We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute rooms, Close to French Quarter”
Review of Blue60 Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue60 Guest House
Ranked #18 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We rented the River Suite, Porch Suite and Avenue Studio for a party of 10 people. First off, they were very accomodating with respect to adjusting the schedule of renting the units (several of my guests were coming in at different days). David, one of the property managers, was very prompt with his emails and always was very receptive to our needs.

The Elysian Guest House as stated earlier is not a B&B. You have the option of opening doors between the two suites which make a nice big room with space to sleep 8. The house itself is an old, charming house with updated bathrooms, a jacuzzi, porch swing and barbecue grill (which unfortunately we didn't get a chance to use). The location is just about 3-4 blocks outside of the French Quarter, very, very walkable to Burboun Street. You're literally a five-minute walk to fantastic restaurants on Frenchman.

The Porch Suite has (in my opinion) the prettiest bathroom with wonderful natural light. This suite is the one with the nice relaxing porch swing and wind chimes (which they offer to tie up if you find it annoying. I didn't!) The bedroom has a brand new queen sized bed, and the living room has a fold-out futon couch, which felt like a double (not sure what it was advertised as). There's a piano in the living room which was mildy out of tune. Given that we had a couple of musicians in our group, it was made use of.

The River Suite was right off of Elysian Fields Avenue. We used the living room in this suite as our sitting area for the group, as it was the the largest room that could accomodate most of us. It had three comfy arm chairs and a pullout sofa. The bedroom was fine. The only problem was the bathroom sink was a little slow to drain.

The Avenue Studio had a king sized bed and a little kitchenette area that I think I would have used more had we stayed for longer. I initally had problems with the toilet when I first arrived and notified David as soon as I got there. He addressed the problem and I did not have a problem with it since.

The grounds were quiet, even though there were supposedly another group in the other suite (we didn't hear a peep from them). The hot tub was cleaned & the water was newly added & treated several days before we arrived. Unfortunately, we didn't get to use the tub. The only real problem we had was we had difficulties accessing the internet, even if they left a internet key for us. Nonetheless, we spent most of our time exploring New Orleans rather than on the internet.

We had a fanatstic experience here, and would definitely be reccomending this hotel to others!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rose96929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2009

We had a pleasant stay at the Elysian Guest House. The hot tub is large and nice. We rented the Porch Suite and found the room to be quite spacious, clean, and had all of the basics well covered -- it was nice to have a separate living room and small fridge.

The location is a 10-15 minute walk from the French Quarter, but we found the neighborhood to be clean/safe or just a $5 cab ride if you don't want to walk late at night. When we didn't want to walk to the FQ, we found plenty of local bars & restaurants ranging from right next door to just 3-5 minutes away (and even a Walgreens a block away which has the basics to stock your room -- as far as restaurants within 5-minutes walk, we loved La Panache for breakfast, Port of Call for amazing Burgers & Bloody Mary's, and Buffa's for great bar food 24-hours).

It should be clearly noted that this is NOT a B&B and NOT a hotel - this is like renting an apartment from a friend. At first we were a little surprised that there were NO services available and we had to call to make a request to get clean towels & sheets on the 4th day (Ted was accomodating and is a very nice guy, he is always easy to reach by phone and he even met us at Midnight for a late check-in). We were a little disappointed that the air conditoner was a outdated and a bit noisy, but that is the only thing that was even a minor problem.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SPEAK2ME_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2008

We stayed at the Elysian Guest House in April of 2007 and it was very cute and charming. The owner Ted is soooo nice but be aware: THIS IS NOT A BED AND BREAKFAST. Poor Ted seemed quite shocked that it is advertised as such on Expedia and this website. He was very accommodating though, and I thank him for that.
The location is ok if you don't mind walking some, and we didn't. Our room was nice and had a very "New Orleans" feel to it. The jacuzzi out back is great and the flowering vines around it were very nice and fragrant.
Privacy was wonderful, Ted was at our beck and call, and I didn't mind the gates since they're for security. I would recommend this place for sure, especially if being right smack in the middle of the quarter isn't an issue for you.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LydiaGenevieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2006

The Elysian Guest House has a beautiful website. Though its photos are accurate, they also do not show how very small the courtyard is or how many locks (on doors and gates) one must continually lock and unlock to get in and out.

However, once I got accustomed to these two rather unexpected things, the Guest House was what I expected.

My husband and I did not mind the extra few blocks to the Quarter, but if you think you might, I would stay in the Quarter itself.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LPW27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
California
13
Reviewed 27 December 2005

My wife and I stayed for three after the Hurricane and found this place to be very quite and comfortable. Nice garden and the Hot Tub was great (after cleanning the city during the day)

  • Stayed: November 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2005

We stayed here for 5 nights in July. Elysian Guesthouse was quite charming. The location seemed a little out of the way, but in reality was quite convenient. The guesthouse is at the far corner of the Marigny triangle, right across the street from the Phoenix(for all you gay travellers!) and at the edge of all the Frenchman St. action. We were able to walk all over the Quarter from here. The house itself was so cute. 5 suites, each with their own very private entrances, and a hot tub. If there were any other guests we never saw them. We stayed in the Porch Suite. Very nice 2 room suite with a kitchenette and king size bed, sitting area and nice sized bath with great light. Very comfortable for a couple. The feeling we got from staying here was like staying at your best friends awesome apartment in the best city in the world. It's not like staying in a hotel at all. if you like a little more space and a lot of privacy, this is the place for you. It's no Ritz-Carlton, but a good room at a great price. Clean, spacious, and charming. Thanks, TED!!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank vermillion66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BenedictusSixteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#31 of 166 in New Orleans
2,313 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 142 in New Orleans
495 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 142 in New Orleans
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue60 Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue60 Guest House

Address: 1008 Elysian Fields Ave, New Orleans, LA 70117-8402 (Formerly Elysian Guest House B&B)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £107 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue60 Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Blue60 Guest House Built in 1842, The Blue60 Guest House is in the center of the Faubourg Marigny district of New Orleans. We are surrounded by a wonderful selection of restaurants, small corner cafes with outdoor tables, live music venues, bars, and a world of charm that many tourists rarely get to experience. The house is located just a few blocks from the famous French Quarter, Bourbon Street, Frenchman Street, and half a block from the new North Rampart Streetcar line. Built in 1842, the Blue60 is rich with character. We have four large guest suites and one guest room, each with a private outdoor entrance, a private bathroom, 48" HD TV with cable, a mini fridge, microwave, CBTL coffee maker with complimentary coffee pods, in-room safes, and free WiFi throughout the property. After a long day exploring, make yourself at home on the back while patio relaxing in our hot tub and listening the rustle of the palm trees above. I share day to day operations with my manager Will Bennett who has lived in the city for over 30 years. We are a just half a block from the new North Rampart Streetcar stop and a 10 minute walk to the French Quarter & Bourbon Street, and 4 blocks from the hottest spots on Frenchman Street. The Marigny has a large selection of restaurants, renowned live music venues, bars, and a world of charm that most tourists rarely get to experience. It’s all within a 6 block radius. If you are visiting to celebrate Jazz Fest, Mardi Gras, Southern Decadence, or one of the cities frequent cultural offerings, the Blue60 Guest House provides a peaceful respite, yet is walking distance to most of the major attractions that give New Orleans such a unique flair for life! We welcome you to step into our world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Blue60 Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing