We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COMFORT IN THE QUARTER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
Ranked #66 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I am looking forward to spending another glorious week in New Orleans and will stay, once again, at the trendy, friendly, convenient and comfortable "Pension". Just steps away from Canal, on one side, and the Quarter on the other...it is in the perfect spot. The rooms are tastefully and whimsically decorated but not so "artsy" that they're not comfortable. The staff has New Orleans charm and grace and it is a great place to come "home" to after a day of sazeracs and jazz. Highly recommended for those who do not want the same old hotel fare...this place makes you feel good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Hello Rick V,

Thank you for sharing your experience and recommending Club La Pension. We are thrilled that you had a glorious week with us. We appreciate your compliments regarding the staff and accommodations as our goal is to share happiness and provide outstanding experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

Just spent a week here. Great location on 100 block of Decatur. Super friendly staff and bb king playing all week in the lobby. I liked that. Bathroom was a little small. If i were you i would wait to,go until the construction behind the building is done. They started work much too early every morning. Plus alarm went off middle of the night and all had to evacuate. Tuned out to be false alarm but we exited into,this very usage construction site from the emergency stairs. Not good.

No bar or restaurant. They make the bed just once middle of week. A little stingy on the soap and other toiletries. We exchanged as part of time share ownership. Over all a very pleasant stay though.

Room Tip: Get a room on a floor with a balcony. Wait until construction behind the hotel is completed. They st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rp18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Hello rp18,

Thank you for staying with us at Club La Pension. We are happy you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the location. Your compliments regarding the staff are greatly appreciated as we aim to share happiness with all of our guests. We regret if any of the construction noise caused any inconvenience. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The hotel is lovely from the lobby to the rooms to the rooftop. Our room was not as outlandishly decorated as some of the pictures we say, but it was very pretty.

We stayed in Room 303, which is actually a two-bedroom suite, and were originally told that the room had a balcony; however, it did not. Rooms on either side and below us did, but not so ours. There was, however, plenty of room for our party of four with two bedrooms and a sleeper sofa in the sitting area. One bedroom had a king-sized bed and the other, a queen. The bathroom is large, and the shower is spacious; however, I did have a few issues with it. For one, there is no bar or handle of any kind in the shower itself, which makes it seem somewhat dangerous, no bench or ledge either. In addition, there is no towel rack near the shower, so you either have to place your towel on the closed toilet, the floor, or over the shower door itself.

Also, the hotel is several blocks (about 8 or so) from Jackson Square--quite a distance for sixty-something-year-old guests, especially when it's 100 degrees outside. It didn't bother our daughter and grandson, but they're in better shape. If you don't mind walking a lot to get to the heart of the French Quarter, then go for it.

Also, be aware that there is no housekeeping other than to replenish towels and toilet tissue, and sometimes you have to ask for those.

All in all, a good experience but not a great one. Next time, I'll probably pay a bit more and stay somewhere more centrally located in the Quarter.

No fitness center or pool, by the way. You can pay $10 per person per day to access a nearby fitness center.

Also, I checked "average" on cleanliness because although everything looked great when we arrived, when we moved the cushions under the coffee table to sit on them, there were popcorn crumbs and dust all under the coffee table.

Room Tip: Choose Room 303 for lots of room but no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynda442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Hello Lynda442,

Thank you for staying with us at Club La Pension and sharing your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and found the property lovely. We are glad the suite met your party's needs. We regret to learn of any cleanliness issue you experienced as we aim to provide outstanding accommodations and share happiness with all of our guests. We welcome you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you would like to share any additional details. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We just spent a week there. It was our first trip to New Orleans. The hotel is in the perfect location, close to everything a visitor would want to do/see and away from any sketchy areas. The staff was great. I am so glad we stayed here. We spent several evenings on one of the two rooftop patios. If you travel by car the fee $35.00 per day is expensive but average for the city. The car will be stored in a secured/ covered lot which is nice. One tip, walk or take the streetcar (day) or cab (night), driving is tough there with the one way streets, traffic, streetcars, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BamBamfromFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Hello Todd B,

Thank you for staying with us at Club La Pension on your first visit to New Orleans and sharing your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the location to be perfect. Your kind words about our staff are appreciated. We hope you will visit us again when returning to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We have stayed at Club La Pension 5-6 times but this was our first time since it was remodeled. The remodeling is quite lovely. We had a Studio this time on the 4th floor. It was a loft type, not much privacy for two couples. We did not have a table. We are timeshare owners so we were disappointed without a stove or table. We would definitely stay again. LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!

Room Tip: Location is worth any other problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countylinecreations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Hello countylinecreations,

Thank you for returning to Club La Pension and sharing your comments on your recent stay. We are happy you found the renovations lovely. We are sorry to hear of any disappointment with your accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is a delightful small boutique-style hotel located ion the French Quarter of New Orleans on Decatur Street, within walking distance to Bourbon Street. There is an Information Center virtually next door where you can book tours, & the tour coaches pickup is on the corner of the street. There is a restaurant on the corner, & many other restaurants & clubs in easy walking distance. We chose this hotel as a timeshare exchange through RCI, and were very pleased with the décor & ambiance, as well as the helpful staff. There are 2 outdoor rooftop balconies where you can sit in the evening. The room was small, but had a partial kitchen where we could make breakfast & coffee.
Loved the quirky, French-style décor!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VandR430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Hello VandR430,

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay at Bluegreen Club La Pension. We are happy that you were pleased with the location, décor and found the staff helpful. If you return to New Orleans, we hope you will come stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Arrived to find our room not suitable for 4 adults, we were given a 1 bedroom with hide-a-bed. We were expecting a suite that would provide us more privacy but this was a studio. The front desk was very accommodating and worked hard to find us a suitable room which they did. It was slightly smaller but was wonderful. If you have the Decatur side of the hotel expect noise especially on the weekend, it calmed down during the week. I was pleasantly surprised to have maid service and fresh towels. Wonderful coffee available every morning in the lobby if you choose not to make it yourself. The tour operation just outside the entrance is good, but make sure you get a receipt as you pay the balance when reaching your tour. The rates they give you are often discounted and the receipt is required.

The location is wonderful, right on Decatur. We were close to everything we wanted to do and seemed to be a gathering place for our other family members in other hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Collette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
La Galerie Hotel
La Galerie Hotel
#119 of 166 in New Orleans
403 reviews
Central Business District
Loft 523 New Orleans
Loft 523 New Orleans
#123 of 166 in New Orleans
266 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel de L'Eau Vive
Hotel de L'Eau Vive
#131 of 166 in New Orleans
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Maison de Ville
Hotel Maison de Ville
#110 of 166 in New Orleans
139 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#54 of 166 in New Orleans
1,624 reviews
French Quarter
Cornstalk Hotel
Cornstalk Hotel
#37 of 166 in New Orleans
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection

Address: 115 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2313 (Formerly Club La Pension)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £125 - £476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club La Pension Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing