We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unusual place”

Bacchanal Fine Wine & Spirits
Ranked #46 of 236 Nightlife in New Orleans
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Unusual place”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

This is a combination wine store/bar/restaurant/club. We were there on a beautiful Monday night and the place was hopping. We didn't eat there (went to The Joint nearby -- see other review), but sipping wine on a terrace overlooking the garden of diners while listening to live music made for a terrific experience. I heard the food was great, too, and look forward to going back and trying it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelFan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    18
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great concept, amazing music”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This is a true hidden gem! One of my friends found it as she was researching wine stores in NOLA online before our trip, but we were unsure, because of the location. On the second day of our visit our waiter at an upscale bar recommended it, so we were sold! The walk from Canal street to Bacchanal took a little over an hour, and passed by a questionable area, so a taxi is recommended. If only New Orleans' taxi service was up to par...
We selected a few great bottles of wine (prices are probably 10% above retail), different cheeses and some food (octopus, mussels). The food was just ok, but redeemed by the delicious cheese board served with olive oil toast.
The best part of the night was the live music - a performance by a Belgian cellist (Helen Gillet) who completely blew us away! Highly, highly recommended!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shmurka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, uninspired music”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The food was excellent, the wine fine, the people from the Bacchanal itself were very friendly and helpful, and the place itself has a lot of charm, so important aspects were taken care of.
But... the band playing, The Courtyard Kings, was very uninspired and creating a self fulfilling prophecy: they wouldn't make an effort to connect and the public was not responding much. Quite a shame.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Labeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“It's not what is hyped up to be”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

If you like eating off of dirty tables, among the bugs and mud ( if it rains) than this place is for you. Yeah, the wine selection is great and the concept as well, but honestly the food was not as great as expected...The steak was well done and tough, the chicken was nice and ceviche quite good, but eating by tiki torches and hipsters that talk way too loud was not the experience I had read about..There are so many awesome place to go in new Orleans, I would choose another one.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina1176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 475 helpful votes
“A real gem in The Bywater”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

A friend and I were staying at the Lookout Inn, a block and a half up the road, and had seen Bacchanal on our neighborhood map. It is a wine shop and tasting bar in front, with a full bar upstairs, some tables for seating, and the restaurant in back, downstairs. You select a table either in the large back yard or upstairs, order your food and it is brought to you when ready. The wine bar oozes old world charm, the upstairs has beautifully restored woodwork and the outdoor area is like hanging out at a friend's house. There was a jazz trio playing the night we were there and they were GOOD. The food was terrific. We shared a smoked trout salad, broccoli rabe, a pork shoulder stew and the flatiron steak. Everything was done perfectly and creatively. Great flavors. Prices neither high nor low; good "value for money". We liked it so much we went back a time or two for wine.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank NativeCalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bacchanal Fine Wine & Spirits also viewed

 

Been to Bacchanal Fine Wine & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing