We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Come if You are Light Sleeper”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #38 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2011

the B&B is located on St Charles at both a rail-car stop and a stoplight. Between the screeching rail cars and cars peeling down the street, sirens, and the like, I simply wasn't able to sleep (and I was given suppossedly the quietiest room). I do need quiet to go to sleep. If you are one of those I'm out the instant my head hits the pillow people this place will work for you or if you are planning to get drunk the FQ then also good. Otherwise, stay away. the breakfast is very underwhelming---a canned-boxed spread worthy of a small Texas town but not New Orleans. The highlights? Boiled eggs. In second place--Canned Biscuits. I'm not kidding. I left early. There was no refund even for nights beyond 24 hours.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

Ideally located on the St Charles streetcar line-we never needed our car during our visit. Stayed in the Evergreen room-well appointed, quieter perhaps since it didn't front on St Charles. Rachel was a great hostess! Breakfast was essentially DIY but with a great selection to pick from. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We were thrilled with the Grand Victorian. The location was ideal in the beautiful Garden District away from downtown but with convenient access to the street car. Our suite is full of gorgeous furniture and decorated exquisitely. It is quite special. Bonnie and Rachel are most helpful. Thanks again ladies!

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank dolphinWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We spent the weekend at the Grand Victorian and had a wonderful time! Our room was very neat and clean and the inn keeper, Bonnie was very nice and helpful during our stay. The B&B was in a great location for anyone wanting to get a little bit away from the hustle and bustle of the Quarter but close enough for lots of adventures! The famous cemetary right down the street, magazine St, Commanders Palace and many beautiful home to see! The streetcar picks you up right out front. Their was a bit of a delay when we were there, sometimes waiting 30+ min but I think that is unusual, so you might be better off driving which isnt a big deal either. The breakfast was wonderfast and a large variety. pastries, boiled eggs, buscuits, fruit, cereal, etc. I wish it had been served a bit earlier but I'm sure at your request that wouldnt be an issue. There is a nice large balcony on the side too that you cant sit out on and enjoy the passing cars on St Charles. We would definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with a personal balcony, cant remember the name. Very Large! Might be a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smoody0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Location, location, location!! They are on St. Charles with a trolley stop just across the avenue, and you cannot find yourself better situated for enjoying the lovely Garden District as well as venturing down into the French Quarter. The house itself is a stunning Queen Anne, so much atmosphere! The service was also first rate. Bonnie was an absolute gem and so very helpful with restaurant and reservation recommendations. We stayed in the Greenwood Suite and were thoroughly enchanted and oh so comfortable. The bed linens were divine and the suite was a perfect retreat from the August heat. Breakfast in the morning was spot on with a nice choice of cereals and also something hot each day. We are already looking forward to staying here on our next trip to New Orleans.

Room Tip: The Greenwood Suite has a charming balcony that looks out on to St. Charles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARenoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Everthing about our stay was "oh, so inviting." We have stayed many times in New Orleans but never in a B&B in the Garden District. The house is just beautiful and we we felt at home. We loved our room. We just pretended we lived in the 1800's and either caught the trolley or walked everwhere we went. We have already recommended the Grand Victorian to friends and family. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed at the Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast for our honeymoon during late June- early July 2011. We were more than satisfied with all aspects of our trip. The innkeeper, Bonnie, was very accommodating during our stay, and is very knowledgeable about the New Orleans area and tourist attractions. She was more than happy to book excursions for us, and suggest places to eat & things to do and see. Bonnie was very courteous in her communications prior to and after our stay as well. We stayed in the Nottoway honeymoon suite, and loved it! The Victorian decoration of the room was very cozy, and had a very homey feel to it. It was always very clean, and our room was very private. We had a private balcony overlooking the street from our room as well. The house is located in a quieter part of town, which we enjoyed. It is not far from the main part of the city by streetcar, but is far enough away that the hustle and bustle of city life doesn't prevent you from getting a good night's sleep. Overall, we really enjoyed ourselves, and will return to the GVBB on our next trip to New Orleans!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashleyangel510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#27 of 142 in New Orleans
173 reviews
Garden District
Garden District B&B
Garden District B&B
#45 of 142 in New Orleans
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 142 in New Orleans
766 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 142 in New Orleans
682 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Melrose Mansion
Melrose Mansion
#15 of 142 in New Orleans
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2727 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-5929
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £131 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on St. Charles Ave. in the Garden District just minutes from the French Quarter, our New Orleans Bed and Breakfast was designed and built in 1893 by famed New Orleans architect Thomas Sully. Lovingly restored to its former glory and decorated with period furnishings, our romantic New Orleans B&B welcomes you to a majestic past with all the comforts and conveniences the modern travel needs. Enjoy our complimentary expanded continental breakfast, Wi-Fi and guest drinks and snacks. The perfect safe and secluded location steps to the St. Charles Ave. streetcar with access to the French Quarter, Tulane University, Magazine Street & the best restaurants of NOLA. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing