We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT a resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plaza Suite Hotel Resort
Ranked #131 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We traded in our timeshare through RCI. We were greeted with a bill of $39 the "resort" charges RCI members. NEVER had an extra fee The pictures show a hot tub on a balcony. With our bathing suits on we asked about hot tub. The hot tub is only for people in that room. The bathroom is worn out. Missing lots grout in floor. No windows and employees park inside the building on first floor next to guest rooms! Great location and clean sheets.

Room Tip: Ask for one not on first floor next to parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mongomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is an old timeshare property that rents out unused suites as a hotel. Our 2 bedroom had a sleeping loft plus bath as the second bedroom reached by a narrow metal spiral stairs. The location is great with an easy walk to the French Quarter, casinos, and public transportation but it is tired and worn out and needs major rennovations. The kitchen was from the 1970's with minimal kitchen tools and the bathroom tile floors were seriously cracked. The mattresses and pillows were old and need replacement. However, it was not the worst timeshare we have seen in New Orleans. It was slightly overpriced but they give a decent discount if you are a repeat customer.

Room Tip: Check on whether you get wireless internet in the room, it doesn't reach all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The pillows were beyond flat, the mattress was flat & hard, the lamp in our room was broken the entire bulb portion was hanging at an angel. There were minimal dishes, which I found out several days later was because they were all in the dishwasher. The housekeeping staff didn't leave any toilet paper & I had to go to the front desk to get it. The ice machine on the 2nd floor went out 3 days into our 7 day visit. The hot tub was not functional. On a positive note, the front desk staff were awesome, Kindle, Renee and especially Barbara, very friendly, informative and professional. An upgrade to the pillows & mattresses would be a big plus also housekeeping staff need to be trained to pay attention to details.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Lyssa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

It was a good sized unit. Accommodations were comfortable. The room had no alarm clocks or windows. We never knew what time it was. The elevator was broken half the trip. Our door lock would not work right and we had to get front desk to open most of the time. The hot tub was not working and looked like its been down for a while. We stayed here through my parents RCI membership and at a discount $140 a night, I thought a little pricey. We would consider staying here again if the property makes a "few" repairs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anthony_J_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This was our second trip to New Orleans and we loved the location of this place compared to where we stayed the last time! Like a lot of others we were very hesitant after reading so many negative reviews on here but we loved it. It is in an old converted fire house from the 1800's so yes it is old but so is most of New Orleans and that is what makes it charming :) If you want a brand new hotel with a restaurant, bar, gym, pool, etc. then no this is not the place for you--however if you want a place that is close to everything, clean, has room service that comes in and makes your beds, cleans your bathroom and gives you fresh towels every day, runs the sweeper and takes out your garbage then this is the place for you! The people who worked the desk (Kendall and Barbara) were friendly as could be, answered all of our questions, called a taxi for us when we left for the airport and even let us keep our luggage at the hotel for a few hours because our plane wasn't leaving until 5:00. We stayed on the third floor in Room 309 which had two bedrooms, two full bathrooms, 3 TV's and a nice kitchen with stove, microwave, dishwasher and a small fridge. That would be the only negative thing in the whole unit...the fridge was very small. We fixed breakfast every morning and ate out for lunch and dinner. There are several little markets close by where you could buy groceries and restaurants were everywhere!!! The couch also made into a bed but I think 6 people in the unit would be a little tight but it was very comfortable for the 4 of us. We can't wait to go back again and stay in a one bedroom unit for just the 2 of us.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the third floor as they have windows looking out into the courtyard area in the mid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tigercar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Reading the previous reviews I was dubious. In all fine is the word to use for this place. It isn't outstanding and the room with no natural light has it draw backs but the location is great, it is clean and fine for two people in the one bedroom. Just know expect nothing more than ok from the experience

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kelmart09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I went with trepidation after reading some reviews on Trip Advisor however I had a pleasant experience. You use this facility if you need a safe, convenient place to sleep. There is no pool, no gym, no restaurant, no room service. The facility was spacious with a living room, full kitchen, bedroom and bath. Access to New Orleans was easy whether you walked or wanted to use public transportation. We were one block from Harrahs Casino and the facility backs onto the Fulton St. pedestrian mall. Restaurants were convenient as were all the other tourist attractions. Being in the warehouse district it was much quieter than if you were in the Quarter.

Room Tip: There is no natural light in this building so it is alot like an inner cabin on a cruise ship.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wayne561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#56 of 166 in New Orleans
2,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Cambria Hotel & Suites New Orleans Downtown Warehouse District
Cambria Hotel & Suites New Orlea...
#103 of 166 in New Orleans
27 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#32 of 166 in New Orleans
1,045 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Suite Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Suite Hotel Resort

Address: 620 S Peters St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1631
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: £94 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Suite Hotel Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Plaza Suite Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel New Orleans
Plaza Suite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing