We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Historic Creole Inn
Ranked #30 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We weren't exactly sure what to expect because of the low price and good reviews, but we were pleased with our choice. The owners were extremely friendly & gave us a ton of information. Rooms are small but nice and enough room for 2. We were able to find free parking on the street in the neighborhood and were able to walk to bars and restaurants including Frenchmen Street and the French Quarter. Overall, a good experience and you can't beat the price!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
There are newer reviews for Old Historic Creole Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

It's getting to be a bit of a habit, coming here, bordering on the compulsive. So much so, that I've booked again for this September. That's how enjoyable it is!! And for the price, you can't beat it for value.
The Karma, the calm of the Inn, the innkeepers, the prime location for venturing out, to converse with the other guests outback in the courtyard. To pool a collective knowledge of what to do and plan the day, from other peoples experiences, over a morning coffee. We're still finding new places to try from others, even after all these years.
We were humbled to be introduced to Ray this time, when he popped around to the Inn. We'd only seen the 6" inch photo of him in the lobby and it was good to meet the man himself.
Not that all was perfect and went to plan, (and as a personal favour), the guest parlor computer in the lobby alcove, as on their website amenities, didn't work and has been out of action for quite some time, from previous reviews.
The air conditioning to the upper floor was defective for the last three days of our stay (these things happen), the contractor was due after our departure. It highlighted the point that it would have been good to have a ceiling fan to oscillate the air, as the turbo-fan in the corner of the room was noisy on full power, and didn't quite 'puddle' the air.
The main ceiling light in Memories is of very low wattage, and with the high ceilings the room looked dark. The bedside lamp didn't help that much to the main light. But there were 4 nice lights over the mirror in the bathroom. A couple of table lamps for subdued lighting, and again, highlighted the point that a good fan & light fitting as a main light may be beneficial.
The old TV/VHS combo in the room when converting from 4:3 to 16:9 widescreen ends up with a 12" inch picture, and difficult to see from the other side of the room.
The shower unit in Memories is somewhat 'slimline', and for the more modest of us size-wise, could do with 'super-sizing' on the next re-furb. I can remember similar, in some of the other rooms from previous visit here.
The main wi-fi went down for a day or two, until Ray rebooted and reinstalled the system. But the upstairs booster didn't communicate with the hub terminal throughout the fortnight we were there.
By all means, no place can be found without fault, but none of these points detracted from our enjoyment in staying here, and without hesitation led to my booking here in September, as well as, to express to others how enjoyable and beneficial this place is when planning a trip to New Orleans.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Tommy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and would certainly recommend. Kim and Charley were hugely welcoming and accommodating and the room was a good size and very homely. They're located in a great spot in Marigny with a good number of local cafés and bars, but are only a 5 minute walk to Frenchman. A great value, local option.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank JCofBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We've stayed here 3 yrs. In a row and this is our go to inn. There's never a question of where we'll stay when in New Orleans. It's outside of the crowded french quarter but we'll within walking distance. The innkeepers are great! The rooms are very nice and the conversations in the courtyard are very friendly and helpful. Someone always knows where the best food is and what to visit and will give you directions. You can't go wrong staying here. We'll be back here again and again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed in the two bedroom, Sweet Dreams, which was clean, comfortable, and an outstanding value. This establishment is the essence of New Orleans culture and experience. The local food, esp breakfast, was the best I had the entire trip. About 1 mile to Jackson Square, and stunningly beautiful to take in the scenery in the way there. The caretaker is absolutely delightful, and makes a great pot of coffee each morning. Very genuine and kind people. There are rumors of a spirit in the home, and my first morning there, when I went to the bathroom, the door was closed. As I entered the hall to reach the bathroom there was an audible click as the latch undid itself, and then the door swung open for me. I thought that was quite polite.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amycapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was our second stay here at the Creole Inn. The inn keepers Charley and Kim are awesome. They really do go out of thier way to make your stay as great as possible, The place is clean and cheap. It is in a great. This is not a bed and breakfast or super luxury hotel, but the people are nice,and the rooms clean. We stayed in the Old European Suite. The new flooring in the bathrooms looked great!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica_T0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My friend and I rented the Cowboy room from June 1-5. It was a fantastic find. Two bedrooms and a private bathroom for a steal. About one mile from the French Quarter. Perfect!!! The rooms were clean. Fresh coffee every morning. Kim was super nice. The neighborhood was eclectic and we enjoyed sightseeing in the neighborhood. We really enjoyed our stay at Creole Inn and I will be sure to stay there everytime I get a chance to visit New Orleans. I highly recommend staying there!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The W.G. Creole House 1850
#52 of 141 in New Orleans
11 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
French Quarter
Royal Barracks Guest House
Royal Barracks Guest House
#35 of 141 in New Orleans
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#5 of 141 in New Orleans
463 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
#19 of 141 in New Orleans
138 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Historic Creole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Historic Creole Inn

Address: 2471 Dauphine St, New Orleans, LA 70117-7848
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £55 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Historic Creole Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Old Historic Creole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Historic Creole Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing