We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Disappointment!”
Review of Hermes Bar

Hermes Bar
Ranked #300 of 1,947 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
122 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I was looking forward to this dining experience and the chance to taste Oyster Rockefeller where the original sauce had been created by Antoine's in 1889. We chose to go for lunch and started with the Alligator with Sherry Soup and their version of Creole Gumbo, both of which were very nice. We followed this with Oyster Rockefeller and Antoine's Oyster Foch Po Boy; this was where the meal fell apart. The Oyster Rockefeller had too much sauce, making it wet and pasty and a very unpleasant experience. The Po Boy was on lovely toasted French bread, but the only thing we could taste was the Colbert sauce due to the excessive amount used.

The bar itself has a lovely atmosphere and they offer a great selection of drinks. I am relieved we only tried the bar and not the restaurant itself after this experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank laddieBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    27
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The perfect respite ...”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This quiet little bar is the perfect respite from the heat and noise of the French Quarter. As you cross the threshold you feel like you have stepped back in time just a little. Try the very refreshing Pimm’s Cup. If you are old-school, over 40 and enjoy a quiet cocktail with your significant other, this is the place for you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLTinTandT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Get your Snoot on!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Beautiful street side historic bar filled with all the lonely people, dressed to the 9's with the look at me attitude. Great expensive libations. Martini & champagne glasses compliment the overdressed choices of the pathetic patrons as they laugh louder than needed...get your snoot on & Check it out. It's one of the best shows in town, all for the cost of an overpriced cocktail

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vegasrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
575 reviews
365 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“A peek into Antoine's”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This bar, carved from Antoine's restaurant, has a bar menu but you can also order anything from the restaurant menu even if your wearing shorts or jeans, two items not allowed in the restaurant.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank PetePope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“nice bar”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stopped for drinks because we were early for a tour. What a nice surprise! It felt like a great bar....beautiful inside.Friendly service. Drinks were good. Everyone got beer but me, I tried a cocktail. Stop by and check this place out in the French Quarter.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Moomduck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hermes Bar also viewed

New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Hermes Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing