We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful 1st time in a B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #39 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Morgan City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful 1st time in a B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

This B&B was the very 1st one we stayed at, we wanting to go back to the Grand Victorian in the future. The street car picks you up right in the front of the inn, you can take the street car any where in the garden district very quiet place to stay. The people you meet is so awesome. We met a couple and starting talking the whole weekend. You can not get this kind of warmth and kindness anywhere else but at a B&B. The room we stayed in was roomy and very comfortable, we loved the idea at having our own a/c so we could keep it warm or cold. The breakfast was great. Everything at the inn was great.

Thanks Bonnie for an awesome 1st time trip to a B&B

Tanya and Wayne from Morgan City LA

Room Tip: The room by the dining room was real quiet. Even though they did not have a pool or a fitness center...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    26
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
27
98
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

This B&B was the perfect location for a trip to NOLA. On the trolley line and at the edge of the Garden District. Bonnie the owner knows practically everything about NOLA and was so very helpful in her insight and opinions. The weekend staff was fabulous. Jeanine and the other young lady were helpful, nice, willing to serve. Great attitudes overall. We stayed in The Hideaway Room. Loved it as it is more private and has its own balcony. Lots of stairs so if this is a factor, be forwarned. Only complaint would be I did not think the bathroom was as clean as it should be. This is a very old home so expect creaking and old home noises. AC worked great and our room was very quiet. We heard very little road noise. Breakfast was fine-although my husband prefers more eggs or a hot breakfast. Fresh fruit, cereal, granola, yogurt, breads. Great coffee-provides a good start to a day in NOLA. I would stay here again as I really enjoyed it. Very different from a hotel but that is why you stay in a B& B.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandVictorianBandB, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for the wonderful compliments as well as the constructive criticism. I apologize that your bathroom wasn't as clean as it should have been. I wish that I had known this problem while you were here so that I could have corrected it on the spot. Thanks to your comments, we have just launched refresher training sessions for our housekeeping staff in the hope that we will never have this problem again.
I appreciate your feedback and hope that you do come back to stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel Hill, Florida USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

This B&B is an excellent location, Trolly stop right in front. Roomy and comfortable. Staff is knowlegable and very friendly. Breakfast is just right to start the day of sightseeing and eating. The balcony is spacious and is on a corner allowing a good few of intersecting streets.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

The streetcar picks up right in front of inn. You can stage to anywhere from here. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. Room was perfect for a romantic getaway. We attended the New Orleans cooking experience while staying here. Did a walking tour of the garden district, spent time in the French quarter, and ate lots of good food

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgejwlks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

We went to the Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast in New Orleans for our 26th wedding anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The B&B is in a perfect location to jump on a street car or to walk just about anywhere in the Garden District. It has been beautifully restored both inside and out with a lot of wonderful antiques. Bonnie, Rachel and Monica all provided great customer service and made our trip extra special for us. My only wish is that we could have stayed a lot longer because we loved the B&B and New Orleans.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsparis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed for the first weekend of Mardi Gras. Bonnie is great - she is very knowledgeable about the area and willing to share her knowledge. The house is beautiful. The location is incredible. What else do you need to know?

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasGat0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baton rouge, la
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

I stay at the Grand Victorian often when I have business in NOLA. I always enjoy the comradery with Bonnie while I am there. The house is beautiful and has a wonderful ambiance with the vintage woodwork and polished floors. I have stayed in both of the first floor plantation bedrooms and have found both to be quite comfortable. Walking down to Magazine Street on Washington Avenue is one of my favorite things to do in this section of uptown New Orleans. As a former resident of New Orleans, I appreciate being able to come back to the city and have a place I can feel at home while I am there. Many thanks, Bonnie, for providing a haven for guests to hang their hat while in the "Big Easy."

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank StockadeOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Hubbard Mansion
#32 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#18 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#22 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Garden District
Garden District B&B
Garden District B&B
#42 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#2 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Property: Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2727 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-5929
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on St. Charles Ave. in the Garden District just minutes from the French Quarter, our New Orleans Bed and Breakfast was designed and built in 1893 by famed New Orleans architect Thomas Sully. Lovingly restored to its former glory and decorated with period furnishings, our romantic New Orleans B&B welcomes you to a majestic past with all the comforts and conveniences the modern travel needs. Enjoy our complimentary expanded continental breakfast, Wi-Fi and guest drinks and snacks. The perfect safe and secluded location steps to the St. Charles Ave. streetcar with access to the French Quarter, Tulane University, Magazine Street & the best restaurants of NOLA. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing