We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming!!! Great Location!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #39 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sunrise Beach, Texas
2 reviews
“Charming!!! Great Location!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

Wonderful old N.O. home with trolly stop right in front!! Easy access to all of the places you come to New Orleans to see. Some of the bedrooms can be a little noisy, but hey, your on St. Charles street, the best place in N.O. to stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jalawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    26
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
27
98
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Watson, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2010

The Grand Victorian is a beautiful & faithfully restored old Victorian mansion on the corner of St. Charles & Washington Aves. On this trip, we stayed in one of the downstairs rooms, Oak Alley (the rooms are each named for area plantation homes), but we have stayed in other rooms on previous trips. The proprietor, Bonnie Rabe, warmly greeted us & treated us as though we were family. She is invaluable in recommending restaurants & activities in the area.

Our room was impeccably clean & beautifully appointed, as usual - the website has virtual tours of each room, so check out the rooms for yourself. Each morning, there was a nice Continental breakfast laid out to start the day. It was a little too chilly to enjoy the 2nd floor balcony on this trip, but we have taken advantage of this on previous trips - the perfect place to enjoy a cup of coffee while reading the newspaper or planning the day's activities. Since it is situated on the famous St. Charles streetcar line, getting to historical areas of New Orleans was really convenient.

On previous trips, we stayed at the GVBB during Mardi Gras, which is just perfect! It's right on the downtown parade route, & we could watch the parades roll in front of the house. We would have like to stay for this Mardi Gras, but it was booked up particularly early this year. We'll make our plans earlier for next Mardi Gras, to be sure!

There are 2 considerations before you book your trip:
1. It's an old house. It's been renovated & updated into a B&B, but it's still an *old* house. If you're looking for a sleek, modern, glass-&-chrome type of lodging, the Grand Victorian B&B will NOT be your cup of tea.
2. It's a bit noisy - not the house itself, but the location. St. Charles Avenue, while gorgeous & quaint, is a well-travelled thoroughfare with a streetcar line in front. This type & volume of ambient noise is typical for urban settings - if you're an extremely light sleeper, bring earplugs, because this stunning B&B is worth it!

We have stayed with Bonnie at the Grand Victorian numerous times in the past, & we will be back - guaranteed.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bootsychoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

Great location, helpful owner, friendly staff, and beaultiful house, but cleaning and plumbing need work.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BitseyTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

My fiance and I decided to elope in New Orleans - without ever visiting the city and with very limited recommendations on . We were pointed to the Grand Victorian from the minister we hired to marry us- what a gem we found! We spoke with Bonnie before we booked the room and she was extremely accomendating to us and our parents. She even made dinner reservations for us at the wonderful Commander's Palace. She was a very gracious host and her staff was very friendly and helpful. We were married in the parlor and celebrated with champagne and cake in the dining room - Bonnie went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. We loved the beautiful inn, the Southern hospitality and the amazing charm of New Orleans. We look forward to celebrating an anniversary or two at the Big Easy and will have to stay at our NOLA home away from home, the GVBB!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCS2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2009

My husband and I just returned from celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary in New Orleans. It was my first time visiting The Big Easy and also our first time staying in a B&B. Bonnie, the innkeeper, was very kind and accommodating. A streetcar (trolley) stop is located practically right outside the door which makes getting around very convenient and inexpensive. Because we had breakfast and brunch (you MUST visit Commander's Palace and Brennan's) reservations while there, we only had breakfast at the B&B one morning; , there was a variety of food (bagels, fruit, yogurt, etc.) and breakfast drinks available. We stayed in the Rosedown room which was nicely appointed with beautiful antiques. If I could have changed one thing, it would have been the bed size (full) as my husband and I are used to the roominess of a king-size bed, but it certainly was not uncomfortable. We found the B&B to have a much more personal touch than a hotel could offer.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TITANS4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2009

My family stayed at the Grand Victorian on a college trip to Loyola. It was a wonderful experience! The innkeeper, Bonnie, was fantastic. Our schedule was a little hectic and she was very accomodating to our needs. It is in a great location and very convenient for the trolley access to local universities as well as the french quarter. Clean, safe and very charming. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdavila7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix,
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

My husband and I really had a romantic time. The little touches really completed everything. The spa tube comes complete with a rubber ducky. Our room was very victorian feeling. We loved it. It's right next to the trolley too.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cocotree5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Hubbard Mansion
#32 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#18 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#22 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Garden District
Garden District B&B
Garden District B&B
#42 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#2 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Property: Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2727 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-5929
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on St. Charles Ave. in the Garden District just minutes from the French Quarter, our New Orleans Bed and Breakfast was designed and built in 1893 by famed New Orleans architect Thomas Sully. Lovingly restored to its former glory and decorated with period furnishings, our romantic New Orleans B&B welcomes you to a majestic past with all the comforts and conveniences the modern travel needs. Enjoy our complimentary expanded continental breakfast, Wi-Fi and guest drinks and snacks. The perfect safe and secluded location steps to the St. Charles Ave. streetcar with access to the French Quarter, Tulane University, Magazine Street & the best restaurants of NOLA. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing