We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep Coming Back Again and Again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Historic Creole Inn
Ranked #32 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2010

A delightful 4th stay was experienced at the Creole Inn & Suites while attending the French Quarter Festival of 2010! It is so awesome to stay at a place where you are treated like family, which is a far cry from staying at an impersonal four star hotel! Gayle, who is such a delightful innkeeper, always warmly greets her guests. She works very hard to accommodate everyone's needs, and keeps the inn very clean while providing clean and soft linens for every room. The beds are wonderful - so, so comfortable! The bed in the Memories Suite is to die for!

The owners work very hard to create a pleasant stay for all guest, while keeping costs at a reasonable and affordable rate. This is very much appreciated! They make a great effort to ensure that all guest are treated fairly.

At every stay I fantasize that the Creole Inn and Suites is my second home, and that the Faubourg Marigny is my neighborhood. I will continue to be a repeated guest at this very cozy establishment whenever I'm in the lovely city of New Orleans!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2010

Last year, my Partner and I stayed at the Creole Inn for a one week Birthday Trip to NOLA. It was our first stay at the Creole, and we stayed in the two bedroom "Sweet Dreams" Suite. Dianna was the Inn Keeper then and she made us feel like we were a part of the family. The room was incredible, the Breakfast was Coffee, Tea, and Patries (just enough to wake ya up), Cleanliness was top Notch, and the freindliness of other guests made it feel as though we were staying at a friends house rather than a Guest House!

We LOVED our stay so much, that we immediatly booked a room for Southern Decadence (the following Labor Day) as soon as we got home from the March trip. Well we arrived only to find out that Unfortunately Dianna (the Former Inn Keeper) had suffered a stroke and retired. But the new Inn Keepers Chris and his wife were just as friendly and Helpfull. We unfortunately didn't get the same room, but instead got the Memories suite which was smaller, but just as Comfy. A few changes in furnishings and paint in the common room downstairs made the Inn a little bit classier, but I found that not as many of the guests would gather here. The omission of Dianna's Wine Social Nights were also a slight dissappointment, but our stay was still very comfortable and memorable. Many of the guests gather in the backyard Garden which has a very comfortable "Court Yard" feel and a fountain which was soothing to the soul and mind. Once again, the room was immaculate, the Towels were soft, and when there was no Frige in our room, Chris brought one up within an hour after our arrival. We loved walking the very short distance to the "Quarter", several Resaurants within walking distance - One which is even a convieniance and liquor store, and a short walk to some of our favorite bars. In the two stays we never heard any loud noises, traffic, or even the train that others have mentioned. The neighborhood was quiet, friendly, and clean. We even have a new Cat friend that seems to recognise us every time we go. I would recommend this Guest House to anybody that wants to feel at home when they travel. Nothing beets TRUE "Southern Hospitality", and that's what you find here. The guests are almost always a very diverse cross section of the real world, and the friendly environment is condusive to making new friends and, if you're up for it, a couple drinking buddies. This is the only place my partner and I stay when we come to N'awlins. We will be back in September!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimiJamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Our stay at the Creole Inn was wonderful. It is just close enough to the French Quarter (15 mins) but far enough away to enjoy the Marigny and all that it has has to offer. The Plantation room where we stayed was cozy, clean and well appointed. The bathroom was big (we could both get ready at the same time), although the shower was very small. Gayle, the innkeeper, was helpful and kind and did everything she could to ensure that out stay was a good one. There are small fridges in the rooms so you can take advantage and stock up at the little market nearby. The back patio area was very pretty and is a wonderful place to enjoy a beverage and a chat.
The Marigny is a charming neighborhood filled with neat little artsy places and local flair. People were very friendly and made us feel right at home.

We have only positive things to say about the Creole Inn. This is a gem of a place in a city where lodging can be very expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeanandMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

We had the Sweet Dreams Room and it was not clean! We are still hoping the bedsheets were! They look ok. You get suspicious when you find "dirty things left behind" around the bed. Not to mention the carpet under the bed might not have seen a vacuum for decades, then, you hope nothing of your things fall there, and it did! Gush! The bath was also poorly cleaned! However, we've seen few other rooms and they look better. Hope this is helping. May be you want to pick a room without a carpet, it may easier for the staff to maintain. We won't go back there.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MissBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreoleInn, Manager at Old Historic Creole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2010

We welcome comments from all guests. If there is ever an issue with our place we respond immediately and ask all guests to let us know ASAP with any issues. We do apoligize that you feel this way and we would have gladly refunded your $49 rates per nite and helped you find a high class hotel had we been notified upon your stay. We treat everyone with respect and ask that rude and high maintenance people stay at other places for $100+ per nite. We continue to emphasize that we are not a posh hotel and ask those with 5-Star hotel requirements stay at a chain hotel. New Orleans offers very nice and clean local guest houses and we are one of the BEST priced deals in town and 99% of our reviews note that. WE ASK THAT ALL THOSE GUESTS WHO NEED SPECIAL HIGH CLASS REQUIREMENTS BOOK AT TOP DOLLAR RATES at a chain hotel. Our Guest house is very nice and clean and we ask our guests to let us know upon arrival if they find otherwise. We will have our maid to clean the room to their standard. Please understand we are not a resort hotel with marble floors and a butler. We are a military family and will take the best of care of our guests personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Had booked a 2 Bedroom suite that had advertised a fridge & micro ..It had neither.
One bedroom had a terrible mattress and room so cold , it was uncomfortable even with 2 blankets.
The innkeeper never reported problem with heating in the 4 days we were there.

The free parking was on street if there was a spot open.
We enjoyed the restaurant, Feelings, that was just down the street.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank muldoon555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreoleInn, Manager at Old Historic Creole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2010

We have refunded this guest's money and aksed them to stay at a chain hotel on their next stay in New Orleans. We request that all guests who are booking in New Orleans and wish to stay at a 5-Star hotel to book at chain hotels for high dollar rates. We are a local establishment as are all Guest Houses and we offer a local and historic experience not a massage and personal maid service as our rates average $49 per nite. As anyone can read from guest reviews below that people love our place! Please please please book at a chain hotel if you don't want a local historic stay in New Orleans. Please dont stay at our lovely place for great rates and memory foam beds and then write a rude review of our home. Thank you kindly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

My husband and I booked the Plantation room for three nights - for only $45. While reviews were very favorable, we were still concerned because the price was so low. We arrived after a twisty, dangerous drive through the seedier areas of New Orleans (this is NOT the Inn's fault. We used a certain well-known internet mapping system that took us down Chef Menteur Highway to Louisa to Almonaster. There were people dealing drugs to cars driving up on Louisa! Safer to take I-10 to the Vieux Carre exit, down Canal to N. Peters to Elysian Fields, and then onto Dauphine. It's a bit longer, but what's a few miles when your safety is at stake?). Gayl, the innkeeper, greeted us warmly, told us how to use the electronic lock system on the door to get in and out, and provided us with menus of nearby restaurants that deliver (it was 10 PM and we were starving!). We had a very pleasant conversation with her and some guests who are also from Florida while we sat on the comfortable couch in the downstairs waiting for our food. Every other guest we've met has been absolutely friendly, by the way.

Now, on to the room. The positives: a memory foam mattress that is absolutely DIVINE. A television with real cable (about 80 channels) instead of that fakey hotel cable with 10 channels, one of which is cheesy tourist info. An in-room fridge. Hard wood floors. A spacious closet. Windows with a nice view. Beautiful furniture. Soap and 2-in-1 shampoo provided. Soft towels (no rough hotel towels here). A hair dryer. A nearby train (while I know this is a negative for most guests, I grew up with trains and the sound is comforting and homey to me. It's not terribly loud here, but the sound does carry). Just 14 minutes to the French Quarter and the street cars. Nearby cafes and coffee shops. Delightful innkeeper. Delightful guests. Fresh continental breakfast, with fresh baked breads. 24-hour access to a microwave downstairs, as well as coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. Wi-fi access. A community computer if you don't have a laptop. Almost always a nearby parking spot on the street. A beautiful courtyard behind the house.

The minuses: The shower in our room was really small. It's not impossible to take a shower in it, but if you're tall you're going to have to lean your head back or squat to wash your hair (I'm 5'8" and had to lean back to rinse my hair). I'm not sure a larger person would be comfortable in this shower. The toilet runs a bit - easy fix though, jiggle the handle then flush again...it's going to need a new flapper soon. Walls are thin, some guests had a young son who began squealing at about 7 AM and didn't stop until 10 or so (this is more a parenting issue than the Inn's fault, but just be aware, if you're on your honeymoon or anniversary or something like that, other guests can easily hear moderate to loud noises). Street noise - again, not the fault of the inn. We were here during the beginning of Mardi Gras, as well, which didn't help with the noise. Certainly not enough to make me wish I'd stayed somewhere else, but if you're a light sleeper, maybe some ear plugs or ambient noise would benefit you.

We loved our stay. I felt more like I was staying in a huge house filled with my friends than at a B&B. This would be my first choice for somewhere to stay on any return trips to New Orleans.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpaceCowgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

From the moment we arrived at the Inn, to the day we left, our stay was as great as one could dream of. Gayle, the innkeeper, was as gracious as she was helpful. It's not like we needed much help from her but when we asked for anything, she was willing to do what she could to help. The location of the inn kind of forced us to explore the city since it's a twenty minute walk to anywhere my wife and i wanted to go. We walked everywhere. No bikes, no taxis, not even the trolley, which I sort of wanted to try. We stayed for a week and walked back and forth to the French Quarter everyday and were never bothered by any local panhandlers until we got to the French Quarter. The surrounding neighborhood is surprisingly quiet. To sum up; We would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squidvictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The W.G. Creole House 1850
#44 of 141 in New Orleans
15 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Olde Town Inn
Olde Town Inn
#94 of 141 in New Orleans
297 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
#19 of 141 in New Orleans
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Historic Creole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Historic Creole Inn

Address: 2471 Dauphine St, New Orleans, LA 70117-7848
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £44 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Historic Creole Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Old Historic Creole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Historic Creole Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing