We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent City Tour and Katrina Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Post-Katrina City Tour

Post-Katrina City Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
US$109.99*
and up
Small-Group Bayou Airboat Ride with Transport from New Orleans
Ranked #115 of 213 Tours in New Orleans
Attraction details
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent City Tour and Katrina Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Our bus driver/tour guide knew so much about New Orleans. You could tell how much he loved New Orleans. It wasn't just a job for him. The 3 hour trip turned into 3 1/2 hours and was excellent from start to finish. We also took the Swamp Tour (not airboat) by the same company. Our guide was amazing. My daughter was afraid to hold the baby alligator, but he was kind and patient with her. She ended up petting it. I was so impressed with this company. We are talking about going again with my nephews when they get older. We will definitely take the tours again.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank pstoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very Informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

There is so much more to New Orleans that we didn't know. This was a great tour that showed us all of the city including the lower ninth ward that was so devastated by Hurrican Katrina. A must see.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mrschris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Orleans City and Post-Katrina Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We did a 3 1/2 hr tour in a very comfortable 12 pax van. The tour leader, Ellen Pompeo, was incredibly knowledgeable and accommodating. We started in the French Quarter and went through the Treme, Esplanade, 7th Ward, 9th Ward, saw the rebuild efforts, saw the levee repairs and learned what really happened after Katrina. Learned about the people of the 9th Ward and how they're (some of them) are returning. We went through City Park, to one of the cemetaries, the lakefront, Lakeview and the 17th Street Canal levee breech, then through the Garden District, Warehouse District, Business District., and back to the French Quarter. It was well worth the time and money and all of us thoroughly enjoyed it. This tour was the highlight of our trip. If you go to New Orleans, don't miss this tour and ask for Ellen Pompeo to be your guide. She was great. A native New Orleanian, she knew everything.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, MI
Level Contributor
187 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Our tour guide Devon was very friendly & knowledgeable. He accommodated every person's needs on our trip. Great information & a must do for an overview of the entire city.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Teachall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

The bus tour of post Katrina and the city tour is quite interesting. Not only do you get to see how devastating the hurricane was, but also how much has been rebuilt in 6 years. Plus, you get to see Brad Pitt's green homes project! This tour takes you through the infamous city park as well through many different neighborhoods! Worth the time and money!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank dpjp88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Post-Katrina City Tour also viewed

 

Been to Post-Katrina City Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing