cuisine at Wolfe’s in the Warehouse, or unwind in the Wine Bar with your favorite cocktail. With over 25,000 square feet of flexible function space, this innovative New Orleans convention center hotel is ideal for both intimate gatherings & large corporate events. Plan your next stay at the Marriott, a premier hotel near the New Orleans convention center featuring impeccable service in a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing