We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Ranked #115 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The staff were great... very friendly and accomodating. And, the hotel is very quaint and attractive. Our room was facing the street and had a great front porch, but the room itself was disappointing. The bed was extremely uncomfortable with a cheap mattress and cheap linens. The extra blanket provided was dirty. There was no bathtub in the room, only a standing shower that almost blew me down when I turned on the water. The water pressure was ridiculous! The floors were nice wood, but they were very dirty. And, the best advice I can give is to skip the breakfast. OMG, it was a joke. The best part of our stay at Prytania Oaks was the free parking.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JLala0226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
The mattress’s are Visco Elastic Foam , in layman’s terms, the same material that Temprapaedic matttress’s are made of. Hardly cheap, if you have priced these out lately. The ownership of the hotel is part of a local furniture retail family, and knows and understands quality furnishings.

The extra blanket in the armoire, may possibly have picked up a musty odor, but after being enclosed since winter, it is not out of the ordinary. But who uses extra blankets in the dog days heat of summer? We always take them out in late October to wash and re fresh for the upcoming winter. I have stayed in many fine hotels, 4 star and up, and the extra linens are not the same freshness nor quality of what is on the bed. If a guest is not happy with the extra linens, a phone call to the desk and a replacement would be brought over to them.

Our bed linens are the same quality as most 2 ½- 3 star hotels. They are a mid level thread count with some polyester for durability. Not like the all Cotton quality as your own personal home, nor the Ritz. Again,are our guest paying the same as the Ritz either.

Complaining about strong water pressure, now that is a first. NO COMMENT.

Hard wood floors are original and have been fully restored. They have markings of age, but with Red Heart Pine, you don’t fool with Mother Nature. It not dirt she was seeing, but the dark striations in the wood grains. However, under the bed, she found 2 dust bunnies. We apologized and had the housekeeping staff re sweep the room with her there.

Breakfast, it’s a basic expanded “ continental breakfast “, as advertised. We do not sugar coat or mis lead what it is. Breakfast pastries, coffee, juice, 2 different cereals, flavored grits and oatmeal that you self make with hot water.

I am glad that liked the free parking and the front porch. Saved them some money while giving them bench seating to relax and kick back, and enjoy their breakfast on right at their door.

Dori H Schulman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    97
    32
    8
    2
See reviews for
15
147
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We loved our room .. the shower was the best! Very clean and well located. You have to check this place out!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lu_and_deek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Went back home to New Orleans for my 50th birhtday and did not want to stay in a major hotel. As seen from my previous reviews, we like smal boutique hotels. Well we couldn't have chosen a better place. We loved it here. Only one block to the streetcar line and very convenient to all that NOLA has to offer. The rooms have been remodeled and are beautiful. High ceilings and wood floors. We felt like we were staying at a private home instead of a hotel. The staff were very friendly and Tricia was our lady for breakfast in the morning. She was a sweetheart. I have a sneaky suspition that this is a female owner and she knows exactly what she is doing!! Will definitely be staying here anytime we visit NOLA. Thanks so much for a wonderful 50th birthday!!

Room Tip: We had a room on the street with a balcony. If traffic noise bothers you, just ask for one of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arabella-HoustonTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I just stayed here for four nights with my daughter. Nice safe neighborhood, convenient to street car and walking distance to restaurants. The room was spotless, as were the grounds. We had a room on the second floor in the back and it was very quiet, which I appreciated. There were only a few minor things that could have been better. We checked in and were told where to park but weren't told how to get into the property or where our room was. It wasn't too hard to figure out but it would've been helpful to have been told. Several times there was no parking in either lot but on street parking was available for free. And the breakfast left a lot to be desired but as others have said, we're not there for the free continental breakfast. I would suggest adding yogurt and fruit. There was no place to sit in our room other than the bed or a desk chair. The addition of a comfy chair would be nice although I don't know if one would fit in the room. The price for this hotel was a steal, all things considered. Would go back in an instant.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sraeemery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The only downside to our stay at this beautiful hotel was that it was only for one night! We did not want to check out the next day to continue our travels around Louisiana :( The Prytania Oaks is a part of a group of hotels all within the same block. You check in at the Prytania Park office, where there is free parking and the office staff is extremely helpful. Christine was so kind as to give us a map with highlighted areas to go (and not go!). Our room was not ready as we arrived much earlier than check-in, but it was so easy to park our car, buy a $3 street car pass and explore Nola. The front desk called to notify us when our room was ready (which was earlier than the specified check-in time) but we were having too much fun in the quarter to return right back to the hotel!
We had 2 king rooms on the 2nd floor with balconies overlooking Prytania. The rooms were perfectly clean, with beautiful furnishings, and as my in-laws described- "the most comfortable beds!" The rooms also had extra perks such as mini-fridges, flat screen TV's and coffee pots. The breakfast is light, as many other reviewers have complained. But they make it perfectly clear that it is a "get you going" type of breakfast. That morning they offered pastries, cereals, milk, juice & coffee. Just enough to get you fueled for heading out & finding a delicious creole breakfast. Who comes to New Orleans to feast on a hotel's continental breakfast, anyway?
Our favorite part of this hotel was the fact that we enjoyed an exciting night out in the French Quarter & then had a quiet, beautiful, safe area to return to. We stayed on Bourbon St. until around midnight, and felt perfectly safe getting on the street car and returning back to the Prytania Oaks Hotel. For all the perks you get (including the FREE parking) we consider this the perfect place to stay while experiencing Nola.
We are officially in love with New Orleans & the Prytania Oaks Hotel. We will back...hopefully soon!

Room Tip: Rooms 260 & 261 share a balcony ... perfect for couples traveling together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cates622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southlake
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We only had two days and one night in New Orleans, so a great hotel was essential. Prytania Oaks was the perfect find. It is a beautiful home in the garden district converted into a hotel just one block off the St. Charles trolley line. The room was clean, non-smoking, and tastefully remodeled with granite counter tops and a flat screen TV. The king size bed was comfortable and the bench on the front porch made a great place to relax. It was an excellent value for the money and Bourbon street was an easy few minutes away. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank officecomputer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

The Prytania Oaks is one of three related properties within a block or so of each other. The Oaks, at least, is a converted historic home, and has the charm and elegance of a turn-of-the century mansion. Our room was in the front on the top floor, with a shared balcony. It was too hot to use it in June, but at another time of year, we could imagine sitting out there with our coffee in the morning and a stronger drink later. The entire building has been recently renovated, with modern fixtures in the large bathroom. Our room had a sink and counter outside of the bathroom, as well, which was very convenient in the mornings. Very comfortable bed; the usual coffee maker, iron and ironing board, and toiletries.
The hotel is on a quiet street, just one block from the St. Charles Street car, which had us to Canal street in a matter of minutes. The WWII museum is just a couple of stops away, and there are restaurants in the neighborhood that are much less expensive, quieter, and less crowded than those in the tourist areas.
Very pleasant, very accommodating staff, although they should have more than one person on the desk at the check-in time. We were given no instructions on how to get to our room -- we had to go around to the side of the building and through a door to an interior stairway -- primarily because the young woman at the desk was trying to check us in and handle the phones at the same time. The door to the stairs was marked with the room numbers, but we had to find it first!
The complimentary breakfast includes fresh waffles, instant hot cereal, yogurt, juice, coffee, fresh fruit, breads -- I don't know what other reviewers are complaining about.
The only negative was that the locks on the windows leading to the balcony were broken; one came right out of the frame! There was no way to the balcony except through the rooms that opened onto it, but I was still glad that I hadn't taken my laptop with me.
And when they say check-in is at 4:00, they mean it! We arrived about 2:00, were allowed to park the car in the lot, and told that the room would be ready in about 30 minutes. We walked up to the St. Charles Pub, had a drink, wandered around, returned at 3:30, to be told that the room would not be ready until 4:00. Why promise us 2:30, then? What really rankled was watching others arrive -- at least one without a reservation -- and check in while we waited. Apparently the Oaks is that last of the three properties to be cleaned. We'll know better next time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_QBatonRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, Manager at Prytania Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Wow, Thank you for your review. I appreciate all the comments, and will make sure the window locks are addressed immediately.

We do allow early check ins, and will always work hard to get you into a room when you arrive.
I am truly sorry your room was not ready "early", and not within the time you were advised of. GIving times is always a sore point with me, and one that my Front Desk staff has been warned not to do because of situations like this. Again, I apologize for your having to wait like that, but there are usually circumstances beyond our control that preclude our getting all rooms earlier than the stated check in time of 4pm., namely the "heat and humidity".

But for the record, The Oaks is not cleaned last, but in rotation as to when guests check out from that morning. Guests leave starting as early as 6 am until 11 am, with the few exceptions of late check out (which we do offer) to Noon at no charge. Housekeeping starts promptly at 9am, so not to disturb others that may be sleeping in a bit later.

We have had a very busy June, due to many conventions and tourist in town, which is a good thing. This happened to be the day that one convention ending, and another beginning, so it was a full day of room turn overs. With the extreme heat we have been experiencing, our housekeeping staff is moving a bit slower.

I will make sure my entire staff reads your review and uses this as a learning tool. I hope to see you back later in the year, latter part of October, and early November is a great month to enjoy the balcony and so are March and April.

Fondly,
Dori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#102 of 164 in New Orleans
795 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#99 of 164 in New Orleans
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Queen Anne Hotel
Queen Anne Hotel
#60 of 140 in New Orleans
88 reviews
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#26 of 140 in New Orleans
168 reviews
Garden District
Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prytania Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Oaks Hotel

Property: Prytania Oaks Hotel
Address: 1612 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Prytania Oaks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prytania Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing