We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
Ranked #64 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

The room was great, had a great view! The staff was excellent and very helpful. We had a great stay with plans to be back soon! Location was perfect, we were within walking distance of almost everything!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Hello ScottR1,

Thank you staying with us at Club La Pension and sharing your experience. We are happy you had a great stay and enjoyed the room and view. We greatly appreciate your compliments regarding the staff as we aim to share happiness with all of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    92
    25
    5
    9
See reviews for
74
118
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

From the moment my husband and I stepped into the lobby we were very happy.
The decor was pretty and fun (inspired us daily to explore the beautiful city), the entire staff warm and helpful (special thanks to Chanel & the very nice security guard!), the entire place was clean and neat. The room was more spacious then we expected and the location was close to the city attractions without being directly in the middle (great nights of sleep when needed). We can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BrianaA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hello BrianaA3,

We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Club La Pension. Our goal is to share happiness with all of our guests, and we are glad we accomplished that right from the moment you stepped into the lobby. We greatly appreciate the compliments regarding the accommodations, decor, and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osseo, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Pension. Great location. Trolleys close by and take a trip down the Mississippi on the Natchez.Dinner is available but we just had snacks as I didn't want to miss the view.A/C in dinning area and drinks.

Room Tip: Was in room 207 on the second floor over looking Decatur street. Had a balcony as we are smokers.Clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PDeborah59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hello PDeborah59,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Club La Pension. We are delighted you enjoyed the great location and enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to welcome you back and share happiness on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I am looking forward to spending another glorious week in New Orleans and will stay, once again, at the trendy, friendly, convenient and comfortable "Pension". Just steps away from Canal, on one side, and the Quarter on the other...it is in the perfect spot. The rooms are tastefully and whimsically decorated but not so "artsy" that they're not comfortable. The staff has New Orleans charm and grace and it is a great place to come "home" to after a day of sazeracs and jazz. Highly recommended for those who do not want the same old hotel fare...this place makes you feel good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hello Rick V,

Thank you for sharing your experience and recommending Club La Pension. We are thrilled that you had a glorious week with us. We appreciate your compliments regarding the staff and accommodations as our goal is to share happiness and provide outstanding experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Just spent a week here. Great location on 100 block of Decatur. Super friendly staff and bb king playing all week in the lobby. I liked that. Bathroom was a little small. If i were you i would wait to,go until the construction behind the building is done. They started work much too early every morning. Plus alarm went off middle of the night and all had to evacuate. Tuned out to be false alarm but we exited into,this very usage construction site from the emergency stairs. Not good.

No bar or restaurant. They make the bed just once middle of week. A little stingy on the soap and other toiletries. We exchanged as part of time share ownership. Over all a very pleasant stay though.

Room Tip: Get a room on a floor with a balcony. Wait until construction behind the hotel is completed. They st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rp18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hello rp18,

Thank you for staying with us at Club La Pension. We are happy you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the location. Your compliments regarding the staff are greatly appreciated as we aim to share happiness with all of our guests. We regret if any of the construction noise caused any inconvenience. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

The hotel is lovely from the lobby to the rooms to the rooftop. Our room was not as outlandishly decorated as some of the pictures we say, but it was very pretty.

We stayed in Room 303, which is actually a two-bedroom suite, and were originally told that the room had a balcony; however, it did not. Rooms on either side and below us did, but not so ours. There was, however, plenty of room for our party of four with two bedrooms and a sleeper sofa in the sitting area. One bedroom had a king-sized bed and the other, a queen. The bathroom is large, and the shower is spacious; however, I did have a few issues with it. For one, there is no bar or handle of any kind in the shower itself, which makes it seem somewhat dangerous, no bench or ledge either. In addition, there is no towel rack near the shower, so you either have to place your towel on the closed toilet, the floor, or over the shower door itself.

Also, the hotel is several blocks (about 8 or so) from Jackson Square--quite a distance for sixty-something-year-old guests, especially when it's 100 degrees outside. It didn't bother our daughter and grandson, but they're in better shape. If you don't mind walking a lot to get to the heart of the French Quarter, then go for it.

Also, be aware that there is no housekeeping other than to replenish towels and toilet tissue, and sometimes you have to ask for those.

All in all, a good experience but not a great one. Next time, I'll probably pay a bit more and stay somewhere more centrally located in the Quarter.

No fitness center or pool, by the way. You can pay $10 per person per day to access a nearby fitness center.

Also, I checked "average" on cleanliness because although everything looked great when we arrived, when we moved the cushions under the coffee table to sit on them, there were popcorn crumbs and dust all under the coffee table.

Room Tip: Choose Room 303 for lots of room but no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynda442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hello Lynda442,

Thank you for staying with us at Club La Pension and sharing your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and found the property lovely. We are glad the suite met your party's needs. We regret to learn of any cleanliness issue you experienced as we aim to provide outstanding accommodations and share happiness with all of our guests. We welcome you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you would like to share any additional details. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We just spent a week there. It was our first trip to New Orleans. The hotel is in the perfect location, close to everything a visitor would want to do/see and away from any sketchy areas. The staff was great. I am so glad we stayed here. We spent several evenings on one of the two rooftop patios. If you travel by car the fee $35.00 per day is expensive but average for the city. The car will be stored in a secured/ covered lot which is nice. One tip, walk or take the streetcar (day) or cab (night), driving is tough there with the one way streets, traffic, streetcars, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BamBamfromFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Hello Todd B,

Thank you for staying with us at Club La Pension on your first visit to New Orleans and sharing your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the location to be perfect. Your kind words about our staff are appreciated. We hope you will visit us again when returning to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,242 reviews
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#48 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#57 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection

Property: Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
Address: 115 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2313 (Formerly Club La Pension)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club La Pension Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing