We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Theatre! Great Seating and Show!”
Review of Saenger Theatre

Saenger Theatre
Ranked #43 of 352 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Originally built in 1927, the Saenger Theatre was designed to reflect a magnificent 15th century Italian courtyard and gardens, with a starlit evening sky ceiling, arched surroundings, statuary, columns and decorative moldings. In January 2012, the City of New Orleans, Canal Street Development Corporation (CSDC) and ACE Theatrical Group formed a public-private partnership to carry out a $52 million restoration project after the iconic theatre was severely damaged during Hurricane Katrina. The Saenger Theatre reopened in fall 2013, authentically restored to the finest level of detail, with state-of-the-art technological improvements and updated first-class amenities. The theatre hosts a wide variety of performing arts attractions including live theater, comedy shows and musical acts. The Saenger Theatre is located at the corner of Canal and North Rampart streets in downtown New Orleans and is on the National Register of Historic Places.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Theatre! Great Seating and Show!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I took my boyfriend here to see The Tenderloins and the Impractical Jokers tour. We has suite tickets and the seats were very good. There was also a private bar where you could purchase drinks as well as people coming around to your seats during the show. There was also free snacks to pick at. It came with valet parking which my car was right outside for me when the show was over. Ushers were very nice and friendly and directed us to our seats easily. Theatre is beautiful and I would recommend it to everyone!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank alyssab21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    51
    10
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional Theatre Experience”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Entering the theatre you feel as if you have gone back in time to an era of elegance. Beautiful renovations. Excellent offerings.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DebraBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The theater was so beautiful just was outstanding. I sat in "nose bleed" section. I had no idea a theater could have so many seats. Ushers let patrons arrive late and they were extremely disruptive. Using flashlights to check tickets and have long discussions about seats. I can't imagine what was the issue but I could not watch the show until it was done THEN they were ushered into my row and crawled on top of us to pass. The show was disappointing anyway.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I've been here quite a few times and have had seats in the last row and in the first ten rows and everywhere in between. The view is always great. The theatre itself is absolutely beautiful. I cannot even put into words how amazing it is.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetMelissa222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Jack White in a wonderfully restored venue”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Immaculately restored at great expense, the detail put into its surrounding cannot be over-praised. The sound is top notch, the sightlines are great, and the bar is nicely stocked too. Even the lighted roaring 20's-type marquis outside is wonderful and offers a nice addition to Canal Street proper.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DFCson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saenger Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Saenger Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing