We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have stayed at The Burgundy many times.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #43 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is my B&B for when I stay a night or two (or more) in New Orleans. I live an hour drive away so can go as often as I can get a room. It's so nice, homey and comfortable. Carl and his crew make you feel the old southern hospitality. A great breakfast, lovely rooms, a good sleep, just great. I highly recommend this B&B which is a little off the beaten path, but very accessible to the French Quarter and everything else you want in Nola.

Room Tip: Everyone seems to like the Red Room best, and that's where I stayed. But I have been in each of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

We ladies were a group of 5 staying from 3/18-3/22-14. Our accommodations were comfortable and safe. The breakfast in the mornings was delicious with fresh fruit and anything you could want. It is located close to the Quarter and we enjoyed the swing on the front porch. It was fun interacting with the neighborhood people who were friendly walkers. Carl was very kind and helpful scheduling events and providing discounts and expertise on things to see. We felt comfortable coming and going at different hours and were made to feel very welcome. Thank you Carl!

Jan Anderson/Phoenix, AZ

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Let me start this review by saying that I'm not much of a B&B person. My husband is in the military and when we had a last minute flight change that lest us with four extra vacation days, we made a dash for New Orleans. The price was right, it was close to the french quarter and there was free parking and free wifi.
Carl was a wonderful host, he was friendly and available but I never felt pushed to socialize. Immediately upon our arrival he set us up with a map, easy walking directions to the French Quarter and a list of restaurants not to be missed.
Breakfast was served daily, a clean, nicely equipped kitchen was available for us and there is a hot tub out back. All in all, a charming place.
I recommend the Burgundy Bed and Breakfast to anyone visiting New Orleans.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank misty d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

There ended up being 6 of us staying in two rooms. Carl was most accomidating with us coming and leaving at different times. The space we had was great and the whole house is so comfortable. We loved the neighborhood, especailly Frenchman Street. Great restaurants, bars, and the Art Market just a few blocks away was awsome. No problems walking to the Quarter.

Room Tip: We had the Red room and Green Room. Green room was perfect for 3 people. We added a rollaway in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

What I liked was that I felt comfortable. The location is great to get out of the craziness and enjoy the quaint neighborhood and some excellent little dining/bars nearby. It's not overly fancy and to me that made me feel more at home. We were able to use the fridge and kitchen supplies and enjoyed the hot tub on the back patio. Carl was a pleasant host and willing to answer any questions while at the same time wasn't intrusive. As it has been many years since I have stayed in a B & B, this reminds me why I need to do it more frequently, and New Orleans is a great place for this type of alternative. The 15 minute walk to the French Quarter was enjoyable. Definitely recommend. And make sure you eat at Mimi's- Go upstairs to the Tapas Bar.

Room Tip: Request the burgundy room if you want private access to the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eureka1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

And Carl helped us a lot for that.
The Burgundy is a nice house where to stay. He was helpful and answered all our questions, even helping with private stuff when he could.
The position is great: 10 minutes from Frenchmen Str, 15 min from the French quarter means being close to the life of NOLA, but far away from noise and music (I couldn't think of sleeping close to Burboun St.!)
Carl could also rent us two bikes which were a very good way to go around the city.
We slept wonderfully in the Green Room (the Coral Room was slightly less comfortable for us, as the mattress is very soft).
The breakfast was always plentiful and tasty, also Carl would always sit and chit-chat and provide whatever info or food necessary.
We simply had a wonderful time here. And if you need anything, just ask Carl!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nini_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Great place to stay! Carl is most helpful in pointing out things to do and he helps even make reservations for certain things for you at a discounted price!
We looked for a gay B&B with a jacuzzi and this place was wonderful.
We used 2 different rooms and both were very enjoyable rooms with private bathroom, tv and enough space (you won't feel cramped in these rooms)
Nice friendly neighborhood as well and an easy 15/20 minute walk to the. French quarter of New Oleans.
We would def. recommend this B&B and would be happy to return there!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank stockychaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#39 of 142 in New Orleans
281 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#47 of 142 in New Orleans
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
#38 of 142 in New Orleans
171 reviews
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#27 of 142 in New Orleans
172 reviews
Rathbone Mansions
#34 of 142 in New Orleans
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2513 Burgundy St, New Orleans, LA 70117-7831
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £95 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast has 4 guest rooms, each with its own private bath. We share the courtyard, spa, porches and the dining room with our guests. And there is a parlor and a galley kitchen for the guests to share. The rear porch opens onto a courtyard, which is suitable for sunbathing. Across the courtyard is the half-open “carriage house”, in which the spa is located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HRS, HotelsClick, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burgundy b&b
The Burgundy Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing