We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #32 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a beautiful gem!”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We found this B&B through internet and from the moment we arrived we felt at home and at ease. The rooms were beautifully decorated and very clean. Schuyler and David were wonderful hosts. They provided us with a lot of information and tips to find our way through New Orleans. We immediately fell in love with the city and promised to come back again. For sure we will stay here, safe, quiet, clean and cosy. Thank you Schuyler and David!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marjan de visse... d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    29
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
112
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cobden, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We had a wonderful time at Chez Palmiers. Chez Palmiers is the real deal, located on the edge of the French Quarter. Away from the maddening crowd. Homey, comfortable and no pretentions. It was like being at home away from home. Schuyler was a wonderful host, genuinely interested in us, and always helpful with suggestions on what was happening in the New Orleans area. We were so comfortable there that we stayed an extra night, five in total and got to meet David as well. The parades were so much fun!! We had a blast!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Schuyler and David are great hosts: friendly, informative with regards to eating establishments and sights to see, the history of the area. We stayed in the Grande Suite which has a bedroom, sitting room and private bathroom which was great for us. The location is within walking distance to the French Quarter and short driving distance to many good restaurants.
We had been told parking was an issue and costly in New Orleans but we always found parking directly in front of the B and B.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJSD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Staying at David and Schuyler’s Band B the week before Mardi Gras was perfect for us: The Grand Suite was comfortable suite with eclectic decor interesting books, and a private bath. Breakfasts were set out for us and we appreciated being able to take our time and enjoy quiet mornings before heading out. Schuyler and David are perfect hosts, charming, thoughtful and informative. We loved the pleasant back garden to sit out and get some sun. We are already planning our return trip !

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sirenenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Located right in the midst of "El Barrio/The Community", I found Chez Palmiers to being a little jewel; it was cozy (my fiancé & I stayed in the upstairs Loft apartment). Not to mention, THERE WAS ALWAYS A PARKING SPACE DIRECTLY IN FRONT OF THE ESTABLISHMENT!! When one rents a car for vacation, you can't imagine the importance of that one detail; big hotels in the CBD charge astronomical prices for the "privilege" of parking close to their business, not to mention tipping the valets... and I've stayed at many.

Schuyler & David were very friendly & accommodating. I loved this old Creole Cottage, and each time I entered the home, I imagined just how did the people back in the 1800"s lived. Historic as well as... ECONOMICAL!! Another very BIG DEAL! I was quite short on funds, but needed (and I mean NEEDED!) to return home for my fiancé's 60th birthday.

I'd recommend this establishment/home for anyone seeking a modestly priced place to stay without a lot of fanfare, but with a pleasant, homey and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BayouBaby504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lost River, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I usually don't bother to write reviews but this place was so great it deserves one. We stayed in the Grand Suite and were very comfortable. Only two easy blocks from the French Quarters. David and Schuyler were both very helpful. Day began with freshly made coffee and a great selection of breads, danish, cheeses, fresh fruits and berries and cereals. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to the big easy. Thank you David and Schuyler.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Unfortunately after reading all the great reviews on trip advisor, we went to book a stay and apparently we were subject to false advertisement. Because the owners didn't get the website updated, they wanted to change our rate from $95 per night to $200. Seems to me they should honor what was quoted on the website. Unfortunate, but for the $2400 they wanted for 2 rooms, we'll be able to rent an entire house.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msuguy1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchuylerH, Owner at Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
We rarely respond to negative reviews. One, because we rarely receive them. But mostly because we know we are not going to be the right place for everyone. The numerous positive reviews we've received speak for themselves, and us.

However, this reviewer presents a different case. He has never stayed with us. He also did not mention above that he was booking rooms for Mardi Gras. He apparently didn't look through our website very thoroughly, but instead thought he'd found an incredible deal for Mardi Gras when he made a reservation request through our booking engine--a different website. And indeed, the regular rates that were still listed there--not yet updated for a year from now--of $95 per night would be amazing for MG. Had he bothered to look at the current rates on the homepage of OUR website, MG rates for 2014 are $185 per night.

There is no false advertising here. No misleading. Perhaps he didn't realize the dates he wanted fall during MG. But that's not our fault. When his reservation request came in, we immediately responded to let him know that the rates he saw on Webervations were not correct and that our Mardi Gras rates for 2015 will be $200 per night. When he then responded asking for a total for the two rooms he wanted for six nights, we promptly responded with that total.

For anyone who has ever booked rooms or a house in New Orleans for Mardi Gras, we're sure you'll agree it's highly unlikely he's going to find two rooms let alone a house for less than what we charge. Well, ok, he might. But for sure, it won't be anywhere near where he wants to be for Mardi Gras.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#5 of 138 in New Orleans
566 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 138 in New Orleans
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#41 of 138 in New Orleans
122 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#38 of 138 in New Orleans
277 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
#20 of 138 in New Orleans
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1744 N Rampart St, New Orleans, LA 70116-1914
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Faubourg Marigny just two blocks from the French Quarter and four blocks from Frenchman Street (popular with the neighborhood's locals), at Chex Palmiers you'll be within easy walking distance of many of the sites, restaurants, bars and clubs, and the characters and music that have made New Orleans famous. Public transportation is not far way, making it easy to explore other parts of the city as well. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing