We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not terrible, but not good for New Orleans standards”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Horn's

Horn's
Ranked #80 of 1,935 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Description: We are a small neighborhood restaurant with 40 seats open for breakfast 7 days a week - and dinner thursday through sundays
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not terrible, but not good for New Orleans standards”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The prices are a bit high for what you receive. They are trying, so do not want to be overly negative. You already have so many other options that are priced a bit better in the neighborhood.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MarignyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    61
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Offensive menu items”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Not Cajun, but rather Cajun wannabe's. Go elsewhere for good Cajun food. Jewish Coon#ss is a very offensive name to use on a menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horn's on Dauphine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The new Horn's at the corner of Dauphine and Touro in the Marigny section of New Orleans is great. We had breakfast and lunch there during our recent stay over the Memorial Day weekend and both meals were outstanding. The menu and specials are quite varied and provide excellent value.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petehygiene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A must visit in the French Quarter!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Horn's is a new restaurant at 1940 Dauphine Street (near Frenchmen Street). Telephone number is 504-459-HORN (4676).

My group of 13 Canadians were on vacation and staying nearby for the week. We happened on Horn's on one of our last nights in New Orleans. We ate there on its second night of operation which can be risky - especially for a big group. All we could say was - "WOW". Great food! Nice people. Good price. Very nice place!

Aaron and Kure, our waiter and waitress looked after us well throughout the evening and were friendly and very attentive.

The food was excellent! We tried most of the appetizers (our choices were grilled artichoke, roasted eggplant and several of the salads - I highly recommend the Italian salad!). Lots of variety in the main dishes (we tried the Daube of Beef, BBQ shrimp, pork chop, stuffed peppers), and some of us had a bit of appetite left for the deserts (try the Chocolate Pot De Crème if you think you can eat the whole thing!).

Everything came in a timely manner, was very tasty, well priced, perfectly cooked and well presented. The wine list was ample and the wine choices we had complemented the food well. The cup of coffee I drank at the end of the meal was very good - something I found to be a hit and miss in New Orleans restaurants.

Their breakfast menu is extensive and is served mornings until 2:00 p.m. Some people in our party went back the next day for breakfast and enjoyed it as well.

Definitely worth trying and I would go back again without hesitation. If that is what you get on day two, I expect I will need a reservation or to line up the next time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horn's also viewed

 

Been to Horn's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing