We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and plenty of space for a week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
Ranked #63 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
202 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great location and plenty of space for a week”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

This time share hotel on Decatur is just off Canal a few blocks from Bourbon Street in one direction and Harrah's and the upscale mall and movies in the other. The staff is outstanding (Will, Charmaine, Bobby and all the people including the great maintenance man whose names I have unfortunately forgotten). It is clean, spacious, and newly and nicely decorated. Terrific new bathrooms and, at least in our unit, a quiet bedroom. My only thought was that a table and chairs would have been nice -- some units appeared to have them but we did not. Also, although the bedroom was quiet, in the living room you could hear everything said in the hall and a good deal of noise from other rooms. Also, instructions for the microwave would have helped. Guest laundry was a plus. Note: When they say partial kitchen they mean microwave and refrigerator, plates, silverware, nice glassware including stemmed wine glasses and a coffee pot and toaster but nothing to heat anything larger in and no cooktop. A week stay with our timeshare got us one full change of towels. Still, it would be hard to beat and we hope to go back again next Christmas.

Room Tip: Ask about a table and chairs and street noise -- some people complained about that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinnyandbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hello vinnyandbabs,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Club La Pension. We are pleased you enjoyed the great location and spacious accommodations. Thank you for your compliments regarding the staff as our goal is to share happiness with all of our guests and provide outstanding service. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    95
    25
    5
    9
See reviews for
76
119
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We spent Thanksgiving week at the Resort. I cannot say how happy we were with everything. The staff was extremely nice and polite. You are two blocks from the French Quarter... One block off of Canal St. Everything is within 10 - 15 minute walking distance. The room was very spacious, well decorated. We had an overly spacious balcony overlooking Decatur St., coffee every morning was just perfect. The kitchen had a fridge, convection/microwave oven and coffee maker. The bathroom was great, large and a huge shower. I honest cannot say how perfect this place is!!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank hcarlock66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hello hcarlock66,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Club La Pension. We are thrilled that everything about your stay was perfect. We are delighted we were able to share happiness with you. Thank you for the compliments regarding the staff and accommodations. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Excellent location - right at the edge of the French Quarter, but outside of the craziness of Bourbon Street. Staff was friendly and helpful. Unit was small, but adequate. Atmosphere both in the unit and the public places was great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamag55461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hello mamag55461,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Club La Pension. We are delighted that you enjoyed the location and the atmosphere at the resort. Thank you for your compliments regarding the staff as we aim to share happiness with all of our guests. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

The hotel is very pretty and ideally situated, but in an extremely loud environment. Ok for 2-3 days, but not more. I was there for a week, but the internet never worked in my room, the beds were never ever made, no fresh towels although I asked twice, no coffee refilled in the rooms, the staff were absolutely careless and rude, and on top of it, I was charged one extra night and had to fight for it being taken off the bill - yet they charged it to my credit card! I have not yet had my money back and am still arguing with them. Cannot recommend the place at all!

Room Tip: Top floor room (406) does not have WIFI!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ulla k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hello ulla k,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Club La Pension. We regret to learn your experience at our resort was not a positive one. It is our commitment to provide outstanding accommodations and service to all of our guests. We invite you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com to discuss further. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
565 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Perfect location near everything in the French Quarter. The lobby is beautiful. The staff very friendly and helpful. The room was so beautiful and comfortable. The balcony was very large with wonderful views and comfortable furniture.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Stelly3665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hello Stelly3665,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Club La Pension. We are thrilled you found the location perfect. We appreciate your comments regarding the staff and room as it is our commitment to share happiness with all of our guests and provide outstanding accommodations. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

My partner and I stayed here in January 2013, it was a week before the Super Bowl and Mardi Gras started so the city was a little quieter. The service was lovely, although it took a while to check in, the ladies were entertaining, accomadating and really gave us a good New Orleans welcome. They always had great recommendations for lunch and dinner. The rooms were very spacious and the bed were very comfortable. Our friend came and stayed and she slept on the fold out sofa and by all reports it was comfortable as well. The location was great, we were told to stay away from Bourban street as the night life can get very loud, we were able to walk everywhere and the noise did not afect us at all at night. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hello Kristen H,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Club La Pension. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the location great and the accommodations spacious. We appreciate your compliments regarding the staff as we aim to share happiness with all of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laughlin, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

I stay at other Blue Green Resorts that have all been just awesome, but would NEVER stay here again!! There is no insulation in the walls or windows and we have been up all night for two nights now! Had I been able to cancel my reservation. After the first night ... I WOULD HAVE!! Doors slamming, people fighting, the trash is picked up in an alley outside of our bedroom window at 4:30 am every day! A grease trap vacuum truck is going off since 5:00 am for the last hour, all the cabs line up in the alley and honk, yell and scream at each other..... And the view of an alley!! This crap has to go!! Plus, I had to pay $35.00 per night to park. The parking is valet off site so whatever you do don't forget anything in your car!! Also, it takes quite awhile to get your car if they're busy!! This Blue Green is nothing compared to the others and with all the noise I would NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!!!! Very disappointed!!!!!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hello Kim S,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Club La Pension. Our goal is to share happiness with all of owners and guests. We regret to learn of your disappointment in your stay. We kindly ask that you contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you wish to provide additional details or to discuss further. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
La Galerie Hotel
La Galerie Hotel
#114 of 161 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#70 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,301 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#50 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection

Property: Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
Address: 115 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2313 (Formerly Club La Pension)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club La Pension Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing