We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Desire Oyster Bar

Desire Oyster Bar
Ranked #126 of 2,142 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$25
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Description: The design of this upbeat and casual dining venue tastefully blends traditional with contemporary. Desire features a raw oyster bar where expert shuckers prepare fresh Gulf oysters any way you like them - chargrilled, on the half shell and more. Our Executive Chef is excited for you to try the extensive menu including signature dishes like our Shrimp & Grits, the "Creole Trio" (jambalaya, red beans and rice, and gumbo), po'boys, and the Crawfish and Fried Green Tomato Benedict. Come for oysters, stay for the menu! Open Daily for Breakfast 6:30 a.m.-11:00 a.m., Lunch and Dinner from 11:30 a.m. - 'til. Happy Hour Monday-Friday 3-6pm $1 oysters & more!
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Friendly staff and a wide range of breakfast options in a good quality environment makes this a great place to breakfast on the world famous Bourbon Street.

Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerida O, Manager at Desire Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you for your review! We love the positive review! Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 73 of 1,815 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

We went for the chargrilled oysters and were not disappointed as the were delicious as was the fried alligator. Even the kids had them for first time and enjoyed them. Chef Q came by our table and spoke with the kids, taught them about oysters and opened one for them. That was above and beyond and we appreciated it.

1  Thank Duke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerida O, Manager at Desire Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you for your review! We appreciate such kind words from our guests. Chef Q enjoys interacting with guests so we are happy you were able to experience that with him.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

I tried the oysters, prepared both ways. They were so good, I came back a second night. The service was exceptional. Very friendly and attentive employees.

Thank wildcatmomKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerida O, Manager at Desire Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are happy that our service was exceptional, it is what we strive for at Desire!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

As always in the States the portions are huge, but the quality is excellent and the service very good. There is so much choice in the French Quarter, but to find somewhere on Bourbon Street that isn't vastly overpriced or deafening is a bonus. Try the Gumbo or the chicken sandwich.

Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerida O, Manager at Desire Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Excellent place! The grilled oysters were so good and part of their $6 Happy Hour special. The BBQ oysters are a must try. I don't care how much they cost, you need to give them a try. So freakin' good. Great location on Bourbon St...sit at the window or some awesome people watching.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wagnerkarinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerida O, Manager at Desire Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Thank you for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your experience and food at Desire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Desire Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Desire Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing