We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in New Orleans. Loved it...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Historic Creole Inn
Ranked #30 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

A party of six friends from Manchester Uk visited New Orleans for the first time. We all lodged at the Creole Inn for 5 nights. The accommodation met all our expectations. Not first class hotel experience, much more homely, which is what we wanted and such a bargain in comparison.the Creole Inn is ideally located for walking into The French quarter. At the Frenchman street end which is much better for music lovers than Bourbon Street. Kim and Charlie are very friendly hosts always keen to help. When I return to New Orleans, that's where I am staying. Can't say fairer than that.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
There are newer reviews for Old Historic Creole Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

What a Great place to stay and soak up the real feel of New Orleans, All the rooms are clean and tidy, with bath rooms for each room. Each bath room has shower and hot and cold running water. The rooms are basic stop overs and are just like staying in a friends house, This mainly due to the couple who look after you during your stay, both Kim and Charlie are wonderful people who make you very welcome. There is wifi available to all guests, that is where the luxury ends, You will have to eat out as they do not provide any food only lots of fresh coffee, If you wish to eat breakfast there are lots of café only two minutes away serving very good food. All facilities are only five minutes away and you are in the great place of New Orleans. Both Kim and Charlie are very friendly and both bend over back wards to help you with anything you need.

Room Tip: all rooms are individual but basic.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed here for 3 days in early March and had such a great experience from booking the hotel to checking out. Place is exactly as described, quite, clean and a wonderful little gem. Kim and Charley go out of their way to ensure you have a pleasant stay and never miss a beat.
If I had one complaint or "flaw" I would say, is they do not know the history of the INN which is disappointing. A home that old should always have a story, just a little on the original owners and what not. I love to stay at old places and learn about them.
But if that's the worst thing I can complain about then it's worth the stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissMelly555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed five nights at creole inn over the wrestlemania weekend in April 2014. Pleasantly surprised to find comfortable beds and rooms to ourselves. Charley and Kim were both very hospitable and helpful, with Kim offering to drive us to the airport for a cheap price. Would definitely recommend to anyone planning on staying in New Orleans near the French quarter.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daveyvos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I have been mulling over this review bc I wanted to say good things but not too good bc then the masses will take over this gem. Plainly stated, if you're lame or a pain...go elsewhere. Kim and Charley are great, salt of the earth folks. If you like feeling like you're at your families place, go here. If you're high maintenance, don't. I stayed in the Memories room and had a great time. The room was clean, private, and safe. Kim put together my tours and I fed the neighborhood cats. Frenchmen St. is within walking distance and you can drink in the street. If you require more than that, go to the French Quarter. To the owners: please make the shower bigger. Also,consider a corner dresser so the bed can be moved to the opposite wall and both windows used.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystaleigh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Everything was as advertised. with the exception of the WiFi availability. Our room, upstairs and in rear, was evidently too far from the router to connect my laptop. My Kindle Fire worked sometimes, not often. In order to get on line I had to sit in the foyer/lobby. Price was excellent. The location is a reasonable walk to the French Quarter - 15 to 20 minutes I guess. It was quiet. We were left to ourselves. The television was ancient. That would not have concerned me if the WiFi was functional. There was a refrigerator in the room and a microwave downstairs. Morning coffee was available. I would recommend the place. I'll probably return myself but will ask for Old Europe room on the ground floor. I think it can get the router's signal. Neighborhood seemed safe. Everyone I met on the street said hello.

Room Tip: check to see if the WiFi has been upgraded
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomb1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I have just returned from my first stay at The Creole Inn. Our party had five people, my twin daughters, a friend and her daughter. We stayed ten days and had the best time. I believe part because of who you travel with, the other the accomodations.

Charley and Kim were friendly, helpful and accomodating. We needed an extra mattress for our fifth person which was provided without hesitation. Our rooms were a little cramped for five but quite do-able, were all still friends :) The beds were very comfortable, our room had a small bar fridge also. Charley and Kim had a great knowledge of the area hot spots, restaurants etc.

I would not hesitate to recommend this Inn to anyone. Best bang for your buck. Looking forward to a return trip

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JD K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The W.G. Creole House 1850
#52 of 142 in New Orleans
11 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
French Quarter
Royal Barracks Guest House
Royal Barracks Guest House
#35 of 142 in New Orleans
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#5 of 142 in New Orleans
463 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
#19 of 142 in New Orleans
138 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Historic Creole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Historic Creole Inn

Address: 2471 Dauphine St, New Orleans, LA 70117-7848
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £55 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Historic Creole Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Old Historic Creole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Historic Creole Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing