We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deal I have found inside the French Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Barracks Guest House
Ranked #36 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2012

A combination of its great location, wonderful value and hostess Kelly all make for a high recommendation of the Royal Barracks Guest House. I had the pleasure of staying with Kelly for a week, and was treated to two of the bedrooms during this time: the Bunk Room and the Garden Room.

I found the Bunk Room to be what many may find as an acquired taste; I however loved it. It is a small room with beautiful blue tiles, small shower and restroom area (not the most privacy) and larger- than- life bunk beds. The room reminded me of something out of an earlier season of MTV's "The Real World." While small, I loved the vibe of the space and with its location one block from Bourbon Street, one could not beat the amazing rate of $79- $89. It was well worth it, and a novelty within itself. Special note though to guests during the cold months; the room is rather quite cold during cool nights, and the wall unit wasn't as much help. It is nothing that an extra blanket cannot cure, just be sure to bring one ahead of time.

Later in the week, we moved into the Garden Room. While less novel than the Bunk Room, I found this space to be remarkably cozy. Tucked away in the corner of the building, I felt as though I had great privacy and the room was warmer and very inviting. The shower and bathroom area were larger as well, and once again were such a great value.

Kelly is a separate facet of the Royal Barracks Guest House that must be commented on; what an absolutely charming woman. From the moment we each met Kelly, she was sharing glasses of wine, stories and plates of cheese and berries. She is an excellent hostess who was not only attentive, but warm, a true belle and provided all of the little extras that help make a trip to New Orleans unique.

Royal Barracks Guest House is not a Ritz Carlton, and should not be compared to one. Those who are looking to stay in the French Quarter at a low cost and experience an inn that is true to the history and flare of the town will love staying here. For those guests that want a high- end, polished and newer lodging experience, I would recommend one of the larger chains in the Central Business District. For all the rest of us, please do not hesitate to stay with Kelly; I was highly satisfied with the inn.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank justinhuska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

We loved our stay and recommend RBGH very highly.

We stayed in the Suite which has private entrance from the street, two large rooms and a long but skinny private bath. The rooms were beautifully furnished and had tall ceilings and a fireplace. The bedroom could be closed off from the front room with pocket doors so the room was well protected from the street. Very comfortable bed. The bath is very narrow, but functional. Shower only.

The location is perfect: close enough to walk to the entire French Quarter, including Bourbon St., but on one of the quiet, residential streets. Our favorite breakfast place, Croissant D'Or, was only 2 blocks away. We felt very safe here, even walking late at night.

Kelly was the perfect hostess. She waited for us to arrive even though the weather made us 90 minutes late for our scheduled arrival time.

If you drive, you need to park your car in a lot at $18./day - cheap for NOLA. Kelly can recommend a lot that's only a few blocks away. You can park from 7 pm to 7 am, but may get ticketed if you don't move your car by 7am. This is the only inconvenience.

Room Tip: There was a special on the suite when we visited. It was a great value with much more personality t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rviolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We have been to New Orleans many times and this was our first time to stay at Royal Barracks, we will never stay anywhere else again. The Suite was first class all the way and the management AWESOME!

Room Tip: Highly recommend The Suite Room! Secure and private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clcrouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We stayed at the Royal Barracks Guest House early November 2011. We stayed in the bunker room, which was very interesting and unlike any hotel room I've ever stayed in. Kelly and Sugar were great hostesses, and we were even offered a beer from Kelly upon arrival!! Great locations right near Frenchman street and walking distance to Bourbon Street.

Only problem was there is no paid parking and we didn't know this ahead of time. So we parked on the street for the two days we were there and hoped for the best. Luckily we did not get a ticket but the parking near the guest house are all two hour parking, so you have to be careful.

Clean and nice, and will def come back here where we come to New Orleans again!

-Cara and Shawn

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaraCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The RBGH was great for us. The neighborhood was quiet and close to where we wanted to walk in the French Quarter. I was amused when Sugah Baby escorted us to the beautiful courtyard. Kelly was easy going and wonderful to talk to. The Blue Room was small, quaint, complete with its own unexplained noises, and great for the price. If you want a feel for the French Quarter, this was it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This was my third trip to New Orleans and our second stay at the Royal Barracks. We came back to stay here for its location in the French Quarter (close to Frenchmen St!), the unique charm of each room, Halloween, and all the little things that make a trip great. Kelly (& sugah B!) is simply the best hostess you can find, always helpful, knowledgeable about the city & things to do, and loves to see her guests enjoy themselves!! Lots of little amenities like bathrobes, refrigerator, complimentary beads, Halloween snacks & ice machine in the beautiful courtyard. Every room is beautifully decorated with its own theme, wish I could stay in all of them! Just go stay there & enjoy life. You won't regret it. We love Kelly, sugah B, & everyone at the Royal Barracks... and will be back as soon as we can! See you next time,

Wesley & Kristin

Room Tip: All rooms are described well on their website. Even better than we expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Very accomodating hostesses, including Sugah who left us a toy when she escorted us to the room. Friendly, helpful, but unintrusive. Stayed in the suite and while there were a few very minor glitches (a "haunted" microwave) it was wonderful. Hubby fell in love with the mattress because it was so comfortable. The location was just what I was looking for - not in the thick of the French Quarter, but still there. It was a quiet, relaxing respite. There are touches of southern hospitality everywhere, from the Information binder in the room to the Halloween treats in the courtyard to Kelly herself, and more. Will stay here again when we return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louavullgalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Villa Convento
Hotel Villa Convento
#102 of 166 in New Orleans
504 reviews
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#51 of 166 in New Orleans
635 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#55 of 166 in New Orleans
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Lafitte Guest House
Lafitte Guest House
#24 of 142 in New Orleans
571 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
French Quarter
Bon Maison Guest House
Bon Maison Guest House
#44 of 142 in New Orleans
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Barracks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Barracks Guest House

Address: 717 Barracks St, Between Bourbon and Royal, New Orleans, LA 70116-2516
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £59 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Barracks Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Barracks Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Barracks Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing