We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could make improvements”

Hurricane Katrina Tour - America's Greatest Catastrophe
Book In Advance
More Info
US$51.00*
and up
Hurricane Katrina Tour of New Orleans
Ranked #69 of 216 Tours in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Gray Line New Orleans opened in 1924. It is a locally owned and operated business with highly trained and licensed guides providing 13 different tours a day.
calgary
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good but could make improvements”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

We did the super city and Katrina combo tour. It was good but a small bus would have been better. It was a bit pricey especially for kids. There was only one stop at a cemetery. I had done a tour before where they also stopped at the park. That was better. The other company also led us around the graveyard and shared stories whereas this tour just let us wander the cemetery on our own. My family wished we had done the get on get off open air bus so I guess they weren't really satisfied. I did like the Katrina portion and St Charles street but it is hard to enjoy or take pictures through a large tour bus with darkened windows.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank xmas05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    47
    11
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
138 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“This was creepy and I was uncomfortable looking at others' misery”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I really did not like this tour. We went to the lakeside district that was totally underwater during Katrina. It was refreshing to see so many homes rebuilt and new homes too and to see the city rebuilding, but it just didn't feel right to be looking at what had been the site of so much misery for others. I was uncomfortable the whole time and was glad when this part of our tour was over. I was part of a group bus tour so I didn't get to pick all the stops and sights on the tour. I could have done without this one. If you are a disaster junkie, this is the tour for you. Having been through a Category 5 hurricane myself this tour brought back bad memories and just made me want to cry for all the poor folks who were hurt by Katrina. Very depressing, to my mind. And all the fancy new canal locks and walls do not look like they will really prevent another disaster either. Good luck, New Orleans and best wishes, but I don't want to see anything like this again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank scoobytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enlightening”
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

The news centered on just a few areas of the devastation, but after this tour, you realize that although not everyone experienced the 5 to 8 feet of water, Katrina impacted ALL walks of life in this beautiful city. Thanks to Mary and George for a very enlightening 3 hours.

Helpful?
1 Thank Neebish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“After 5 years, time to make a change”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I attended the Katrina Tour first in the summer of 2007. It was so depressing as many of the homes were still visibly damaged, some with boats docked on the roofs. So it felt good to see the progress made. You can still see evidence of the flooding and houses that are simply missing from vacant lots. However it takes more imagination to see the devastation with your minds eye. If it were me, I'd start to think about how to transform this tour to something else; maybe call it gulf tragedies and add more on the oil spills? Perhaps focus on MRGO and how it has impacted the wetlands?

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Year later still very interesting”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We took the Hurricane Katrina tour with Grayline in November, 2012. Year after the storm the tour was still interesting particularly with the guide that we had, John. We saw the levee breech sites, still damaged homes/neighborhoods, Brad Pitt's donation homes, memorial sites and a quick stop into beautiful gardens along the way. While many of the areas are rebuilt, John's local knowledge and first hand experience helped us relive the events and better understand this difficult event for the city. Also, as of November, 2012, we were able to drive through the 9th ward. The laws/regulations had just changed on that. I would recommend the tour to a friend interesting in learning more about Hurricane Katrina. AAA Discount is available.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank photodavew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hurricane Katrina Tour - America's Greatest Catastrophe also viewed

 

Been to Hurricane Katrina Tour - America's Greatest Catastrophe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing