We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, perfect location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
Ranked #68 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The location of this resort couldn't be better. Right on Decatur in the French Quarter, it's within walking distance of just about everything in the Quarter.

My family and I stayed in 2 1br condos. We did not get the dreaded rooms with the windows down on the floor, but also didn't have any balconies. The units were small, but adequate, with a small kitchenette. The fridge is very small, but the microwave was one of the full-service units that double as an oven.

The one bed was a double bed, not even a queen, so it was small for 2 people that aren't madly in love, lol. Since I was bunked with my sister, she chose to use the sofa bed, which she said was adequate.

The furnishings and art were funky and fun, with upside down chairs on the ceiling and shabby chic picture frames.

There were 2 very nice patio areas, one on the 4th floor and another on the 6th. The 4th floor location had bbq grills for use. The views from both patios were were nice and there were padded chairs and umbrella tables at both, as well as a huge chess game on the floor of the 6th floor patio.

The staff was excellent, for the most part, and the doormen were friendly and always offering to lend a hand.

The only thing that would have made this place better was a pool. NOLA is HOT and a refreshing dip at the end of the day would have made this place perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank udogsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Hello udogsgal,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Club La Pension. We are pleased you enjoyed the great location and unique accommodations. Our goal is to share happiness with all of our guests and provide outstanding service. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at this location and were extremely impressed with the renovation. This hotel doesn't have the ambience of the inner French Quarter hotels but is very nice with a small kitchenette. The room was well appointed and very clean. There is still much noise coming from the hallway thru the door because of the gap at the bottom and the hardwood floors but this is to be expected in New Orleans. The bed was very comfortable although small. We will return.

Room Tip: There are several rooftop courtyards and rooms that you enter into from them. If there are people u...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wadeaminut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Hello wadeaminut,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Club La Pension. We are delighted you had a very nice stay and were impressed with the renovations. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We were SO looking forward to a long weekend in NOLA and our stay at La Pension. Most unfortunately, our son got the flu the night before we were to leave. I had booked the nonrefundable room (lesson learned) through Choice Hotels. Their customer service reps worked with the Management at La Pension and the hotel REFUNDED our fee in full. As a mom of 2 year old twins, it was such a relief to know that we would get our money back so that we could rebook our much need mini-vacation! I look forward to my stay at the La Pension in the near future! Thank you for going above and beyond!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank HBTizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Hello HBTizzle,

Thank you for sharing your customer service experience. We do hope that your son has since recovered and look forward to welcoming you when you rebook your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Huge room, central to everything. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. They even let us keep out bags and vehicle for a few hours after checkout, so we could sightsee more. Thanks for a great experience!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank ATLien62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Hello ATLien62,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Club La Pension. We are thrilled you had a great experience and enjoyed the location. We appreciate your compliments regarding the staff as our goal is to share happiness with all of our guests. We do hope to welcome you back on your next visit to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed in a 2-bedroom unit with a Living Room/Kitchen space, 1 full bathroom (shower only) and one toilet/sink only bathroom. Nicely decorated in New Orleans style, clean, well maintained and comfortable beds. Service was superb. The cooking facilities were limited to a mini-refrigerator, toaster, coffee maker and convection/microwave oven. So, no stove was available. The closest grocery store is located about 7 blocks away which was approximately a 15 minute walk. There was the "Everything Store" just across Canal Street that had limited groceries. The location is on Decatur, just steps away from Canal and the Canal Street Car line. Bourbon St is an easy walk, as is Jefferson Square and Café Du Monde. The House of Blues is a one short block walk. Our bedrooms were located facing Decatur Street and were subject to honking horns and street noises from time to time. In summary, the location made it easy to move around the city via street cars or walk through the French Quarter. We would recommend this property and we plan to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CA_Travel_Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Hello CA_Travel_Two,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Club La Pension. We are happy you found the location of the resort convenient and the unit clean and comfortable. We appreciate your comment regarding the service you received. Thank you for the recommendation, and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This time share hotel on Decatur is just off Canal a few blocks from Bourbon Street in one direction and Harrah's and the upscale mall and movies in the other. The staff is outstanding (Will, Charmaine, Bobby and all the people including the great maintenance man whose names I have unfortunately forgotten). It is clean, spacious, and newly and nicely decorated. Terrific new bathrooms and, at least in our unit, a quiet bedroom. My only thought was that a table and chairs would have been nice -- some units appeared to have them but we did not. Also, although the bedroom was quiet, in the living room you could hear everything said in the hall and a good deal of noise from other rooms. Also, instructions for the microwave would have helped. Guest laundry was a plus. Note: When they say partial kitchen they mean microwave and refrigerator, plates, silverware, nice glassware including stemmed wine glasses and a coffee pot and toaster but nothing to heat anything larger in and no cooktop. A week stay with our timeshare got us one full change of towels. Still, it would be hard to beat and we hope to go back again next Christmas.

Room Tip: Ask about a table and chairs and street noise -- some people complained about that.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vinnyandbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Hello vinnyandbabs,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Club La Pension. We are pleased you enjoyed the great location and spacious accommodations. Thank you for your compliments regarding the staff as our goal is to share happiness with all of our guests and provide outstanding service. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We spent Thanksgiving week at the Resort. I cannot say how happy we were with everything. The staff was extremely nice and polite. You are two blocks from the French Quarter... One block off of Canal St. Everything is within 10 - 15 minute walking distance. The room was very spacious, well decorated. We had an overly spacious balcony overlooking Decatur St., coffee every morning was just perfect. The kitchen had a fridge, convection/microwave oven and coffee maker. The bathroom was great, large and a huge shower. I honest cannot say how perfect this place is!!!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
6  Thank hcarlock66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Hello hcarlock66,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Club La Pension. We are thrilled that everything about your stay was perfect. We are delighted we were able to share happiness with you. Thank you for the compliments regarding the staff and accommodations. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
La Galerie Hotel
La Galerie Hotel
#113 of 166 in New Orleans
328 reviews
Central Business District
Quarter House Resort
Quarter House Resort
#14 of 166 in New Orleans
714 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
#61 of 166 in New Orleans
1,005 reviews
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 166 in New Orleans
3,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection

Address: 115 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2313 (Formerly Club La Pension)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £114 - £562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club La Pension Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing