We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$332
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$302
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
134
28
7
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
134
28
7
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommander's palacegarden districtgreenwood roomcomplimentary sherrymagazine ststreetcar stopupstairs porchbeignet placeextra touchesearly departurelafayette cemeterycreature comfortsfrench quartersuper comfortable bedbreakfast was deliciouslocation is greattrue southern hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The home is gorgeous and beautifully decorated. Absolutely loved the stained glass in our bathroom window. The innkeeper and the staff are friendly and full of great information. We felt very at home and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location makes it an absolute win! You step outside and cross the street to catch the streetcar and yet it's quiet at night - perfect! Our only discomfort was the size of the bed. If you are a larger person or couple (my boyfriend is 6'2") you might consider opting for a larger room or a bed without a foot board on it so you can stretch out fully.

Room Tip: If you aren't an early riser, avoid the first floor room near the breakfast area.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AshlieTBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandVictorianBandB, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Ashlie, thanks for your comments about your stay at my B&B. I'm glad that your overall experience here was a good one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The convenience of the Grand Victorian is outstanding. A convenient trolley stop, easy walk to Magazine Street, and close to Commander's Palace. Bonnie is a gracious and knowledgeable host. She provided interesting and helpful information and great restaurant suggestions. Our room was large, clean, beautifully furnished, and only lacked a good reading light. We loved the European-style bathroom. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank insights100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

First, the good stuff. Fantastic location in the beautiful Garden District right by a trolly stop. Lovely building with high, soaring ceilings and a definite feel of Old South. We stayed in the large room at the front of the building, and it was huge with huge bathroom. The tub was great, but forget about it for a shower. Ah, I've segued into the other stuff. There was a breakfast, but it was instant oatmeal, Linder's bagels, cereal, and some fruit. It was really disappointing. Coffee was tricky to get before 8:30. The front room was LOUD. It's on a main street with a trolley that runs all night. The bed was kinda hard and lumpy. The staff was okay - some of them were much friendlier than others. This is a great place to stay if you like privacy, quiet, and to be left alone. Which, for lots of people in New Orleans, I think would be the case. Note: the trolly ride to the French Quarter is about 15 minutes and costs $1.25 for one way or $3 for an unlimited day pass. If you stay here, make a reservation at Commander's Palace (only two blocks away) and visit Audubon Park.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SGTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandVictorianBandB, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

I'm sorry that you had such a bad experience at my home, even though you did seem to enjoy my neighborhood and other areas of New Orleans. The Greenwood suite's European-style bathroom and location were obviously not a good fit for your needs. I might have selected a quieter, more conventional room for you instead. Our self-proclaimed extended continental breakfast could never compare to the "amazing" gourmet one that you had at your other B&B across town.
I do appreciate your feedback and will address your concerns so that future travelers might have a better overall experience than you did.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Wonderful location in the Garden district right across from the streetcar stop. Our room was spotless and the amenities were very nice. We enjoyed sitting on the second floor balcony sipping our complimentary sherry. Bonnie was very accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyGirl163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandVictorianBandB, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thanks for the feedback! I'm glad that we could meet your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We recently stayed at the Grand Victorian, a beautifully restored mansion on St. Charles Avenue. Our room was lovely and the owner, Bonnie, very helpful. The B&B has a street car stop right in front. Nice to stay away from the French Quarter, but to only be a short ride away. Two blocks from Commander's Palace, the famous Gardens District homes, and a New Orleans style famous cemetery -- all easy walking. Also close to Magazine Street with lots of shopping and restaurants. This particular B&B had a nice patio upstairs. We used it alot in the mornings to have our coffee, and in the afternoons for our down time. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews